PB Lawrence Stakes

The 2017 PB Lawrence Stakes is the first Group 2 race during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Held at Caulfield Racecourse in mid-August, the 1400m event is held on the same day as the Group 3 Vain Stakes (1100m) for colts and geldings and the Group 3 Quezette Stakes (1100m) for the fillies. Worth $200,000 in prize money, the weight-for-age race is open to all horses aged three years and over.

Formerly known as the JJ Liston Stakes, the race name was changed to the P.B. Lawrence Stakes in 2010.

The PB Lawrence Stakes is a nice lead up race to the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) held a fortnight later at Caulfield, which marks the start of elite level racing for the new season in Melbourne. The only horse to manage the P.B. Lawrence Stakes/Memsie Stakes double in the past 30 years is Regal Roller (2004). The PB Lawrence Stakes generally attracts an above average group of gallopers many eyeing a tougher run in something like October’s Group 1 W.S. Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley later in the season.

PB Lawrence Stakes
Date: August 12th, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2017 PB Lawrence Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 169x3x34x2 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 2 59kg 112
2 1123x2822x HARTNELL (GB) James Cummings Craig Williams 9 59kg 115
3 29x211x75x BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 5 59kg 115
4 1709x4x22x TOSEN STARDOM (JPN) Darren Weir Ben Allen (a) 13 59kg 109
5 28x181x37x GAILO CHOP (FR) Darren Weir Mark Zahra 10 59kg 109
6 129x42212x HUMIDOR (NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane 3 59kg 112
7 241211x12x STAR EXHIBIT Darren Weir John Allen 6 59kg 105
8 1110x8747x HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 4 59kg 107
9 89x60229x4 CHARMED HARMONY John Sadler Ms Katelyn Mallyon 11 59kg 100
10 344943×198 TASHBEEH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 12 59kg 101
11 4x43139x23 DUKE OF BRUNSWICK Mick Price Damien Oliver 14 59kg 95
12 1111x4214x AMELIE’S STAR Darren Weir Luke Currie 1 57kg 103
13 111x8400x ABBEY MARIE Michael Kent Luke Nolen 7 57kg 97
14 x435x2111x MONTOYA’S SECRET Leon & Troy Corstens Noel Callow 8 56.5kg 98

PB Lawrence Nominations

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp Rating
1 111x8400x ABBEY MARIE M 5 Michael Kent 97
2 1111x4214x AMELIE’S STAR M 6 Darren Weir 103
3 90x26282x5 BETTYRAE RUBY M 4 Tim Hughes 64
4 29x211x75x BLACK HEART BART G 7 Darren Weir 115
5 89x60229x4 CHARMED HARMONY G 8 John Sadler 100
6 563823×532 DIVINE MR ARTIE G 5 Brendan McCarthy 82
7 4x43139x23 DUKE OF BRUNSWICK G 6 Mick Price 95
8 28x181x37x GAILO CHOP (FR) G 7 Darren Weir 109
9 1123x2822x HARTNELL (GB) G 7 James Cummings 115
10 1110x8747x HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 107
11 129x42212x HUMIDOR (NZ) G 5 Darren Weir 112
12 1433x5126x INFERENCE H 4 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 105
13 169x3x34x2 LANKAN RUPEE G 8 Mick Price 112
14 x435x2111x MONTOYA’S SECRET M 4 Leon & Troy Corstens 98
15 54282x060x SEABURGE H 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 105
16 241211x12x STAR EXHIBIT G 6 Darren Weir 105
17 344943×198 TASHBEEH H 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 101
18 1709x4x22x TOSEN STARDOM (JPN) H 7 Darren Weir 109

PB Lawrence Stakes History

First won by One Up in 1949, the JJ Liston Stakes was a 10 furlong race until 1968 when it became a 7 furlong race until 1972. After it became a 1400m race, it was quickly elevated to Group Two status. Since its inauguration, Tauto has been the only horse to successfully win two races in 1971 and 1972. The 2007 winner Apache Cat ran a successful campaign after his PB Lawrence Stakes win as he ran second in the Makybe Diva Stakes and then won several Group 1 races. Apache Cat also holds the race’s fastest winning time record with 1 minute 22.1 seconds.

