Aurie’s Star Handicap

The 2016 Aurie's Star Handicap is a Group 3 event held at Flemington Racecourse.

Aurie’s Star Handicap News

2017 Memsie Stakes Target for I Am A Star

2017 Memsie Stakes Target for I Am A Star

Mornington trainer Shane Nichols had identified the Memsie Stakes 2017 as the likely first Group 1 target this spring for his Myer Classic winning filly I Am A Star.

The 2017 Memsie Stakes is an early Group 1 spring target for I Am A Star. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The rising four-year-old daughter of I Am Invincible has amassed ...

The 2016 Aurie’s Star Handicap is a Group 3 sprinting event hosted at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne every year around early August. Run over 1200m under open handicap conditions, the Aurie’s Star Handicap pays a total of $150,000 prize money.

The Aurie’s Star Handicap is one of the first group races of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, and as a result tends to attract punting attention in excess of its status. Keep a close eye on the Aurie’s Star Handicap results, as they can provide a good indicator for later form.

The Aurie’s Star Handicap 2016 will be run on August 6th.

Aurie’s Star Handicap
Date: August 6th
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group Three
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Aurie’s Star Handicap Field

The 2016 Aurie’s Star Handicap field is be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 3399x4249x DIBAYANI (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 7 59kg 105
2 0362x70x71 SMART VOLATILITY John Sargent Tye Angland 2 58.5kg 104
3 281x97170x ESCADO Matt Laurie Ben Melham 8 57kg 101
4 13951630×1 MIGHTY LIKE Mick Price Damien Oliver 13 55kg 97
5 321511246x TASHBEEH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Michael Walker 12 54kg 95
6 483141282x MANAGERESS Cindy Alderson Luke Currie 1 54kg 93
7 22160x866x MR CHARD Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 6 54kg 93
8 x107x0085x PHEIDON Jim Cerchi (Jnr) Mr Ben Thompson 10 54kg 93
9 3x11x32431 RUETTIGER (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Daniel Moor 9 54kg 91
10 0x709x5462 MAGNUS REIGN Darren Weir Dean Yendall 4 54kg 85
11 93×8281111 BEIRUT Henry Dwyer Chris Symons 5 54kg 83
12 5x287210x5 JUST MAGICAL Lyn Tolson & Leonie Proctor 3 54kg 79
13 4×38202054 SOOBOOG Darren Weir Michael Dee (a) 11 54kg 79

Aurie’s Star Handicap History

The Aurie’s Star Handicap was inaugurated in 1996 as an unlisted event, with Homestead taking out the first edition of the race. In 2005, the Aurie’s Star Handicap was upgraded to a listed event and given a boost in prize money. In 2010, it was ran as a Group 3 event, however was downgraded to listed status for the 2011 edition. In 2012, the Aurie’s Star Handicap was again upgraded to Group 3 and has remained at that status since.

The Aurie’s Star Handicap was held for a year at Moonee Valley Racecourse in 2007, but is now certainly a Flemington race. Although the Aurie’s Star Handicap only has a brief history, it has played an important role in the preparation of many sprinters for the spring campaigns.

Notable Aurie’s Star Handicap winners include Homestead (1996), Fields Of Omagh (2002), Sports (2003) and Temple Of Boom (2011).

Aurie’s Star Handicap Results

Year Place Horse Time
Aurie’s Star Handicap
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Sooboog 1 minute 10 seconds
2nd Dibayani
3rd Tashbeeh
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Shiraz 1 minute 09.4 seconds
2nd Play Master
3rd Le Bonsir
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Tiger Tees 1 minute 09.9 seconds
2nd Mr Chard
3rd Zamorar
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Broken 1 minute 12.5 seconds
2nd Temple Of Boom
3rd Cavallo Nero
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Shanghai Warrior 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Golden Archer
3rd Zamorar
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Temple Of Boom 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Rekindled Interest
3rd Offenders
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Elusive Touch 1 minute 11.1 seconds
2nd Leica Larrikin
3rd Beltrois
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Mic Mac 1 minute 09.7 seconds
2nd All American
3rd El Segundo
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Grand Duels 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Stavka
3rd Valedictum
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Monet Rules 1 minute 12.0 seconds
2nd Orange County
3rd El Segundo
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Bel Danoro 1 minute 09.9 seconds
2nd El Segundo
3rd Apache Cat
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Niconero 1 minute 02.8 seconds
2nd Valedictum
3rd Tszyu
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st General Bayton 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Deprave
3rd Via De Lago
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Sports 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Naden
3rd Prince Rubiton
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Fields Of Omagh 1 minute 09.4 seconds
2nd Pindi Ridge
3rd Gypsy Lad
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Sound The Alarm 1 minute 08.9 seconds
2nd Slalom
3rd Le Zagaletta
Aurie’s Star Handicap
1st Roktzar 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Le Zagaletta
3rd Mystic Morse