McEwen Stakes

The McEwen Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in early September as a lead-up to the Moir Stakes the following month.

2017 McEwen Stakes Results

  • 1st: #1 Russian Revolution
  • 2nd: #5 Heatherly
  • 3rd: #7 Houtzen

The McEwen Stakes is a Group 2 sprint held during early September at Moonee Valley Racecourse. Raced over 1000 metres under weight for age conditions, the McEwen Stakes pays $200,000 in total prize-money.

The McEwen Stakes is held on Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes Day and shares its race program with the Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m).

Most of the sprinters that contest the McEwen Stakes are kicking off their spring campaigns. Success in the McEwen Stakes is often followed by an attempt at the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) in late October back at Moonee Valley.

The McEwen Stakes 2017 was run on Saturday September 9, 2017.

2017 McEwen Stakes
Date: September 9, 2017
Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 1000m
Race Type: Weight For Age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2017 McEwen Stakes Results

Check out the full Mitty’s McEwen Stakes 2017 Results & Finishing Order below, the short-distance sprint won in outstanding style by the returning Peter & Paul Snowden-trained The Galaxy winner Russian Revolution.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden Mark Zahra 4 58.5kg $3.40
2 5 HEATHERLY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 1.25L 3 56.5kg $7.50
3 7 HOUTZEN Toby Edmonds Craig Williams 2.5L 6 50kg $2.45F
4 4 MISSROCK Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 2.6L 2 56.5kg $9.50
5 3 SUPIDO Michael Kent Luke Nolen 3.35L 5 58.5kg $10
6 2 HELLBENT Darren Weir Dwayne Dunn 3.45L 1 58.5kg $14
6 UNIQUE LOVELY Frankie Stockdale Noel Callow 0

2017 McEwen Stakes Field

The 2017 McEwen Stakes field was released on Wednesday August 31 with Heatherly the early favourite in McEwen Stakes betting at

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11114x164x RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden 4 58.5kg 108
2 113x34423x HELLBENT Darren Weir 1 58.5kg 105
3 x113x930x1 SUPIDO Michael Kent Luke Nolen 5 58.5kg 103
4 35x19242x1 MISSROCK Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 2 56.5kg 107
5 x132x618x2 HEATHERLY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 3 56.5kg 107
6 x39x6111x4 UNIQUE LOVELY Frankie Stockdale Noel Callow 7 56.5kg 74
7 11115x HOUTZEN Toby Edmonds Craig Williams 6 50kg 90

2017 McEwen Stakes Nominations

The 2017 McEwen Stakes nominations were released on Monday, August 29th, and feature Carlyon Stakes winner Heatherly.

See the complete 2016 Mitty’s McEwen Stakes Nominations now.

McEwen Stakes History

Registered as the Ian McEwen Trophy, the McEwen Stakes was inaugurated in 1995, making it a relatively young race. The McEwen Stakes was named in honour of Ian McEwen, a former secretary for the Moonee Valley Racing Club. For the very first year it ran, the race was referred to as the Anniversary Trophy.

Between 1995 and 1997 the race ran as an unlisted event. Following an upgrade in 1997, the race was listed until 2005. In 2006, a further upgrade saw the McEwen Stakes run as a Group 3 event for six years. From 2013 onwards, the McEwen Stakes is Group 2 event.

The McEwen Stakes has always been run over 1000m (excepting the year 2000 when it was run over 1200m) and has always been held at Moonee Valley (with the exception of the inaugural edition, when it was held at Caulfield).

Plenty of impressive horses have ran in the race throughout the years. Notable McEwen Stakes winners include Sequalo (1995), Testa Rossa (2000), Mistegic (2002), Miss Andretti (2006) and Buffering (2011).

McEwen Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

McEwen Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
McEwen Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
McEwen Stakes
1st Russian Revolution 58.14 seconds
2nd Heatherly
3rd Houtzen
McEwen Stakes
1st Wild Rain 0 minutes 58.8 seconds
2nd Furnaces
3rd Heatherly
McEwen Stakes
1st Chautauqua 0 minutes 58.2 seconds
2nd Flamberge
3rd Furnaces
Ajax Stakes
1st Angelic Light 0 minutes 57.5 seconds
2nd Lankan Rupee
3rd Eloping
McEwen Stakes
1st Kuroshio 0 minutes 57.8 seconds
2nd Moment Of Change
3rd General Truce
McEwen Stakes
1st Bel Sprinter 0 minutes 57.3 seconds
2nd Platelet
3rd Snitzem
McEwen Stakes
1st Buffering 0 minutes 58.5 seconds
2nd Crystal Lily
3rd Atomic Force
McEwen Stakes
1st Hay List 0 minute 59.6 seconds
2nd Catapulted
3rd Reward For Effort
McEwen Stakes
1st Nicconi 0 minute 57.4 seconds
2nd Morgan Dollar
3rd Secret Flyer
McEwen Stakes
1st Kaphero 0 minute 59.4 seconds
2nd Morgan Dollar
3rd Lucky Secret
McEwen Stakes
1st Here De Angels 0 minute 57.4 seconds
2nd Gold Edition
3rd Dr Nipandtuck
McEwen Stakes
1st Miss Andretti 0 minute 58.8 seconds
2nd Sassbee
3rd Cargo Cult
McEwen Stakes
1st Strikeline 0 minute 59.8 seconds
2nd Truly Wicked
3rd Titanic Jack
McEwen Stakes
1st Edgeton 1 minute 01.8 seconds
2nd Reactive
3rd Mistegic
McEwen Stakes
1st Yell 0 minute 59.6 seconds
2nd The Big Chill
3rd Dantana
McEwen Stakes
1st Mistegic 1 minute 0.2 seconds
2nd Shaye Spice
3rd Aragonce
McEwen Stakes
1st Strategic Image 0 minute 58.4 seconds
2nd Sports
3rd Ateates
McEwen Stakes
1st Testa Rossa 1 minute 13.4 seconds
2nd Sports
3rd Chattanooga

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field