Recent PB Lawrence Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Hartnell 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Charmed Harmony
3rd Black Heart Bart
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Miss Rose De Lago 1 minute 24.8 seconds
2nd Jacquinot Bay
3rd Entirely Platinum
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Mourinho 1 minute 23.54 seconds
2nd The Cleaner
3rd Dibayani
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Star Rolling 1 minute 24.37 seconds
2nd Spillway
3rd Gig
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Puissance De Lune 1 minute 24.26 seconds
2nd Ajeeb
3rd Second Effort
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Second Effort 1 minute 27.67 seconds
2nd Zamorar
3rd Ready To Rip
PB Lawrence Stakes
1st Whobegotyou 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Lights Of Heaven
3rd Prince Obama
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Shoot Out 1 minute 27.28 seconds
2nd Predatory Pricer
3rd Heart Of Dreams
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Predatory Pricer 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Typhoon Tracy
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Light Fantastic 1 minute 24.7 seconds
2nd Weekend Hussler
3rd Maldivian
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 22.1 seconds
2nd Marasco
3rd Maldivian
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Pompeii Ruler 1 minute 23.6 seconds
2nd Red Dazzler
3rd Our Smoking Joe
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Lad Of The Manor 1 minute 27.9 seconds
2nd Our Smoking Joe
3rd Super Elegant
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Regal Roller 1 minute 26.3 seconds
2nd Amtrak
3rd Le Zagaletta
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 24.4 seconds
2nd Vocabulary
3rd Walk On Air
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Sports 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Le Zagaletta
3rd Tully Thunder
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Le Zagaletta 1 minute 25.5 seconds
2nd Inaflury
3rd Umrum
JJ Liston Stakes
1st Skoozi Please 1 minute 25.2 seconds
2nd Go Flash Go
3rd Ad Alta

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 – U S N...

Chautauqua jumps into The Ever...

Chautauqua jumps into The Everest calculations after passing barrier test

The grey flash Chautauqua has jumped into calculations for a slot in the $13m...

The Everest 2018: Santa Ana La...

The Everest 2018: Santa Ana Lane to run for Inglis

Three times Group 1 winner Santa Ana Lane will fill the slot owned by Inglis...

Nature Strip odds on to stake ...

Nature Strip odds on to stake a claim for The Everest

Emerging sprinting star Nature Strip is odds on to stake a claim for the $13m...

Sunshine Coast Guineas winner ...

Sunshine Coast Guineas winner The Bostonian set to return to Australia in the Spring

Cambridge trainer Tony Pike is considering a Spring Carnival campaign for The...

Horse Racing Today

Jukebox to step up to 1200m se...

Front runner Sheiswhatsheis he...

Front runner Sheiswhatsheis heads up 2018 Tattersall’s Mile nominations

Front running mare Sheiswhatsheis is among the eighteen nominations for the...

The Everest 2018 – U S N...

The Everest 2018 – U S Navy Flag secures a slot for Coolmore

A brilliant all the way win down the Newmarket straight in England last...

Megablast top of The QueenR...

Megablast top of The Queen’s Cup odds

Kiwi stayer Megablast remains at the top of the betting odds on race eve for...

Plenty of money for Jukebox in...

Plenty of money for Jukebox in 2018 Sir John Monash Stakes betting

An early flood of money has seen the Ciaron Maher trained Jukebox a firming...

Race Results

The Queen’s Cup Trophy next for 2018 Caloundra Cup winner Megablast

2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara winner Prompt Response in line for Everest slot

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Stradbroke Handicap winner

Wet track gave The Monstar the edge in winning 2018 Moreton Cup

Egg Tart wins P.J. O’Shea Stakes: Caulfield Cup 2018 Spring Target

Race Previews

Jukebox to step up to 1200m second up

Front runner Sheiswhatsheis heads up 2018 Tattersall’s Mile nominations

The Everest 2018 – U S Navy Flag secures a slot for Coolmore

Megablast top of The Queen’s Cup odds

Plenty of money for Jukebox in 2018 Sir John Monash Stakes betting

Fields & Form

Jukebox to step up to 1200m second up

Front runner Sheiswhatsheis heads up 2018 Tattersall’s Mile nominations

The Everest 2018 – U S Navy Flag secures a slot for Coolmore

Megablast top of The Queen’s Cup odds

Plenty of money for Jukebox in 2018 Sir John Monash Stakes betting