Melbourne Cup Day

Melbourne Cup Day is the single biggest event on the Australian horse racing calendar as it is host to the country’s premier thoroughbred event, the $6.2 million Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m).

Sponsored by Emirates, Melbourne Cup Day 2015 is scheduled for Tuesday, November 3rd, 2015 and is the second of four major meetings that make up the classic Melbourne Cup Carnival.

The Melbourne Cup Carnival kicks off on the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day with Victoria Derby Day and concludes the following Saturday with Emirates Stakes Day.

Along with Melbourne Cup Day on the Tuesday, which attracts in excess of 100,000 spectators at the track, race fans and punters are also treated to another midweek event with Crown Oaks Day for the ladies on the Thursday.

A total of ten Melbourne Cup Day races will take place this year with the 2015 Melbourne Cup the sole Group 1 event on the program.

Other highlights on the Melbourne Cup Day schedule however include a Group 3 event and as many as four Listed features.

The premier event is of course the ‘race that stops a nation’, the Melbourne Cup, which runs as Flemington Race 7 at 3:00pm (AEDST) every Melbourne Cup Day.

The 2015 Melbourne Cup Trophy is valued at an incredible $175,000 this year and is crafted, as usual, by Hardy Brothers Jewellers. Made from 34 separate pieces of gold, the trophy is crafted by hand, with over 200 hours spent beating the gold.

Remember you don’t have to wait until Melbourne Cup Day to place your bets on the world’s richest handicap as have the hottest Melbourne Cup pre-nomination odds open now!

2015 Melbourne Cup Day Race Schedule

  • Race 1 – 10:40am – Group 3 Emirates Airline Plate (1000m)
  • Race 2 – 11:20am – Trophy (1700m)
  • Race 3 – 12:00pm – JB Cummings AM Tribute Plate (2800m)
  • Race 4 – 12:40pm – Lavazza Short Black (1400m)
  • Race 5 – 1:20pm – Schweppes #FlemingtonFling (1000m)
  • Race 6 – 2:00pm – Listed Lexus Hybrid Plate (1400m)
  • Race 7 – 3:00pm – Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m)
  • Race 8 – 3:55pm – Listed James Boag’s Symphony Stakes (1800m)
  • Race 9 – 4:35pm – Listed MSS Security Sprint (1200m)
  • Race 10 – 5:15pm – Group 3 Hong Kong Jockey Club Stakes (1400m)

All times are in local time – Melbourne, Victoria – AEDST.