Adelaide Cup

The Adelaide Cup runs over the two miles (3200m) on a Monday in mid-March attracting a host of top stayers each autumn.

2019 Adelaide Cup Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

The Group 2 Adelaide Cup is an open handicap race held at Adelaide’s Morphettville Racecourse in mid-March each year during the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

Raced over 3200m, the Adelaide Cup is the same distance as the prestigious Melbourne Cup held on the first Tuesday of November each spring at Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. Back in 1992 the great grey Subzero completed the rare Adelaide Cup – Melbourne Cup double.

Run on a Monday afternoon each year on the Labour Day public holiday in SA, the always popular staying event offers $400,000 in prize money and attracts a host of local stayers as well as a few interstate horses chasing the lucrative prize money in the classic.

The key lead-up into the Adelaide Cup field is Group 3 Lord Reims Stakes (2600m) held roughly two weeks prior at the same track. Melbourne raiders in the Adelaide Cup field may come off a Flemington run in the Listed Roy Higgins Quality (2600m) on Australian Guineas Day. The last Adelaide Cup winner to back-up out of the Roy Higgins was the Lindsay Park-trained mare Fanatic (2nd in 2018).

The 2019 Adelaide Cup runs on Monday March 11, 2019 .

Adelaide Cup 2019
Date: Monday March 11, 2019
Track: Morphettville Racecourse
Distance: 3,200m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $400,000

2019 Adelaide Cup Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

2019 Adelaide Cup Odds

The season’s latest Adelaide Cup 2019 odds and betting market links to will be available below leading up to the 3200m feature so stay tuned.

2019 Adelaide Cup Field

The Adelaide Cup field features an ever increasing quality of both local and visiting autumn stayers coming out of lead-up races including Flemington’s Roy Higgins Quality that produced the 2017 champ Annus Mirabilis (5th) and the 2018 winner Fanatic (2nd), Tasmania’s Launceston Cup (2400m) the month before and the Lord Reims Stakes that is the key local lead-up.

Joshua Bell [10:49 AM]

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 1160242116 BAROOD Sue Murphy Justin Huxtable (a3/57kg) 7 60kg 84
2 106x35718x MAGNUS KNIGHT Ryan Balfour William Pike 5 57.5kg 79
3 13x14150x DESPATCH Tony McEvoy Barend Vorster 10 57kg 78
4 1919552311 DOMINATION Grant Young Jason Holder 2 56kg 76
5 20x33419x5 FANCY RUMBLE Wayne Francis & Glen Kent Ms Kayla Crowther (a2/50kg) 9 55.5kg 79
6 824x2131x2 QUIDDICK David Tootell Jake Toeroek 4 54kg 72
7 26010×4116 TIARA STAR Will Clarken Jamie Kah 6 54kg 71
8 43x340x121 EVERYDAY LADY Will Clarken Michael Walker 3 54kg 70
9 x296x11238 MUSICAL QUERY Mark Minervini Raquel Clark (a0/53kg) 11 54kg 70
10 86880x795x SANDHILL FLASH Sam Turner Krystal Bishop 8 54kg 70
11 5603807234 DEL PIERO Jarrod McLean Dean Yendall 1 54kg 68


2019 Adelaide Cup Nominations

The Adelaide Cup nominations attract the best local staying talent from South Australian stables as well as a host of interstate gallopers chasing a two mile run.

Adelaide Cup History

Originally run in May, the Adelaide Cup was moved to March in 2005. The Morphettville Racecourse has been home to the Cup since 1876 and was previously held at the Old Course where it was first won by Falcon in 1864. Over the years the event has switched between being a two mile and one mile five furlong race, however in the years 1870-71 and 1886-88, the race was not held.

The Adelaide Cup is not used as a guide to the Melbourne Cup as the last Cup double winner was Subzero in 1992. In 2007 the event was downgraded from Group 1 status to Group 2, a decision made by the Australian Pattern Committee.

The Adelaide Cup has one triple winner which is Lord Reims which won the event three consecutive times from 1987-1989. The race’s double winners include Cowra in 1866-67, Eyeglass in 1911-12, Peerless Fox in 1950-51 and Our Pompeii in 1993-94.

