George Ryder Stakes

The George Ryder Stakes is a Group 1 middle distance race held at Rosehill Gardens during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. In 2016 the George Ryder Stakes will be run on Rosehill Guineas Day, Saturday 19th March 2016.

George Ryder Stakes News

Winx Far Too Good in George Ryder Stakes

Winx Far Too Good in George Ryder Stakes

Winx has undoubtedly stamped herself as the country’s best racehorse at Rosehill Gardens this afternoon; leading a Chris Waller-trained trifecta in the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m).

Winx claimed a fifth Group 1 triumph in this afternoon’s George Ryder Stakes at Rosehill Gardens. Photo: Steve Hart

Jumping from the gates only fairly, jockey Hugh Bowman was forced to ...

The 2016 George Ryder Stakes is a 1500m middle distance sprint race held at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse during the annual Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The Group 1 event now offers a lucrative $1 million in prize money and will be held on the final Saturday of March at Rosehill Gardens on an exciting card that also includes the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) and Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m).

The winner of the George Ryder Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Doncaster Mile and is generally considered to the Group 1 event that is held at Royal Randwick during The Championships. Although it is a key form race for the feature mile event of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, only four horses have been able to win the George Ryder Stakes and the Doncaster Mile in the same year; with Emancipation (1983), Racing To Win (2006), Haradasun (2007) and Vision And Power (2009) all completing the Group 1 double.

The 2016 George Ryder Stakes is set for Rosehill Guineas Day on Saturday 19th of March, 2016.

George Ryder Stakes Field

The George Ryder Stakes field can be run with a maximum of 20 horses and the Group 1 event generally draws a capacity field. The winner of the George Ryder Stakes receives ballot exempt entry into the Doncaster Mile and this is one of the reasons the race always draws such a strong field. However, the George Ryder Stakes is always a strong race in its own right and with $1 million in prizemoney is set to feature the best milers from right around Australia.

2016 George Ryder Stakes Field

The 2016 George Ryder Stakes field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x62111x41 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker Opie Bosson 8 59kg 114
2 31x52140x3 KERMADEC (NZ) Chris Waller Zac Purton 6 59kg 113
3 x111x0x438 HUCKLEBUCK Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 3 59kg 109
4 11x5x111x4 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 2 59kg 101
5 211x111x11 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 7 57kg 118
6 2x21226x12 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 5 57kg 109
7 167×702117 TINTO Rex Lipp Craig Williams 4 57kg 104
8 11x2511x12 PRESS STATEMENT Chris Waller James McDonald 1 56kg 108
George Ryder Stakes
Date: 19th of March, 2016
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000

George Ryder Stakes Field

The George Ryder Stakes field will be provided below.

George Ryder Stakes Nominations

The George Ryder Stakes nominations will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 211x111x11 WINX M 4 Chris Waller 1 57kg 118
2 1x62111x41 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) H 4 Murray Baker 2 59kg 114
3 31x52140x3 KERMADEC (NZ) H 4 Chris Waller 3 59kg 113
4 x111x0x438 HUCKLEBUCK G 5 Phillip Stokes 4= 59kg 109
5 2x21226x12 FIRST SEAL M 4 John P Thompson 4= 57kg 109
6 11x2511x12 PRESS STATEMENT C 3 Chris Waller 6 56kg 108
7 167×702117 TINTO M 5 Rex Lipp 7= 57kg 104
8 312×1221 LE ROMAIN G 3 Kris Lees 7= 56kg 104
9 11x5x111x4 HAPPY CLAPPER G 5 Patrick Webster 9 59kg 101
10 565x890x01 BULL POINT H 5 David Vandyke 10 59kg 99
11 447x1513x3 COUNTERATTACK C 3 Chris Waller 11 56kg 92

George Ryder Stakes History

The George Ryder Stakes was first held in 1946, over a distance of 1400 metres, and was taken out by Bragger. The distance of the race was increased to 1450 metres in 1985 and became a 1500 metre event in 1986.

Equine superstar Manikato holds the record for the fastest winning time in George Ryder Stakes, winning the 1980 edition in a time of  1 minute and 21.6 seconds, whilst  Straussbrook took 1 minute and 32.90 seconds to win the Group 1 event in 1990.

George Ryder Stakes Winners

The George Ryder Stakes has been a Group 1 race since 1980 and has been one by some of the biggest names in Australian racing history. Equine superstars that have tasted success in the George Ryder Stakes include Comedy Prince (1949), Manikato (1979 and 1980), Emancipation (1983 and 1984), Schillaci (1993), Lonhro (2003 and 2004), Weekend Hussler (2008) and Pierro (2013).

Recent George Ryder Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
George Ryder Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 28.7 seconds
2nd Kermadec
3rd Press Statement
George Ryder Stakes
1st Real Impact 1 minute 28.29 seconds
2nd Criterion
3rd Kermadec
George Ryder Stakes
1st Gordon Lord Byron 1 minute 30.95 seconds
2nd Speediness
3rd El Roca
George Ryder Stakes
1st Pierro 1 minute 31.08 seconds
2nd Mufhasa
3rd Shoot Out
George Ryder Stakes
1st Metal Bender 1 minute 28.8 seconds
2nd Rekindled Interest
3rd Secret Admirer
George Ryder Stakes
1st Rangirangdoo 1 minute 29.4 seconds
2nd Love Conquers All
3rd Triple Elegance
George Ryder Stakes
1st Danleigh 1 minute 30.27 seconds
2nd Dao Dao
3rd King Mufhasa
George Ryder Stakes
1st Vision And Power 1 minute 31.57 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd King Mufhasa
George Ryder Stakes
1st Weekend Hussler 1 minute 31.72 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Casino Prince
George Ryder Stakes
1st Haradasun< 1 minute 29.22 seconds
2nd Mentality
3rd Apache Cat
George Ryder Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 27.89 seconds
2nd Paratroopers
3rd Lad Of The Manor
George Ryder Stakes
1st Court’s In Session 1 minute 28.65 seconds
2nd Patezza
3rd Sky Cuddle
George Ryder Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 27.24 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Private Steer
George Ryder Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 30.71 seconds
2nd Dash For Cash
3rd Defier
George Ryder Stakes
1st Lord Essex 1 minute 29.51 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Crawl
George Ryder Stakes
1st Landsighting 1 minute 27.67 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Crawl
George Ryder Stakes
1st Al Mansour 1 minute 30.53 seconds
2nd Bonanova
3rd Hire