The Galaxy

The Galaxy is a Group 1 sprint race run over 1100m at Rosehill Gardens in Sydney. It is one of three Group 1 races featured on Rosehill Guineas Day. The 2015 running of The Galaxy will be held on Saturday 21st March.

The Galaxy News

Griante Storms Home to win The Galaxy

Griante Storms Home to win The Galaxy

David Brideoake’s decision to accept into the field of the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) with his stable star has paid dividends this afternoon as Griante charged home to post a maiden win at the highest level via a devastating late turn of foot.

Griante produced a typically smart performance to win The Galaxy at Rosehill Gardens this afternoon. ...

The 2016 Galaxy is an open handicap event held towards the end of the prestigious Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival on Rosehill Gardens. The Galaxy is run over a hectic 1100 metres and generally draws some of the best sprinters in Australia.

The Galaxy is the only Group 1 sprint during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival that is run over 1100 metres and sprinters that are contesting the race normally come through races like the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) at Caulfield in Melbourne or the Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m) at Royal Randwick.

George Ryder Stakes Day will take place on 19th of March, 2016 and will feature the running of The Galaxy 2016.

Prior to 2013, The Galaxy Handicap was run on Doncaster Mile Day along with other Group 1 feature races, the Doncaster Mile (1600m) and the Australian Oaks (2400m), but it is now run on the final Saturday of March alongside the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) and the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas.

2016 Galaxy Field

The Galaxy field can feature up to nineteen runners, but the event has not had a capacity field in the last thirty years. The Galaxy generally features a field of between 12 and fifteen sprinters, but just nine horses took part in the 1993 and 1999 editions of the race. The winner if The Galaxy receives ballot exempt entry into the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m) that is held at Royal Randwick during The Championsips.

The 2016 The Galaxy field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 301x2617x1 FLAMBERGE Peter G Moody Damian Lane 18 58kg 112
2 x330x173x2 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Hugh Bowman 3 58kg 112
3 60x123x354 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Damien Oliver 15 56.5kg 109
4 111x130x15 OUR BOY MALACHI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 14 56kg 108
5 79x54761x0 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith James McDonald 11 55.5kg 107
6 221x3223x6 BALL OF MUSCLE Joseph Pride Tim Clark 9 55kg 106
7 3x815x13x7 DOTHRAKI Peter & Paul Snowden 6 55kg 106
8 27042270×0 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing Zac Purton 5 54.5kg 105
9 5x111136x4 SHIRAZ Tony McEvoy Brett Prebble 10 54kg 104
10 2x202x13x9 BOUNDING Peter & Paul Snowden 7 53.5kg 107
11 x1103x16x7 LUMOSTY Robert Smerdon 12 52.5kg 105
12 1120×34153 BOSS LANE Ron Quinton Sam Clipperton 2 52.5kg 101
13 11x41111x2 FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Brenton Avdulla 8 52.5kg 101
14 1126×1 ENGLISH Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 17 51kg 103
15e 1787x461x4 PITTSBURGH FLYER Lee & Shannon Hope Craig Newitt 4 51kg 100
16e x9932587x0 GRIANTE David Brideoake Craig Williams 1 51kg 100
17e 24x11211x1 MALAGUERRA Lee & Anthony Freedman Glen Boss 13 51.5kg 99
18e 22813920×4 MISS PROMISCUITY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 16 51kg 99

The Galaxy Nominations

The Galaxy Handicap nominations will be provided below.

The Galaxy
Date: 19th of March, 2016
Track: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
Distance: 1100m
Conditions: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $400 000
Inaugurated: 1972

The Galaxy History

The Galaxy has always drawn a competitive field of leading sprinters and has been won by a number of talented gallopers. Bletchingly (1975), Luskin Star (1978), Schllaci (1992), Spark Of Life (2004), Magnus (2007) and Bel Sprinter (2013) are just some of the top sprinters who have their names on The Galaxy honour roll.

The Galaxy was first run in 1972 over a distance of 1200 metres and the race distance was converted to 1100m the following year.  The race was upgraded to a Group 2 event in 1980 and received its status as a Group 1 race before the 1984 edition of the race that was won by Mr Illusion.

The Galaxy has proven a very difficult race to win in back-to-back years and Grey Receiver remains the only horse to have won the race on multiple occasions after taking out the race in 1981 and 1982.

The Galaxy Betting

The Galaxy betting is notoriously difficult and favourites have a very poor record in the Group 1 event.  Mr. Illusion (1984), Gold Ace (1996) and Snowland (2003) are the only favourites that have been successful in The Galaxy, while Manuan (1985), Magic Of Money (1995), Padstow (2001) and Proprietor (2006) all won the race at big odds.

The Galaxy Records
Time Record: 1:02.38 set by Accomplice in 1997.
Most Successful Jockey: P. Cook won three times with Kista (1973), Salaam (1977) and Snippets (1988).
Lightest Weight Carried to Victory: 49.0kg carried by Salaam in 1977.
Heaviest Weight Carried to Victory: 58.5kg carried by Mr. Tiz in 1991.

Recent The Galaxy Winners

Year Place Horse Time
The Galaxy
1st Griante 1 minute 3.7 seconds
2nd Shiraz
3rd Dothraki
The Galaxy
1st Sweet Idea 1 minute 02.69 seconds
2nd Kuro
3rd Miracles Of Life
The Galaxy
1st Tiger Tees 1 minute 05.02 seconds
2nd Anatina
3rd Villa Verde
The Galaxy
1st Bel Sprinter 1 minute 02.87 seconds
2nd Snitzerland
3rd Decision Time
The Galaxy
1st Temple of Boom 1 minute 03.4 seconds
2nd Nobby Snip
3rd Lady’s Angel
The Galaxy
1st Atomic Force 1 minute 05.3 seconds
2nd Thankgodyou’rehere
3rd Cardinal Virtue
The Galaxy
1st Shellscrape 1 minute 3.29 seconds
2nd Swift Alliance
3rd Stryker
The Galaxy
1st Nicconi 1 minute 3.5 seconds
2nd Danleigh
3rd Gold Trail
The Galaxy
1st Typhoon Zed 1 minute 4.1 seconds
2nd Keen Commander
3rd Fritzs Princess
The Galaxy
1st Magnus 1 minute 3.2 seconds
2nd Fast n Famous
3rd Macs Tune
The Galaxy
1st Proprietor 1 minute 3.1 seconds
2nd Media
3rd Black Ink
The Galaxy
1st Charge Forward 1 minute 4.7 seconds
2nd Spark Of Life
3rd Red Oog
The Galaxy
1st Spark Of Life 1 minute 3.7 seconds
2nd Taikun
3rd Blessum
The Galaxy
1st Snowland 1 minute 4.5 seconds
2nd Star Of Florida
3rd Bradshaw
The Galaxy
1st Mistegic 1 minute 2.7 seconds
2nd Century Kid
3rd Excellerator
The Galaxy
1st Padstow 1 minute 4 seconds
2nd Camena
3rd Catatonic
The Galaxy
1st Black Bean 1 minute 2.9 seconds
2nd Commands
3rd Padstow