Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2017 is held on the Day 2 of The Championships, Saturday 8th April 2017, at Royal Randwick in Sydney. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a 2000m weight-for-age race that offers $4 million in prize money.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes News

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes: Winx vs Hartnell

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes: Winx vs Hartnell

Godolphin and head trainer John O’Shea have confirmed autumn plans with stable star Hartnell who is set to follow a similar campaign into the Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2017 as champion mare Winx.

Hartnell could be facing plenty more autumn racing heartbreak facing the country’s best Winx over the season in Sydney. Photo: Steve Hart.

Of the four Sydney Autumn ...

Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2017 is held on Day 2 of ‘The Championships’ during the prestigious Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival at the state’s premier track, Royal Randwick, on the second Saturday of April.

The Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes is run at weight-for-age conditions over 2000 metres and, after receiving a substantial prizemoney increase in 2013, is now worth a staggering $4 million in prize money. The Group 1 event generally draws the best weight-for-age horses from right around Australia and is expected to draw international runners in the coming years.

The 2017 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes will be run on April 8.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2017
Date: April 8, 2017
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: 3YO+ Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $4,000,000

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Odds

Early 2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes odds offered under all-in conditions are open at bookmakers weeks out from the race when the nominations are taken by Racing NSW.

Below are the early pre-field Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2017 betting odds provided by Ladbrokes.com.au.

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Field & Barriers

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes Field is released on the Tuesday before the race.

The 2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Final Field & Barriers will be released on Tuesday April 4, 2017 and will be published in full below.

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Nominations

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes nominations close a month out from the race in early February each autumn and attract up to 100 weight-for-age hopefuls after a share in the season’s richest race.

The 2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes nominations are due to close around February 6, 2017 and will be published below as soon as released by Racing NSW.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes History

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes has undergone plenty of changes since it was first run in 1851 when Cossack won the event. Up until 1872, the event was known as the Queen’s Plate and it was then changed to the AJC Plate. In 1954, the race was titled the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and has maintained that name ever since.

Originally raced over 4800m, the distance slowly decreased to 3600m, 2800m, 2400m, 2200m, and finally stopped at 2000m.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes Records (over 2000m)
Fastest Time: 2:01.22 – Intergaze in 1997
Slowest Time: 2:17.00 – Sydeston in 1990
Most wins by a Jockey: 3 wins – Damien Oliver (2002, 2007, 2008)

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is the feature weight-for-age race during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and has been won by some of the biggest names in the history of Australian racing. Archer (1862) was the first big name to win the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the race has since been taken out by equine legends like: Carbine (1889, 1890, 1891), Poseidon (1908), Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1932), Russia (1947 and 1948), Tulloch (1958, 1960 and 1961), Ming Dynasty (1978), Veandercross (1993), Doriemus (1996), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003) and More Joyous (2012).

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Betting

Queen Elizabeth Stakes betting is generally very interesting for punters as the Group 1 event has thrown up some interesting results in the past thirty years. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is well known for having short-priced favourites as many of the most successful and most popular horses in Australian racing have contested the race at the height of their powers. Class gallopers like Sydeston (1990), Rough Habit (1992), Veandercross (1993), Durbridge (1994), Jeune (1995), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2005) Eremein (2006) and More Joyous (2012) have all taken out the race as short-priced favourites, but there have also been a number of upsets. It’s A Dundeel was beaten by Reliable Man as an unbackable favourite in the 2013 edition of the race, while Sarrera won the race in 2008 at the lucrative odds of $51.

2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Form

The Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) and Group 1 The BMW (2400m) are generally considered the best Queen Elizabeth form lead-up races, but in recent years the winners of the Group 1 event have come from a wide variety of races. The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) and Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) have both developed into key lead-up races as the general standard of The BMW has dropped in quality.

Recent Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
2017 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st TBD TBD
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
2016 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st Lucia Valentina 2 minutes 4.8 seconds
2nd The United States
3rd Happy Clapper
2015 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st Criterion 2 minutes 05.4 seconds
2nd Red Cadeaux
3rd Royal Descent
2014 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st It’s A Dundeel 2 minutes 03.7 seconds
2nd Sacred Falls
3rd Carlton House
2013 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st Reliable Man 2 minutes 01.8 seconds
2nd It’s A Dundeel
3rd Happy Trails
2012 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st More Joyous 2 minutes 05.3 seconds
2nd Manighar
3rd Secret Admirer
2011 Queen Elizabeth Stakes 1st My Kingdom Of Fife 2 minutes 07.7 seconds
2nd Sacred Choice
3rd Syreon
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Road To Rock 2 minutess 3.89 seconds
2nd Triple Honour
3rd Monaco Consul
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Pompeii Ruler 2 minutess 7.12 seconds
2nd Sarrera (DH)
2nd Metal Bender (DH)
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Sarrera 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Nom du Jeu
3rd Tuesday Joy
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Desert War 2 minutes 4.2 seconds
2nd Haradasun
3rd Spirit of Tara
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Eremein 2 minutes 2.49 seconds
2nd Aqua d’Amore
3rd Ike’s Dream
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Grand Armee 2 minutes 2.66 seconds
2nd Delzao
3rd Mummify
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Grand Armee 2 minutes 3.26 seconds
2nd Lonhro
3rd Pentastic
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Lonhro< 2 minutes 4.8 seconds
2nd Pentastic
3rd Republic Lass
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Defier 2 minutes 4.34 seconds
2nd Freemason
3rd Emission
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Shogun Lodge 2 minutes 5.59 seconds
2nd Go Flash Go
3rd El Mirada
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Georgie Boy 2 minutes 7.76 seconds
2nd Cronus
3rd Referral