Australian Oaks

The 2017 Australian Oaks is set to run at Royal Randwick on Day 2 of The Championships on Saturday April 8, 2017.

Australian Oaks News

2017 Oaks Campaign for Dancing Hare

2017 Oaks Campaign for Dancing Hare

Co-trainer Lee Freedman is hoping the stable’s promising young filly Dancing Hare can develop into a genuine Oaks hope in 2017 when she reaches full maturity.

Trainer Lee Freedman (left) is keen to stretch filly Dancing Hare up to an Oaks distance during the autumn. Photo: Taron Clarke.

The $400,000 purchase from last year’s Magic Millions Gold Coast Yearling Sales ...

The ATC Australian Oaks 2017, also referred to as the ATC Oaks, is a Group 1 race for the best three-year-old staying fillies in the country. Held annually one week after the Australian Derby, the Australian Oaks is a 2400m classic race held at Royal Randwick Racecourse. As a set weighst race, all entrants carry 56kg with $1 million in total prize money on offer.

The Australian Oaks takes place during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and is held on one of the carnival’s biggest Group 1 race days. Conducted on the second Saturday in April on Day 2 of ‘The Championships’ the ATC Oaks is one of four Group 1 races on the card. The meeting also features the lucrative $4 million Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m), the $2 million Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) and the Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m).

There are a number of different lead-up races for fillies in the Australian Oaks field to come via including the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes (2000m) run the Saturday before and the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill in late March. The last filly to complete the Vinery Stud Stakes – ATC Oaks double was Heavenly Glow (2008).

The 2017 ATC Australian Oaks is set to run at Royal Randwick on April 8th, 2017. 

ATC Australian Oaks
Date: April 8th, 2017
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1 million

2017 Australian Oaks Field

Every autumn the Australian Oaks field attracts the season’s most promising filllies with the potential to run out a strong mile and a half (2400m). Racing NSW release the ATC Oaks final field on the Tuesday before the race runs as part of the stellar Queen Elizabeth Stakes Day action.

The official 2017 Australian Oaks field & barriers will be released on Tuesday April 4, 2017 and will be published in full below.

2017 Australian Oaks Nominations

The Australian Oaks nominations close on a Tuesday in early February around eight weeks before the Group 1 autumn feature is run and won. Usually Racing NSW receives over 100 ATC Oaks nominations at early entry stage.

The Australian Oaks 2017 nomiantions close on Tuesday February 7, 2017 and will be released below as soon as available.

2017 Australian Oaks First Acceptances

After the early entries close in February the Australian Oaks first declarations or acceptances are taken a month later in early March further narrowing down the list of potential runners in that season’s ATC Oaks field.

The 2017 Australian Oaks first acceptances are set to be released on Tuesday March 7, 2017 and will be available below.

ATC Australian Oaks History

First won by Uralla in 1912, the ATC Oaks was originally named the Adrian Knox Stakes until 1956. The race has undergone several distance changes with the field of horses running over 1 mile (approximately 1600m) between 1922 and 1945 and between 1946 and 1955 the event was raced over 10 furlongs (2000m).

Australian Oaks Records: (over 2400m)
Fastest Time: 2:28.80 – Serenade Rose in 2006
Slowest Time: 2:47.1 – Invade in 1978
Most wins by a Jockey: 6 wins – R Higgins (1962, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1974)

Recent Australian Oaks Winners

See below for a full list of Australian Oaks winners & results going back to 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
ATC Australian Oaks
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Sofia Rosa 2 minutes 34.2 seconds
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Gust Of Wind 2 minutes 32.40 seconds
2nd Winx
3rd Candelara
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Rising Romance 2 minutes 31.72 seconds
2nd Zanbagh
3rd Lucia Valentina
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Royal Descent 2 minutes 34.2 seconds
2nd Dear Demi
3rd Gondokoro
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Streama 2 minutes 31.0 seconds
2nd Aliyana Tilde
3rd Thy
ATC Australian Oaks
1st Absolutely 2 minutes 35.6 seconds
2nd Shamrocker
3rd Pinker Pinker
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Once Were Wild 2 minutes 33.3 seconds
2nd Faint Perfume
3rd Run For Naara
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Daffodil 2 minutes 30.43 seconds
2nd Think Money
3rd Miss Darcey
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Heavenly Glow 2 minutes 34.8 seconds
2nd Boundless
3rd Galileo’s Daughter
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Rena’s Lady 2 minutes 33.7 seconds
2nd Perfect Drop
3rd Tuesday Joy
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Serenade Rose 2 minutes 28.6 seconds
2nd Flora Danica
3rd Beauty Watch
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Dizelle 2 minutes 34.2 seconds
2nd She’s Justa Tad
3rd Gee That’s Tops
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Wild Iris 2 minutes 30.5 seconds
2nd French Lady
3rd Boulevard Of Dreams
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Sunday Joy 2 minutes 32.5 seconds
2nd Shower Of Roses
3rd Bramble Rose
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Republic Lass 2 minutes 31 seconds
2nd Elegant Fashion
3rd Quays
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Rose Archway 2 minutes 35.8 seconds
2nd Tempest Morn
3rd Asia
AJC Australian Oaks
1st Coco Cabanna 2 minutes 32.5 seconds
2nd Tributes
3rd Miss Zoe