Melbourne Cup Day

Melbourne Cup Day is the single biggest event on the Australian horse racing calendar as it is host to the country’s premier thoroughbred event, the $6.2 million Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m).

2016 Melbourne Cup Results

  • 1st: Almandin
  • 2nd: Heartbreak City
  • 3rd: Harnell

Sponsored by Emirates, Melbourne Cup Day 2017 is scheduled for Tuesday, November 7th, 2017 and is the second of four major meetings that make up the classic Melbourne Cup Carnival.

2017 Melbourne Cup Day Betting

There are traditionally nine other Flemington races on the Melbourne Cup Day 2017 card giving punters plenty of other chances to win outside of tipping the Melbourne Cup results.

Read more on Melbourne Cup betting.

2017 Melbourne Cup Day Race Schedule

The official 2017 Melbourne Cup Day races and times will be released closer to Melbourne Cup week 2017 and published below.

  • Race 7 (3:00pm AEDT) – $6.2 million Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m)

The Melbourne Cup always runs as Flemington Race 7 on Melbourne Cup Day.

What Time Does The Melbourne Cup Run?

  • Queensland: 2:00pm
  • New South Wales: 3:00pm
  • Victoria: 3:00pm
  • Tasmania: 3:00pm
  • Northern Territory: 1:30pm
  • ACT: 3:00pm
  • Western Australia: 12:00pm
  • UK & Ireland: 4:00am
  • New Zealand: 5:00pm
  • Japan: 1:00pm
  • Hong Kong: 12:00pm
  • Dubai: 8:00am

The Melbourne Cup Carnival kicks off on the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day with Victoria Derby Day and concludes the following Saturday with Emirates Stakes Day.

Along with Melbourne Cup Day on the Tuesday, which attracts in excess of 100,000 spectators at the track, race fans and punters are also treated to another midweek event with Crown Oaks Day for the ladies on the Thursday.

A total of ten Melbourne Cup Day races will take place this year with the 2017 Melbourne Cup the sole Group 1 event on the program.

Other highlights on the Melbourne Cup Day schedule however include a Group 3 event and as many as four Listed features.

The premier event is of course the ‘race that stops a nation’, the Melbourne Cup, which runs as Flemington Race 7 at 3:00pm (AEDST) every Melbourne Cup Day.

The 2017 Melbourne Cup Trophy is valued at an incredible $175,000 this year and is crafted, as usual, by Hardy Brothers Jewellers. Made from 34 separate pieces of gold, the trophy is crafted by hand, with over 200 hours spent beating the gold.

Remember you don’t have to wait until Melbourne Cup Day to place your bets on the world’s richest handicap as Ladbrokes.com.au have the hottest Melbourne Cup pre-nomination odds open now!