Apollo Stakes

The 2016 Apollo Stakes is a 1400m sprint held during the Autumn Racing Carnival.

Apollo Stakes News

Winx continues winning run with 2016 Apollo Stakes victory

Winx continues winning run with 2016 Apollo Stakes victory

Cox Plate winner Winx made it six wins on the trot to claim the Group 2 $250,000 Optus Business Apollo Stakes (1400m) at Randwick today.

Winx continued her winning run with a first up victory in the Apollo Stakes at Randwick. Photo by Steve Hart.

Winx was having her first run back from a spell after winning the Group 1 ...

The 2016 Apollo Stakes is a 1400m sprint event held at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in February each Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The Group 2 Apollo Stakes is a weight-for-age event worth $250,000 in prize money and plenty of stud value on top of that for the winner.

Many of the Apollo Stakes champions have come via the Group 2 Expressway Stakes (1200m) and will advance on to the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) in a few weeks.

The Apollo Stakes 2016 will run on Saturday 13th of February, 2016.

Apollo Stakes
Date: 13th of February, 2016
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000

2016 Apollo Stakes Field

The Apollo Stakes field usually features a talented range of sprinters from an assortment of preparations, with many trainers choosing to contest it first up. You can usually view the Apollo Stakes field from about midday onwards on the Wednesday prior to the race.

The 2016 Apollo Stakes field is uploaded here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 42x758701x WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Christian Reith 7 59kg 110
2 55x143121x MAGIC HURRICANE (IRE) John O’Shea James McDonald 5 59kg 107
3 31x075003x GRAND MARSHAL (GB) Chris Waller Jason Collett 6 59kg 106
4 52x0x3399x DIBAYANI (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Tye Angland 11 59kg 105
5 0212x0728x HAURAKI John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 2 59kg 104
6 210x09936x LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 8 59kg 104
7 1x711x6013 CENTRE PIVOT Peter Robl 3 59kg 102
8 15211x111x WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 1 57kg 116
9 141x98046x GUST OF WIND (NZ) John Sargent Brenton Avdulla 10 57kg 105
10 x120x281x2 SOLICIT Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 4 57kg 104
11 21x692330x BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 9 57kg 98

2016 Apollo Stakes Nominations

The Apollo Stakes nominations usually feature a fairly decent range of runners, with some genuinely top sprinters choosing to contest the race as part of their ongoing campaign. Traditionally announced on the Monday prior to the race, the Apollo Stakes nominations are always worth listening out for.

The 2016 Apollo Stakes nominations are published below.

Apollo Stakes History

The first recorded win of the Apollo Stakes was in 1977 by Visit. Originally held at Royal Randwick Racecourse, the event was moved to Rosehill in 2005.

Over the past three decades, the most successful jockey was L. Dittman with four wins in 1979, 1985, 1991 and 1993. Double winners of the Apollo Stakes are Juggler in 1996-97 and Sunline in 2000-01.

2005 winner Grand Armee holds the record for the fastest race time with 1 minute 21.06 seconds. The slowest winning race time was recorded by Red Nose in 1981 with 1 minute 28.70 seconds.

Recent Apollo Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Apollo Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Apollo Stakes
1st Contributer 1 minute 22 seconds
2nd Ninth Legion
3rd Weary
Apollo Stakes
1st Appearance 1 minutes 21.97 seconds
2nd Speediness
3rd Moriarty
Apollo Stakes
1st Alma’s Fury 1 minutes 27.32 seconds
2nd Tougher Than Ever
3rd Danleigh
Apollo Stakes
1st Rain Affair 1 minutes 22.3 seconds
2nd Shoot Out
3rd Danleigh
Apollo Stakes
1st Melito 1 minutes 22.2 seconds
2nd Hot Danish
3rd Centennial Park
Winning Edge Presentations Classic
1st Danleigh 1 minute 22.91 seconds
2nd Rangirangdoo
3rd Palacio De Cristal
Apollo Stakes
1st Tuesday Joy 1 minute 25.78 seconds
2nd Hurried Choice
3rd Gallant Tess
Apollo Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 24.33 seconds
2nd Tuesday Joy
3rd Falaise
Apollo Stakes
1st Desert War 1 minute 22.23 seconds
2nd Mentality
3rd Eremein
Apollo Stakes
1st Ike’s Dream 1 minute 22.15 seconds
2nd Shania Dane
3rd Desert War
Apollo Stakes
1st Grand Armee 1 minute 21.06 seconds
2nd Court’s In Session
3rd Desert War
Apollo Stakes
1st Private Steer 1 minute 23.54 seconds
2nd Excellerator
3rd Zanna
Apollo Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 22.49 seconds
2nd Hoeberg
3rd Carael Boy
Apollo Stakes
1st Ha Ha 1 minute 23.10 seconds
2nd El Mirada
3rd Tie The Knot
Apollo Stakes
1st Sunline 1 minute 25.45 seconds
2nd Celestial Choir
3rd Referral
Apollo Stakes
1st Sunline 1 minute 27.69 seconds
2nd Adam
3rd Hire