Recent Adelaide Cup Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Adelaide Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Adelaide Cup
1st Fanatic 3 minutes 25.28 seconds
2nd Ormito
3rd Poppiholla
Adelaide Cup
1st Annus Mirabilis 3 minutes 24.25 seconds
2nd Double Bluff
3rd Master Of Arts
Adelaide Cup
1st Purple Smile 3 minutes 24.1 seconds
2nd Tunes
3rd Real Love
Adelaide Cup
1st Tanby 3 minutes 25.51 seconds
2nd Taiyoo
3rd Renew
Adelaide Cup
1st Outback Joe 3 minutes 22.09 seconds
2nd Black Tycoon
3rd Base
Adelaide Cup
1st Norsqui 3 minutes 24.4 seconds
2nd Waratone
3rd Dame Claire
Adelaide Cup
1st Rialya 3 minutes 23.3 seconds
2nd Drunken Sailor
3rd Norsqui
Adelaide Cup
1st Muir 3 minutes 23.4 seconds
2nd Saddler’s Story
3rd Macedonian
Adelaide Cup
1st Capecover 3 minutes 28.81 seconds
2nd Kerdem
3rd Itstheone
Adelaide Cup
1st Zavite 3 minutes 22.7 seconds
2nd Kerdem
3rd Banana Man
Adelaide Cup
1st Lacey Underall 3 minutes 22 seconds
2nd Cefalu
3rd Tails Of Triomphe
Adelaide Cup
1st Gallic 3 minutes 20.9 seconds
2nd Lacey Underall
3rd Exalted Time
Adelaide Cup
1st Exalted Time 3 minutes 25.1 seconds
2nd Tubular Bells
3rd Ista Kareem
Adelaide Cup
1st Demerger 3 minutes 21.9 seconds
2nd Envoy
3rd Intriguing
Adelaide Cup
1st Pantani 3 minutes 27.5 seconds
2nd Danestorm
3rd Bel Air
Adelaide Cup
1st Pillage N Plunder 3 minutes 28.4 seconds
2nd Nautilism
3rd Odysseus
Adelaide Cup
1st The A Train 3 minutes 29.7 seconds
2nd Homewrecker
3rd Silver Baron
Adelaide Cup
1st Apache King 3 minutes 29.7 seconds
2nd Native Jazz
3rd Bel Air
Adelaide Cup
1st Bohemiath 3 minutes 24.6 seconds
2nd Karasi
3rd Oxford Dollar

Spring Racing

Mystic Journey listed among 20...

Enticing Star Scores Waller Sl...

Enticing Star Scores Waller Slot in 2019 The Everest Field

Ace Kiwi expat Chris Waller has announced Enticing Star will fill his slot in...

Three Race Lead-Up to 2019 The...

Three Race Lead-Up to 2019 The Everest for Sunlight

Tony McEvoy’s star filly Sunlight is likely to contest the $14 million The...

Alizee Possible Godolphin The ...

Alizee Possible Godolphin The Everest 2019 Runner

Godolphin trainer James Cummings has indicated the flying Alizee was right in...

2019 Melbourne Cup Bid on for ...

2019 Melbourne Cup Bid on for Torcedor

German horseman Andreas Wohler could get a chance at another success in the...

Horse Racing Today

Mystic Journey listed among 20...

Byrne Chases Fourth Queensland...

Byrne Chases Fourth Queensland Cup Win in 2019

Veteran hoop Jim Byrne will chase a fourth Queensland Cup success on Saturday...

2019 Queensland Cup Day: Race ...

2019 Queensland Cup Day: Race Scratchings & Track Report

Eagle Farm Racecourse is host to a bumper meeting today for Queensland Cup Day...

Fabulanski To Follow Father’s ...

Fabulanski To Follow Father’s Footprints to 2019 Victoria Derby

Well-bred Polanski colt Fabulanski scored a big upset in the Taj Rossi Series...

Rule The World Thinkin’ VRC De...

Rule The World Thinkin’ VRC Derby 2019

Jockey Tim Clark believes impressive youngster Rule The World could develop...

Race Results

Fabulanski To Follow Father’s Footprints to 2019 Victoria Derby

Caloundra Cup 2019 Results: Igraine Thrives in the Wet

2019 Sunshine Coast Guineas Results: Baccarat Baby The Next Winx?

2019 Tattersall’s Tiara Results: Invincibella Wins for Waller / Collett

Tattersall’s Cup Winner Vow And Declare Targets Melbourne Cup 2019

Race Previews

Mystic Journey listed among 2019 Bletchingly Stakes Nominations

Byrne Chases Fourth Queensland Cup Win in 2019

Enticing Star Scores Waller Slot in 2019 The Everest Field

2019 Tattersall’s Mile Field & Odds: Silvera Favourite

2019 Queensland Cup Field: Yogi Carries 60kg Topweight

Fields & Form

2019 Queensland Cup Day: Race Scratchings & Track Report

2019 Tattersall’s Mile Field & Odds: Silvera Favourite

2019 Queensland Cup Field: Yogi Carries 60kg Topweight

2019 Sir John Monash Stakes Field & Betting Update

Igraine Tops Tight Grafton Cup 2019 Betting Market