Missile Stakes

The 2016 Missile Stakes is a Group 2 sprinting event held at Royal Randwick Racecourse in August.

Missile Stakes News

Azkadellia Removed From Tristarc Stakes Nominations

Azkadellia Removed From Tristarc Stakes Nominations

Azkadellia has been removed from the 2016 Tristarc Stakes nominations as investigation continues into the ownership of the star mare.

Azkadellia will not be allowed to contest the Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield on Saturday. Photo by: Steve Hart

Azkadellia went to another level during her autumn campaign and she recorded a maiden Group 1 victory in the Queen Of The ...

The 2016 Missile Stakes is a Group 2 sprinting event raced over a distance of 1200m. The Missile Stakes is held at Royal Randwick Racecourse every year around early August. The Missile Stakes is worth $175,000 and is open to horses aged three years and older.

Competing under weight-for-age conditions, the Missile Stakes field usually attracts a decent selection of sprinters looking to kick their spring racing campaign off with some black-type success.

The Missile Stakes 2016 will be run on August 6th.

Missile Stakes
Date: August 6th
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO+ Weight-for-age
Status: Group Two
Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Missile Stakes Field

The 2016 Missile Stakes field are finalised and published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 23x354094x REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Tommy Berry 2 58.5kg 107
2 3x652x445x GENERALIFE John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 5 58.5kg 106
3 7x3310x602 BIG MONEY Rodney Northam Robert Thompson 1 58.5kg 105
4 6x990x2155 MOUNT NEBO Allan Denham Jason Collett 4 58.5kg 93
5 00×9645762 WOULDNT IT BE NICE Paul Perry Christian Reith 7 58.5kg 90
6 7710x3600x TYCOON TARA Peter & Paul Snowden 6 56.5kg 95
7 1x1121x CAPITALIST Peter & Paul Snowden 3 51.5kg 101

Missile Stakes History

The Missile Stakes was inaugurated in 1978 as a Principal Race, prior to being reclassified as a Group 3 event in 1980. For the 2014 edition, the race was upgraded to Group 2. The Missile Stakes has been held at a few different venues over time, with Rosehill playing host until 2011, then Warwick Farm stepping in for 2012, and plans now to keep the race at Randwick where it has been since the 2013 edition.

The Missile Stakes was initially raced over 1100m. In 2010, the race began to be raced over 1200m and has remained at that distance since. The Missile Stakes forms a popular double with the Premiere Stakes at Rosehill, which German Chocolate (2007) and Spark of Life (2004) have both managed to achieve.

Notable Missile Stakes winners include Commands (1999), Lonhro (2002) and Pompeii (2003). Missile Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Missile Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Missile Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Missile Stakes
1st Tycoon Tara 1 minute 15.6 seconds
2nd Rebel Dane
3rd Mount Nebo
Missile Stakes
1st Burbero 1 minute 09.1 seconds
2nd Weary
3rd Temple Of Boom
Missile Stakes
1st Sweet Idea 1 minute 09.4 seconds
2nd Messene
3rd Rebel Dane
Missile Stakes
1st Rain Affair 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Mic Mac
3rd Title
Missile Stakes
1st Pinwheel 1 minute 09.7 seconds
2nd Centennial Park
3rd Rolling Pin
Missile Stakes
1st Rain Affair 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Winter King
3rd Pinwheel
Missile Stakes
1st Love Conquers All 1 minute 12.4 seconds
2nd Danleigh
3rd Sniper’s Bullet
Missile Stakes
1st Teasing 1 minute 104.4 seconds
2nd Gold Trail
3rd Typhoon Zed
Missile Stakes
1st Captain Bax 1 minute 05.4 seconds
2nd Typhoon Zed
3rd Interfere
Missile Stakes
1st German Chocolate 1 minute 04.6 seconds
2nd La Montagna
3rd Vionneto
Missile Stakes
1st Imprisoned 1 minute 06.3 seconds
2nd Crimson Reign
3rd Mac’s Tune
Missile Stakes
1st Dance Hero 1 minute 02.8 seconds
2nd Snippetson
3rd Spark Of Life
Missile Stakes
1st Spark Of Life 1 minute 02.8 seconds
2nd Into The Night
3rd Dane Shadow
Missile Stakes
1st Pompeii 1 minute 03.7 seconds
2nd Academe
3rd Our Egyptian Raine
Missile Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 03.5 seconds
2nd Ancient Song
3rd Notoire
Missile Stakes
1st Sportsbrat 1 minute 06.7 seconds
2nd Air She Goes
3rd Lonhro
Missile Stakes
1st Padstow 1 minute 03.8 seconds
2nd Wynciti
3rd Celestial Choir