Australian Derby

The 2017 Australian Derby is also known as the ATC Derby and takes place over 2400m at Royal Randwick on Day 1 of The Championships in April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Australian Derby News

2017 Sydney Cup Target for Tavago

2017 Sydney Cup Target for Tavago

Co-trainer Trent Busuttin confirmed the Sydney Cup 2017 during next April’s The Championships in Sydney was a likely autumn target for the stable’s ATC Derby winner Tavago.

ATC Derby winner Tavago will be aimed at the 2017 Sydney Cup during next autumn’s The Championships. Photo: Steve Hart.

Kiwi duo Busuttin and Natalie Young are now based at Cranbourne in ...

The 2017 Australian Derby is a classic Group 1 race for three-year-olds. Held on the first Saturday in April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the race takes place at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Day 1 of ‘The Championships’. This is a classic Derby, raced over a distance of 2400 metres (a mile and a a half) and offers $2 million in total prize money.

As a set weights race, colts and geldings must carry 56.5kg and fillies must carry 54.5kg. The ATC Australian Derby is regarded as a prestigious event and attracts some of the greatest emerging stayers from around the country.

Run on Doncaster Mile Day the Australian Derby is one of four Group 1 races on the card along with the: $3 million Doncaster Mile (1600m), $2.5 million TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) and the $1 million ATC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m).

The date for the 2017 Australia Derby is Saturday April 1.

Australian Derby
Date: April 1, 2017
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: 3YO Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $2,000,000

The key lead up races for the Australian Derby are the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) held two weeks earlier and the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes (2000m) held one week before at Rosehill Gardens. The Rosehill Guineas – Australian Derby double has recently been achieved by the likes of It’s A Dundeel (2013) and Criterion (2014).

2017 Australian Derby Field

The Australian Derby field attracts a line-up of the season’s best three-year-old stayers. The majority of the horses that run in the ATC Derby field are colts and geldings, with the fillies generally running the following weekend in the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m) against their own kind.

The official 2017 Australian Derby field and barriers are set to be released by Racing NSW on Tuesday March 28, 2017 and will be published in full below.

2017 Australian Derby Nominations

Like all of the Group 1 races run at Randwick Racecourse on Doncaster Mile Day, the Australian Derby nominations close in early February around two months before the race takes place and often attract over 100 early entries.

The 2017 Australian Derby nominations close around Monday February 8, 2017 and will be published below as soon as released.

2017 Australian Derby First Acceptances

Following the nominations in February the first acceptances for all the top races on Day 1 of April’s The Championships close in the first week of March including those for the ATC Derby.

The 2017 Australian Derby first acceptances are set to be taken on Tuesday March 7, 2017 and will be listed in full below.

Australian Derby History

With names such as Phar Lap, Tulloch and Kingstown Town included in the list of race winners, it’s little wonder why this race is so highly regarded in the industry. First won by Kyogle in 1861, the event was titled the Randwick Derby Stakes. In 1865, it was changed to the Australian Derby Stakes and in 1994 it was given its current name.

The Derby was originally run over 1 1/2 miles however was changed in 1972 to 2400m to conform to the metric system. Between 1932 and 1956 geldings were banned from competing in the race.

See below for the full Australian Derby results going back to 2000.

Australian Derby Records
Time Record: 2:28.41 – Octagonal (1996)
Largest Winning Margin: 10 Lengths – Trident (1886)
Most wins by a Jockey: 6 Wins – Thomas Hales (1875, 1880, 1882, 1884, 1886, 1887)

Recent Australian Derby Winners

Year Place Horse Time
2017 Australian Derby 1st TBD TBD
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
2016 Australian Derby 1st Tavago 2 minutes 33.6 seconds
2nd Jameka
3rd Tally
2015 Australian Derby 1st Mongolian Khan 2 minutes 37.10 seconds
2nd Hauraki
3rd Volkstok’n’barrell
2014 Australian Derby 1st Criterion 2 minutes 38.49 seconds
2nd Tupac Amaru
3rd Hooked
2013 Australian Derby 1st It’s A Dundeel 2 minutes 33.49 seconds
2nd Philippi
3rd Kingdoms
2012 Australian Derby 1st Ethiopia 2 minutes 28.7 seconds
2nd Polish Knight
3rd Laser Hawk
2011 Australian Derby 1st Shamrocker 2 minutes 29.4 seconds
2nd Retrieve
3rd Anacheeva
2010 Australian Derby 1st Shoot Out 2 minutes 32.68 seconds
2nd Descarado
3rd Monaco Consul
2009 Australian Derby 1st Roman Emperor 2 minutes 31 seconds
2nd Harris Tweed
3rd Predatory Pricer
2008 Australian Derby 1st Nom De Jeu 2 minutes 36.2 seconds
2nd Red Ruler
3rd Littorio
2007 Australian Derby 1st Flumicino 2 minutes 36.4 seconds
2nd Ambitious General
3rd Tuesday Joy
2006 Australian Derby 1st Headturner 2 minutes 29.9 seconds
2nd De Beers
3rd Testafiable
2005 Australian Derby 1st Eremein 2 minutes 35.8 seconds
2nd Stella Grande
3rd Railings
2004 Australian Derby 1st Starcraft 2 minutes 34.8 seconds
2nd Braeloch
3rd Delzao
2003 Australian Derby 1st Clangalang 2 minutes 32.3 seconds
2nd Strasbourg
3rd Mummify
2002 Australian Derby 1st Don Eduardo 2 minutes 32.7 seconds
2nd Carnegie Express
3rd Pentastic
2001 Australian Derby 1st Universal Prince 2 minutes 30.8 seconds
2nd Sir Clive
3rd Danamite
2000 Australian Derby 1st Fairway 2 minutes 34 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Now Voyager