Sydney Cup

The 2017 Sydney Cup is a Group 1 race run at Royal Randwick over two miles (3200m) on a Saturday in early April on Day 2 of 'The Championships'.

Sydney Cup News

2017 Sydney Cup Target for Tavago

2017 Sydney Cup Target for Tavago

Co-trainer Trent Busuttin confirmed the Sydney Cup 2017 during next April’s The Championships in Sydney was a likely autumn target for the stable’s ATC Derby winner Tavago.

ATC Derby winner Tavago will be aimed at the 2017 Sydney Cup during next autumn’s The Championships. Photo: Steve Hart.

Kiwi duo Busuttin and Natalie Young are now based at Cranbourne in ...

The Group 1 Sydney Cup 2017 is held on the final race day of the esteemed ‘The Championships’ during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Day 2 of ‘The Championshipos’ – also known as Queen Elizabeth Stakes Day – is one of the most exciting and valuable race days on the Australian racing calendar.

Held on the second Saturday of April the meeting is headined by four Group 1 races including the autumn’s richest race – the $4 million Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m). The other elite level features along with it and the Sydney Cup are the Group 1 ATC Oaks (2400m) for the three-year-old fillies and the Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) for fillies and mares.

The Sydney Cup is one of only a few Australian races run over the traditional cup distance of 3200m, the same as Australia’s most illustrious race the Melbourne Cup. This open handicap event is worth a very lucrative $2,000,000 and generally features some of the leading stayers in Australia.

As the premier staying event during the Sydney Autumn Carnival, the Sydney Cup attracts a high quality field of gallopers each year and notable winners include the three time Melbourne Cup winning mare Makybe Diva (2004), Tie The Knot (1998 & 1999) and Count Chivas (1996).

The best guide to the Sydney Cup in recent years has been the Group 2 Chairmans Handicap (2600m) held the Saturday before on Doncaster Mile Day. The Chairmans Handicap / Sydney Cup is a very popular betting double with the punters at the carnival. Horses to claim victory in both races include The Offer (2014), Jessicabeel (2010), No Wine No Song (2008), Henderson Bay (2002), Linesman (1997) and King Aussie (1990).

The 2017 Sydney Cup will take place on April 8, 2017 at Royal Randwick.

Sydney Cup 2017
Date: April 8, 2017
Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 3200m
Conditions: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $2 million
Inaugurated: 1862

2017 Sydney Cup Field

Each year the Sydney Cup field attracts the autumn’s top-class stayers many of which have had previous experience over the two miles either via an earlier year’s Sydney Cup or even the iconic Melbourne Cup run at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

The Sydney Cup 2017 field is set for release on Tuesday April 4, 2017 and will be published in full below as soon as available.

2017 Sydney Cup Nominations

The Sydney Cup nominations are first taken by Racing NSW on a Tuesday in early February about two months out from the race and can attract up to 100 stayers.

The official 2017 Sydney Cup nominations are set to close on Tuesday February 7, 2017 and will be released below.

2017 Sydney Cup First Acceptances

After nominations close in February the Sydney Cup first acceptances are taken four weeks out from the race on a Tuesday in early March, narrowing down the list of horses heading towards the $2 million classic.

The 2017 Sydney Cup first acceptances are set for release on Tuesday March 7, 2017 and will be listed below once announced.

2017 Sydney Cup Betting

Sydney Cup betting is notoriously difficult and, just like the Melbourne Cup, is always a very open race. In recent years favorites have a strong record in the Sydney Cup and the likes of Mahtoum (2005), No Wine No Song (2008), Ista Kareem (2009), Jessicabeel (2010), Niwot (2011) and The Offer (2014) have all given punters a positive result in the race. However, there has also been plenty of upsets in the history of the Sydney Cup including by the likes of Just A Dancer ($41 in 1991) and Grand Marshal ($41 in 2015).

Good Sydney Cup betting tips include looking for horses that ran top four in their lead-up runs and graduates out of the previous weekend’s Chairman’s Handicap at the Randwick track.

The 2017 Sydney Cup odds will be listed below as soon as released by in the lead-up to the two mile classic.

2017 Sydney Cup Form

The Sydney Cup form is often very easy to follow as most horses contest either the Group 2 Chairman’s Handicap (2600m) or Group 1 The BMW (2400m) in the lead-up to the race. The Chairman’s Handicap remains the key Sydney Cup form race.

The full 2017 Sydney Cup form guide will be listed below closer to the autumn’s ‘The Championships’ in April, 2017.

Sydney Cup History

The Sydney Cup was first run in 1862 as a Principal race over 16 furlongs, and Talleyrand won the inaugural race. The distance and conditions of the Sydney Cup remained the same for over a century until Australia’s adoption of the metric system caused the length to be converted to 3200m in 1973. In 1980 the Sydney Cup was elevated to Group 1 status.

The event has gone by a number of different names over the years including the Randwick Grand Handicap, Randwick Grand Handicap Sweepstakes and the Sydney Gold Cup.

Sydney Cup Records
Time Record: 3:19.0 set by Apollo Eleven in 1973 and equalled by Just A Dancer in 1991.
Most Heavily Weighted Winner (since 1970): My Good Man with 60kg in 1978.
Lightest Weighted Winner (since 1970): Palace Revolt with 48.5kg in 1989.

Recent Sydney Cup Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Sydney Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Sydney Cup
1st Gallante 3 minutes 24.5 seconds
2nd Libran
3rd Grand Marshal
Sydney Cup
1st Grand Marshal 3 minutes 24.70 seconds
2nd Who Shot Thebarman
3rd Like A Carousel
Sydney Cup
1st The Offer 3 minutes 23.86 seconds
2nd Opinion
3rd Sertorius
Sydney Cup
1st Niwot 3 minutes 20.4 seconds
2nd Efficient
3rd Once Were Wild
Sydney Cup
1st Mourayan 3 minutes 24.29 seconds
2nd Norsqui
3rd Aliyana Tide
Sydney Cup
1st Stand To Gain 3 minutes 29.1 seconds
2nd Older Than Time
3rd Solid Billing
Sydney Cup
1st Jessicabeel 3 minutes 21.86 seconds
2nd Divine Rebel
3rd Harris Tweed
Sydney Cup
1st Ista Kareem 3 minutes 27.4 seconds
2nd Divine Rebel
3rd Mr Tipsy
Sydney Cup
1st No Wine No Song 3 minutes 25.5 seconds
2nd Pentathon
3rd Lang
Sydney Cup
1st Gallic 3 minutes 27.3 seconds
2nd Irazu
3rd No Wine No Song
Sydney Cup
1st County Tyrone 3 minutes 22.6 seconds
2nd Zabeat
3rd Three Chimneys
Sydney Cup
1st Mahtoum 3 minutes 27.6 seconds
2nd County Tyrone
3rd Philosophe
Sydney Cup
1st Makybe Diva 3 minutes 21.1 seconds
2nd Manawa King
3rd Mummify
Sydney Cup
1st Honor Babe 3 minutes 30.5 seconds
2nd County Tyrone
3rd Grey Song
Sydney Cup
1st Henderson Bay 3 minutes 26.7 seconds
2nd Mr. Prudent
3rd Spirit Of Westbury
Sydney Cup
1st Mr. Prudent 3 minutes 26.9 seconds
2nd Prophet’s Kiss
3rd Starina
Sydney Cup
1st Streak 3 minutes 30.3 seconds
2nd Sharscay
3rd Ears’ Ronny