Golden Slipper Stakes

The Golden Slipper is the richest race for 2-year-old horses in the World. The 2017 Golden Slipper will be run on March 17th, 2017 at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Golden Slipper Stakes News

Flying Artie on top of 2016 Blue Sapphire Stakes field

Flying Artie on top of 2016 Blue Sapphire Stakes field

Golden Slipper placegetter Flying Artie is on top of the thirteen horse field for the Group 3 $350,000 Catanach’s Jewellers Blue Sapphire Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield on Wednesday.

Flying Artie, above, heads up the field for the Blue Sapphire Stakes at Caulfield. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Mick Price trained Flying Artie has drawn barrier four with Damien Oliver...

The 2017 Golden Slipper Stakes is one of the premier races of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and is also the richest two year old race in the world. Raced in early April at Rosehill Gardens, the 1200m sprint event is worth a whopping $3.5 million in prize money.

The ideal lead-up races for the Golden Slipper are the Reisling Slipper Trial and the Magic Night Stakes for fillies, while Colts and geldings usually compete in the Todman Slipper Trial and the Pago Pago Stakes leading up to the Group 1 event.

The 2017 Golden Slipper will be run on Saturday 17th of March, 2017.

Golden Slipper
Date: 17th of March, 2017
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 2YO Open Set Weight C&G 56.5kg F 54.5kg
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $3,500,000

2016 Golden Slipper Results

  • 1st: Capitalist
  • 2nd: Yankee Rose
  • 3rd: Flying Artie

For full Golden Slipper results and placings see Golden Slipper Results.

2017 Golden Slipper Field

As soon as it is available, the 2017 Golden Slipper field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 111 EXTREME CHOICE Mick Price Craig Newitt 7 56.5kg
2 2×12 FLYING ARTIE Mick Price Damien Oliver 5 56.5kg
3 221 DEFCON Peter & Paul Snowden Brett Prebble 14 56.5kg
4 11 KISS AND MAKE UP Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 9 56.5kg
5 1×1 ASTERN John O’Shea James McDonald 17 56.5kg
6 31×25 STAR TURN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 11 56.5kg
7 1×112 CAPITALIST Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 2 56.5kg
8 2×1 GOOD STANDING James Cummings Hugh Bowman 10 56.5kg
9 3×14 TELPERION John O’Shea James Doyle 12 56.5kg
10 311 FRENCH FERN David Payne Opie Bosson 13 54.5kg
11 111 SCARLET RAIN Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 16 54.5kg
12 1×51 CALLIOPE John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 15 54.5kg
13 11x YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Zac Purton 3 54.5kg
14 10×66 SWEET SHERRY Brent Stanley Thomas Huet 8 54.5kg
15 14 HONESTY PREVAILS Rick Worthington Jason Collett 6 54.5kg
16 1×72 QUICK FEET Peter & Paul Snowden 1 54.5kg
17e 43 MOQUEEN Anthony Cummings 4 54.5kg

2017 Golden Slipper Nominations

The 2017 Golden Slipper nominations will be provided below.

Golden Slipper Day

Golden Slipper Day features two other Group 1 races; with the Group 1 The BMW (2400m) and the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m) the two other major races on the exciting race card.

And the Melbourne Cup, the race that stops the nation, is set to race on the 4th of November, 2014.

Golden Slipper History

Originally worth 20,000 pounds in prize money, the Golden Slipper Stakes was first run in 1957 and was won by Todman. Jockey Shane Dye and Ron Quinton have been the most successful jockeys in Golden Slipper history. Quinton won the race with Marscay (1982), Sir Dapper (1983), Rory’s Jester (1985) and Marauding (1987), while Dye won the race on four consecutive occasions; piloting Courtza (1989), Canny Lad (1990), Tierce (1991) and Burst (1992) to victory.

Renowned trainer Tommy J. Smith won the race with six horses; taking out the Group 1 event with Fairy Walk (1971), John’s Hope (1972), Hartshill (1974), Toy Show (1975), Bounding Away (1986) and Star Watch (1988). The fastest winning time was recorded in 2004 when Dance Hero won in 1 minute and 8.6 seconds, while Canny Lad recorded the slowest winning race time in 1990 with a time 1 minute and 15.41 seconds.

Golden Slipper Betting

Golden Slipper betting is extremely popular and has generally been a strong event for punters. Bounding Away (1986), Courtza (1989), Sebring (2008), Sepoy (2011) and Overreach (2013) have all won the race as favourites in the last thirty years, while Danzero (1994), Catbird (1999), Miss Finland (2006) and Crystal Lily (2010) were all well supported by punters. The Golden Slipper has never had any major boilovers, but Flying Spur (1995) and Phelan Ready (2009) were both successful at odds of $25. The Todman Stakes and Reisling Stakes remain the key lead-up races to the Golden Slipper.

Recent Golden Slipper Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Capitalist 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Yankee Rose
3rd Flying Artie
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Vancouver 1 minute 9.74 seconds
2nd English
3rd Lake Geneva
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Mossfun 1 minute 12.17 seconds
2nd Earthquake
3rd Bring Me The Maid
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Overreach 1 minute 11.0 seconds
2nd Sidestep
3rd Sweet Idea
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Pierro 1 minute 09.7 seconds
2nd Snitzerland
3rd Samaready
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Sepoy 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Mosheen
3rd Elite Falls
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Crystal Lily 1 minute 10.78 seconds
2nd Decision Time
3rd More Strawberries
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Phelan Ready 1 minute 11.78 seconds
2nd Headway
3rd Manhattan Rain
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Sebring 1 minute 12.88 seconds
2nd Von Costa De Hero
3rd Portillo
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Forensics 1 minute 9.33 seconds
2nd Zizou
3rd Meurice
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Miss Finland 1 minute 9.52 seconds
2nd Pure Energy
3rd Churchill Downs
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Stratum 1 minute 9.67 seconds
2nd Fashions Afield
3rd Media
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Dance Hero 1 minute 8.6 seconds
2nd Charge Forward
3rd Alinghi
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Polar Success 1 minute 9.07 seconds
2nd How Funny
3rd Hasna
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Calaway Gal 1 minute 8.81 seconds
2nd Victory Vein
3rd Choisir
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Ha Ha 1 minute 8.94 seconds
2nd Excellerator
3rd Red Hannigan
Golden Slipper Stakes
1st Belle Du Jour 1 minute 9.51 seconds
2nd Crowned Glory
3rd Assertive Lad