Melbourne Cup Field

The Melbourne Cup field is made up of the world’s best staying types with both local Australian gallopers and international raiders fighting it out for the richest handicap prize every November.

Held on the first Tuesday of November each year at Melbourne’s famous Flemington Racecourse the Melbourne Cup field features a capacity 24 starters and has no emergencies.

Every spring the Melbourne Cup field of final acceptances is released on the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day. The live announcement of the Melbourne Cup field is made from Flemington at around 6:00pm (local time), with the official Melbourne Cup final acceptances closing to connections at 4:30pm (AEDT) after the action of Victoria Derby Day.

2017 Melbourne Cup Field

The 2017 Melbourne Cup field will be released on November 4, 2017 after the racing action live from Flemington Racecourse on Victoria Derby Day.

Already bookmakers have all-in Melbourne Cup betting open on the possible horses to line-up in the 2017 Melbourne Cup field.

It is a long process to whittle down all the hopeful horses to reveal the official Melbourne Cup field. Things start at the beginning of September when the Melbourne Cup nominations are taken, with numbers usually exceeding 150 early entries.

First declaration stage narrows down the number of Melbourne Cup horses a month later at the start of October by as much as half.

Second declarations follow about three weeks on at the end of October before the final declaration or acceptance stage on Victoria Derby Day.

2017 Melbourne Cup Second Acceptances

The Melbourne Cup second acceptances are taken on the Monday before Victoria Derby Day, eight days before the Melbourne Cup field lines up in Flemington Race 7 on the first Tuesday of November.

The 2017 Melbourne Cup second acceptances will be released on Monday October 30.

2017 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances

Released in early October, the Melbourne Cup first acceptances usually halve the Melbourne Cup nominations and make the line-up of the eventual 24-starter Melbourne Cup field clearer.

2017 Melbourne Cup Nominations & Weights

Nominations for the Melbourne Cup are taken in early September. About a week later, the Melbourne Cup weights will be released. The 2017 Melbourne Cup nominations and weights will be listed below as soon as they are released by Racing Victoria (RV).

2017 Melbourne Cup Field Dates

2017 Melbourne Cup field and nomination announcement dates:

  • Nominations: Tuesday August 29, 2017
  • Handicaps / Weights: Tuesday 12 September, 2017
  • First Acceptances: Tuesday 3 October, 2017
  • Second Acceptances: Monday 23 October, 2017
  • Final Field: Saturday November 4, 2017
  • Jockeys: Saturday November 4, 2017
  • Barrier Draw: Saturday November 4, 2017

Of course betting on the Melbourne Cup field opens at bookies around the country including before even the Melbourne Cup nominations are taken.

Melbourne Cup odds are open nearly all year round with futures betting offering great prices, the favourite paying over $20, for those that want to get in on the action early.

To check out the latest Melbourne Cup betting markets for this year’s showdown head to, the country’s most trusted bookie for Melbourne Cup odds.