TJ Smith Stakes

The TJ Smith Stakes is a Group 1 sprint run at Royal Randwick on Day 1 of The Championships during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival on Saturday April 1, 2017.

TJ Smith Stakes News

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Third-Up for Fell Swoop

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Third-Up for Fell Swoop

Ultra-consistent Canberra-trained sprinter Fell Swoop is gearing up for an autumn return that will see him take on a stellar field at Randwick third-up in the TJ Smith Stakes 2017.

Fell Swoop will look to win his first Group 1 sprint race over the autumn. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The five-year-old son of Not A Single Doubt is yet ...

The 2017 TJ Smith Stakes is a Group 1 race held towards the end of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival on Day 1 of ‘The Championships’ at Royal Randwick. A 1200m sprint, the TJ Smith Stakes is a weight-for-age event worth a lucrative $2.5 million in prize money.

This race should not be confused with The TJ Smith, a Group 1 race run a Eagle Farm in June during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival for two-year-olds.

The TJ Smith Stakes takes place on Doncaster Mile Day alongside three other Group 1 races: the $3 million Doncaster Mile (1600m), $2 million Australian Derby (2400m) and $1 million ATC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m).

The 2017 TJ Smith Stakes will run on Saturday April 1, 2017.

TJ Smith Stakes
Date: April 1, 2017
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $2,500,000
Inaugurated: 1997

Because of the position of the TJ Smith Stakes towards the end of the autumn carnival, punters have a range of lead-up races to gauge the fitness and form of the runners before placing their TJ Smith bets. Good preparation races include the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) run in Melbourne the month before as well as the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill Gardens a fortnight earlier. The last horse to complete the Newmarket Handicap – TJ Smith Stakes interstate double was Lankan Rupee (2014).

Horses may finish up their autumn campaign in Sydney by running in the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) held two weeks after the TJ Smith Stakes is run and won. Recent All Aged Stakes winners to come off a TJ Smith Stakes start include English (3rd in 2016), Hay List (2nd in 2011) and Hot Danish (2nd in 2010). The latest sprinters to complete the double were Bentley Biscuit (2007) and Shamekha (2005) both trained by Gai Waterhouse.

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Betting Odds

Early all-in 2017 TJ Smith Stakes odds provided by on the hopeful sprinters heading towards the Group 1 classic sprint are listed below.

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Field

The TJ Smith Stakes field attracts the autumn’s best sprinters shooting for a share in the lucrative prize money on offer in the Group 1 feature on the opening day of April’s ‘The Championships’ and is released on the Tuesday before Doncaster Mile Day.

The official 2017 TJ Smith Stakes field and barriers are set to be released by Racing NSW on Tuesday March 28, 2017 and will be published in full below.

2017 TJ Smith Stakes Nominations

The TJ Smith Stakes nominations are taken two months out from the race in early February and attract around 100 hopefuls heading towards the autumn classic run over 1200m at Randwick Racecourse.

The early 2017 TJ Smith Stakes nominations will be published below as soon as released around Monday February 6, 2017.

2017 TJ Smith Stakes First Acceptances

After nominations are taken the list of potential runners is narrowed down with TJ Smith Stakes first acceptances taken in the first week of March, around four weeks before race day.

The 2017 TJ Smith Stakes first acceptances are due to be released on Tuesday March 7, 2017 and will be listed in full below.

TJ Smith Stakes History

The TJ Smith Stakes is one of the youngest Sydney races, first run in 1997. Mahogany won the inaugural race, which was then called the Endeavour Stakes and only held listed status. The following year in 1998, the race was renamed in honour of the renowned trainer Tommy Smith and also received Group 3 status. The event worked its way up quickly, elevated to Group 2 status in 2003 and only two years later in 2005 gained Group 1 status.

See below for the full TJ Smith Stakes results dating back to 2000.

TJ Smith Stakes Records
Race Record: 1:09.09 set by Takeover Target in 2009.
Most Successful Jockey: N. Rawiller with Takeover Target (2009) and Bentley Biscuit (2007).

Recent TJ Smith Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
TJ Smith Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Chautauqua 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Fell Swoop
3rd Chautauqua
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Chautauqua 1 minute 11.04 seconds
2nd Lord Of The Sky
3rd Terravista
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Lankan Rupee 1 minute 12.1 seconds
2nd Rebel Dane
3rd Buffering
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Epaulette
3rd Bel Sprinter
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Master of Design 1 minute 8.8 seconds
2nd Rain Affair
3rd Hallowell Belle
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd Hay List
3rd Triple Honour
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Melito 1 minute 9.2 seconds
2nd Hot Danish
3rd Mic Mac
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 9 seconds
2nd Northern Meteor
3rd Apache Cat
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 11.8 seconds
2nd Reigning To Win
3rd Takeover Target
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Bentley Biscuit 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Black Ink
3rd Virage De Fortune
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Red Oog 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Glamour Puss
3rd Snitzel
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Shamekha 1 minute 12.1 seconds
2nd Fastnet Rock
3rd Only Words
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Dilly Dally 1 minute 9.9 seconds
2nd Legally Bay
3rd Mistegic
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Spinning Hill 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Yell
3rd Bel Esprit
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Phoenix Park 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Fair Embrace
3rd Spinning Hill
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Century Kid 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Spinning Hill
3rd Flavelon
TJ Smith Stakes
1st Shy Hero 1 minute 39.3 seconds
2nd Easy Rocking
3rd High Rolling