Doncaster Mile Handicap

The 2015 Doncaster Mile is set to run on Saturday 4th April 2015 at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. The Group 1 Doncaster Mile, a 1600m handicap, is one of the feature races on The Championships Day 1.

Doncaster Mile Handicap News

Autumn Carnival Ruled Out For Set Square

Autumn Carnival Ruled Out For Set Square

Ciaron Maher’s 2014 Crown Oaks winner Set Square will bypass the autumn riches and instead be saved for a Spring Carnival return later in the year.

Ciaron Maher’s 2014 Crown Oaks winner Set Square will bypass the autumn and return in the spring. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

The now four-year-old daughter of Reset won the Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m) ...

Doncaster Mile Handicap

The Group 1 Doncaster Mile 2015 is a 1600m handicap race for the best middle distance gallopers in the country. Held at Randwick Racecourse during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the race is also known as the Doncaster Handicap and is regarded as the equivalent of the spring Epsom Handicap.

The Doncaster Mile offers $3 million in prize money making it one of the richest races in the autumn and is open to all horses aged three years and over. The Doncaster Mile is now held on the opening day of The Championships at Royal Randwick on an exciting race card that also features the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m), the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) and the Group 1 Sires Produce Stakes (1400m).

2015 Doncaster Mile Results

  • 1st – Kermadec
  • 2nd – Real Impact
  • 3rd – Royal Descent

The 2015 Doncaster Mile Handicap will be run on Saturday 4 April 2015 at Royal Randwick.

Doncaster Mile
Date: Saturday 4 April 2015
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: 3YO+ Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $3,000,000

Doncaster Mile Field

The Doncaster Mile field is regularly filled with some of the finest racehorses from around the world. Click here for the 2015 Doncaster Mile field.

2015 Doncaster Mile Field & Odds

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 2x44140x50 SACRED FALLS (NZ) Chris Waller Zac Purton 20 58kg 115
2 820561×623 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Damien Oliver 2 56.5kg 113
3 5x15x084x0 WORLD ACE (JPN) Yasutoshi Ikee Nicholas Hall 16 55.5kg 111
4 x89x0x61x1 REAL IMPACT (JPN) Noriyuki Hori James McDonald 21 55kg 114
5 55610831×8 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller Tye Angland 11 54.5kg 109
6 5x22220x74 ROYAL DESCENT Chris Waller Joao Moreira 18 54kg 111
7 x7334x1272 NINTH LEGION Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 8 52.5kg 106
8 1812731804 PUCCINI (NZ) Peter & Jacob McKay Craig Newitt 17 52.5kg 105
9 13111×4210 COSMIC ENDEAVOUR Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 15 52kg 112
10 11x114x113 HALLOWED CROWN Bart & James Cummings Tommy Berry 23 52kg 109
11 x471315x47 HOOKED John P Thompson Dom Tourneur 12 52kg 104
12 5373350×19 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Craig Williams 4 51.5kg(1.0kg) 104
13 41x879x803 DIAMOND DRILLE Gai Waterhouse Thomas Huet 22 51kg 106
14 139x41x951 PORNICHET (FR) Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 13 51kg 106
15 15565×4706 DESTINY’S KISS Joseph Pride 9 51kg 99
16 1112x10x86 ARABIAN GOLD David Vandyke Chad Schofield 5 50.5kg 105
17 1212x84x63 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 3 50.5kg 101
18 0x2211x288 RUDY Helen Page Luke Tarrant (a) 6 50.5kg 101
19 x12N311x11 SUAVITO (NZ) Nigel Blackiston Corey Brown 1 50kg 109
20 x24280x621 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody Ms Kathy O’Hara 10 50kg 104
21e x11138x224 SWEYNESSE John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 7 50kg 105
22e 121×4343 KERMADEC (NZ) Chris Waller Glen Boss 19 50kg 105
23e 27x1080x57 AOMEN (IRE) Anthony Cummings 14 50kg 100
24e 3480×50466 MALAVIO Steve Englebrecht 24 50kg 99

Doncaster Mile History

First held in 1865 when Dundee took out the winning title, the Doncaster Mile’s fastest race time (since 1930) was recorded in 1979 by Belmura Lad with 1:33.7. The slowest race time recorded was 1:45.25 by Tuhitarata in 1942.

The Doncaster Mile and Epsom Handicap double is a challenge which has only been managed by one horse. Super Impose won the double twice in 1990 and 1991.

The ideal lead-up race is the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) held two weeks earlier and in the last thirty years Vision And Power (2009), Haradasun (2007), Racing To Win (2006) and Emancipation (1983) have all completed the George Ryder Stakes/ Doncaster Mile double.

Doncaster Mile Betting

The Doncaster Mile is always one of the most popular betting events on the Australian racing calendar because of the open nature of the Group 1 event. Favourites have a fair record in the Doncaster Mile, with More Joyous (2011), Haradasun (2007) and Racing To Win (2006) all winning as the punters elect in the last decade, but there have also been some upset results in the racing. Sacred Falls (2013), Vision And Power (2009), Patezza (2005) and Catalan Opening (1998) all won at lengthy odds, but the biggest upset in Doncaster Mile betting came when Row Of Waves won the 1985 edition of the race at Doncaster Mile Odds of $100.

Doncaster Mile Form

The Doncaster Mile form is always tough to analyse because there are generally horses coming from a variety of different form lines to contest the Group 1 event. The George Ryder Stakes is considered the key form race, but in recent years Doncaster Mile winners have had their final lead-up race in events like the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m), Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m), Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) and Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m).

Recent Doncaster Mile Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Doncaster Mile
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Doncaster Mile
1st Kermadec 1 minute 37.6 seconds
2nd Real Impact
3rd Royal Descent
Doncaster Mile
1st Sacred Falls 1 minute 39.6 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Weary
Doncaster Mile
1st Sacred Falls 1 minute 37.7 seconds
2nd Pierro
3rd Norzita
Doncaster Mile
1st More Joyous 1 minute 35.5 seconds
2nd Shoot Out
3rd Yosei
Doncaster Mile
1st Sacred Choice 1 minute 39.4 seconds
2nd Love Conquers All
3rd Bold Glance
Doncaster Mile
1st Rangirangdoo 1 minute 34.22 seconds
2nd Road To Rock
3rd Brilliant Light
Doncaster Mile
1st Vision And Power 1 minute 36.6 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd Whobegotyou
Doncaster Mile
1st Triple Honour 1 minute 38.6 seconds
2nd Casino Prince
3rd Pinnacles
Doncaster Mile
1st Haradasun 1 minute 38 seconds
2nd Mentality
3rd Divine Madonna
Doncaster Mile
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 34.1 seconds
2nd Johan’s Toy
3rd Bentley Biscuit
Doncaster Mile
1st Patezza 1 minute 35.9 seconds
2nd Court’s In Session
3rd Danni Martine
Doncaster Mile
1st Private Steer 1 minute 35.5 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Ambulance
Doncaster Mile
1st Grand Armee 1 minute 36.8 seconds
2nd Dash For Cash
3rd Boreale
Doncaster Mile
1st Sunline 1 minute 35.2 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Defier
Doncaster Mile
1st Assertive Lad 1 minute 35.9 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Weasel Will
Doncaster Mile
1st Over 1 minute 35 seconds
2nd Sunline
3rd Zastov