Rosehill Guineas

The Group 1 Rosehill Guineas 2017 is a 2000m race for three-year-old horses run at Rosehill Gardens during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. This year's Rosehill Guineas Day will be run on Saturday 18th March 2017.

Rosehill Guineas News

Hartnell Included In The Metropolitan Nominations

Hartnell Included In The Metropolitan Nominations

The 2016 The Metropolitan nominations have been released and the in-form Hartnell has been included in the initial entries for the Group 1 event that will be held at Royal Randwick on October 1.

Hartnell remains a chance of being the star attraction in the 2016 The Metropolitan. Photo by: Steve Hart

Hartnell failed to fire during the 2015 Spring ...

The 2017 Rosehill Guineas is one of the premier Group 1 events for three-year-olds held as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Conducted by the Australian Turf Club (ATC), it is run at Rosehill Gardens in March on Golden Slipper Stakes Day. The meeting features a total of five Group 1 races with the Rosehill Guineas joined by the: $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m), the $1 million Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m), the $700,000 Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) and the $700,000 Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m).

Restricted to three-year-olds the Rosehill Guineas field is run over a staying trip of 2000 metres and offers $600,000 in total prize money. The traditional autumn lead-up into the event is the $1 million Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) held a fortnight earlier over 400m shorter. The Randwick Guineas – Rosehill Guineas double has recent been achieved by the likes of Metal Bender (2009) and It’s A Dundeel (2013).

Most runners out of the Rosehill Guineas will continue onto ‘The Championships’ at Royal Randwick in April for a shot at the $2 million Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m).

As one of the best three-year-old events at the carnival, the Rosehill Guineas always attracts a fine field of contenders and has been won by some true turf champions, including Sky Heights (1999), Tie The Knot (1998), Octagonal (1996), Danewin (1995), Naturalism (1992) and Sky Chase (1988), while equine superstars Phar Lap (1929) and Kingstown Town (1980) also recorded impressive victories in the Group 1 event.

The Randwick Guineas – Rosehill Guineas – Australian Derby races make up the coveted Sydney 3YO Triple Crown of races.

The date for 2017 Rosehill Guineas is Saturday March 18.

2017 Rosehill Guineas
Date: March 18, 2017
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Conditions: 3YO Open – Set Weights
Set Weights: Colts & Geldings 56.5kg / Fillies 54.5kg
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
Inaugurated: 1910

2017 Rosehill Guineas Field

The Rosehill Guineas field attracts the season’s best three-year-old staying types typically coming off a Randwick Guineas run over a mile and heading towards the Australian Derby on Day 1 of ‘The Championships’ in April.

The official 2017 Rosehill Guineas field and barriers are set to be released by Racing NSW on Wednesday March 15, 2017 and will be published in full below along with the Rosehill Guineas form guide.

2017 Rosehill Guineas Nominations

The Rosehill Guineas 2017 nominations are taken on Monday March 13, 2017 and will be published below as soon as available.

Rosehill Guineas History

The Rosehill Guineas began as a principal race run over seven furlongs and the inaugural winner was Electric Wire. The race distance was increased to nine furlongs in 1915 before a further increase occurred in 1948, bringing the length to a testing 10 furlongs. In 1973 the distance was converted to 2000m and after the race was not held in 1978, the Rosehill Guineas was elevated to Group 1 status in 1980 when the almighty Kingston Town was victorious.

Rosehill Guineas Betting

Rosehill Guineas betting is normally very interesting and it is often surprisingly tough to pick the winner of the Group 1 event. There is generally one horse that starts the Rosehill Guineas as a short-priced favourite, but only a hand full of favourites have won the race in the last thirty years. Talented gallopers Bounty Hawk (1984), Noble Peer (1985), Veandercross (1992), Intergaze (1997), Universal Prince (2001), Teranaba (2007) and Shoot Out (2010) were all beaten as short-priced favourites, while Ring Joe (1987), Star Of Maple (1994), Diatribe (2000), Sale Of Century (2001) and De Beers (2006) all managed to score upset wins in the Group 1 event.

Recent favourites in Rosehill Guineas betting to salute for the punters include It’s A Dundeel (2013) and Criterion (2014). Rosehill Guineas odds open weeks in advance of the race at online bookmakers including

Rosehill Guineas Records
Race Record (at current distance): 1:59.99 set by Danewin in 1995 and equalled by Octagonal in 1996.

Recent Rosehill Guineas Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Rosehill Guineas
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Rosehill Guineas
1st Tarzino 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Montaigne
3rd Jameka
Rosehill Guineas
1st Volkstok’n’barrell 2 minute 03.47 seconds
2nd Preferment
3rd Hallowed Crown
Rosehill Guineas
1st Criterion 2 minutes 05.94 seconds
2nd Thunder Fantasy
3rd Teronado
Rosehill Guineas
1st It’s A Dundeel 2 minutes 02.25 seconds
2nd Sacred Falls
3rd Tatra
Rosehill Guineas
1st Laser Hawk 2 minutes 02.1 seconds
2nd Ocean Park
3rd Silent Achiever
Rosehill Guineas
1st Jimmy Choux 2 minutes 05.3 seconds
2nd Retrieve
3rd Shamrocker
Rosehill Guineas
1st Zabrasive 2 minutes 4.54 seconds
2nd Rock Classic
3rd Run For Naara
Rosehill Guineas
1st Metal Bender 2 minutes 3.2 seconds
2nd Sousa
3rd Rock Kingdom
Rosehill Guineas
1st Dealer Principal 2 minute 4.5 seconds
2nd Kingda Ka
3rd Littorio
Rosehill Guineas
1st He’s No Pie Eater< 2 minutes 2.7 seconds
2nd Ambitious General
3rd Flumicino
Rosehill Guineas
1st De Beers 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Oh Oklahoma
3rd Primus
Rosehill Guineas
1st Eremein 2 minutes 1.3 seconds
2nd Nevis
3rd Outback Prince
Rosehill Guineas
1st Niello 2 minutes 1.1 seconds
2nd Grand Zulu
3rd Elvstroem
Rosehill Guineas
1st Helenus 2 minutes 2.7 seconds
2nd Mummify
3rd Sunday Joy
Rosehill Guineas
1st Carnegie Express 2 minutes 0.8 seconds
2nd Don Eduardo
3rd Pentastic
Rosehill Guineas
1st Sale Of Century 2 minutes 1 seconds
2nd Danamite
3rd Scenic Warrior
Rosehill Guineas
1st Diatribe 2 minutes 4.3 seconds
2nd Freemason
3rd Crawl