Tesio Stakes

The 2016 Tesio Stakes is a Group 3 mile event held at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

2016 Tesio Stakes Results

  • 1st: Kaniana
  • 2nd: Rocket Commander
  • 3rd: Alaskan Rose

Tesio Stakes News

Myer Classic Considered for 2016 Tesio Stakes Winner Kaniana

Myer Classic Considered for 2016 Tesio Stakes Winner Kaniana

Master trainer Darren Weir is considering a shot at the 2016 Myer Classic on VRC Derby Day with his upset Tesio Stakes winner on Cox Plate Day Kaniana. The six-year-old Canny Lad mare was at an outsider’s price to post her first win since mid-August in the $150,000 Group 3 Tesio Stakes (1600m) – running…

The 2016 Tesio Stakes is a Group 3 event held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne during the Spring Racing Carnival. This race is sometimes referred to as the Eliza Park International Stakes, and was previously known as the Inglis Mile.

In 2016 the Tesio Stakes runs as the Merlin Garage Door Openers Stakes.

Raced over 1600m, the Tesio Stakes is a handicap for mares aged four years and older and pays $150,000 in total prize money.

The Tesio Stakes is held on one of the nation’s biggest days of racing, Cox Plate Day. It shares a race program with a host of other Group races. These include the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m), Group 2 Moonee Valley Fillies Classic (1600m), Group 2 Moonee Valley Gold Cup (2500m), Group 2 Moonee Valley Vase (2040m), Group 2 Crystal Mile (1600m) and Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes (1200m).

Lead up races to the Tesio Stakes include the Group 3 How Now Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1400m).

Following the Tesio Stakes there are a variety of options for mares to take. The classier types might head to the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m), while the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes (2000m) is also a popular target for those mares not at Group 1 level.

The 2016 Tesio Stakes will be held on October 22nd.

Tesio Stakes 2016
Date: October 22nd, 2016
Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: 4YO+ Mares Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

Tesio Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Tesio Stakes odds are listed below, pricing provided by Ladbrokes.com.au.

Check out our insider 2016 Tesio Stakes Betting Tips now!

2016 Tesio Stakes Field

The 2016 Tesio Stakes field and barriers were released on Wednesday October 19 and feature a dozen hopeful mares including the Chris Waller-trained Angst Stakes runner-up Lady Le Fay and Ladies Day Vase second placed Rocket Commander.

Check out the full 2016 Tesio Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw below, following the link for an exclusive race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 x574126x52 LADY LE FAY (NZ) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 2 58kg 97
2 22333×3162 ROCKET COMMANDER Matthew Dale Ben Melham 11 57kg 94
3 3175x380x8 CORONATION SHALLAN Brett Scott Daniel Stackhouse 4 57kg 92
4 141282×309 MANAGERESS Cindy Alderson Nicholas Hall 12 57kg 92
5 3242372×56 METAPHORICAL David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Currie 6 57kg 91
6 x581804x20 EVERY FAITH Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 10 57kg 87
7 6x611x5073 ANTELUCAN John O’Shea James McDonald 1 57kg 85
8 14×6751426 KANIANA Darren Weir Damian Lane 5 57kg 84
9 6732087×15 ALASKAN ROSE (NZ) Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 3 57kg 81
10 6001362137 DULVERTON Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 8 57kg 75
11 22325×121 ST SWITHUNS Ciaron Maher Luke Nolen 9 57kg 67
12 55x1426x7 WHIRLPOOL Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison Stephen Baster 7 57kg 64

2016 Tesio Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tesio Stakes nominations were released by Racing Victoria on Monday October 17 and feature 17 mares led by last start Stocks Stakes winner at the track and distance Don’t Doubt Mamma.

See below for the official 2016 Tesio Stakes Nominations before following the link for a more detailed preview of the early entries.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 3x1210x511 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA M 4 Tony McEvoy 1 59kg 105
2 49x2515x05 ZANBAGH M 6 John P Thompson 2 56.5kg 100
3 x574126x52 LADY LE FAY (NZ) M 6 Chris Waller 3 55kg 97
4 111x ABBEY MARIE M 4 Michael Kent 4 55kg 97
5 22333×3162 ROCKET COMMANDER M 5 Matthew Dale 5 54kg 94
6 141282×309 MANAGERESS M 5 Cindy Alderson 6 54kg 92
7 3175x380x8 CORONATION SHALLAN M 7 Brett Scott 7 54kg 92
8 3242372×56 METAPHORICAL M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 8 54kg 91
9 x581804x20 EVERY FAITH M 6 Robert Smerdon 9 54kg 87
10 6x611x5073 ANTELUCAN M 4 John O’Shea 10 54kg 85
11 416448×413 TIDY PROPHET M 6 Will Clarken 11 54kg 84
12 14×6751426 KANIANA M 6 Darren Weir 12 54kg 84
13 6732087×15 ALASKAN ROSE (NZ) M 4 Michael Moroney 13 54kg 81
14 30x60x3611 SNAKE CHARMER M 5 Phillip Stokes 14 54kg 77
15 6001362137 DULVERTON M 4 Robert Smerdon 15 54kg 75
16 22325×121 ST SWITHUNS M 4 Ciaron Maher 16 54kg 67
17 55x1426x7 WHIRLPOOL M 4 Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 17 54kg 64

Tesio Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1988, the Tesio Stakes has seen quite a few classy mares pass through. The Tesio Stakes was a listed race between its inception in 1988 and 1993. In 1994, it gained Group 3 status, which it has retained since.

There was a dead heat for two years running. In 2007, Maslins Beach and Autumn Jeuney tied at the post, with Miss Badoura and Bird Of Fire doing the same in 2008. The 2008 edition also saw the next two runners, Permission To Land and Princess Marizza, tie for third only 0.2 lengths off the lead.

The Tesio Stakes has seen a lot of name changes over the years. In 1990 it was known as the BMW Australia Stakes, and in 1991 and 1992 it was known as the Dalgety Breeders’ Plate. In 1993 the race was again sponsored by BMW and was known as the BMW Plate. Between 1994 and 2004 it reverted to its original name, the Tesio Stakes. Following that, it became known as the Inglis Mile. In 2013 and 2014, the Tesio Stakes was known as the Eliza Park International Stakes.

Notable Tesio Stakes winners include Voltage (1988), Bold Alliance (1992), Zanna (2003), Lady Lynette (2009, 10) and Catkins (2013). Tesio Stakes results since 2000, along with winning times, are listed below.

Tesio Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Tesio Stakes
1st Kaniana 1 minute 39.17 seconds
2nd Rocket Commander
3rd Alaskan Rose
Tesio Stakes
1st Coronation Shallan 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Azkadellia
3rd Lucky Lago
Tesio Stakes
1st Suavito 1 minute 35.6 seconds
2nd Precious Gem
3rd You’re So Good
Tesio Stakes
1st Catkins 1 minute 37.7 seconds
2nd Cameo
3rd Lake Sententia
Tesio Stakes
1st Star Of Giselle 1 minute 35.7 seconds
2nd Tavarnelle
3rd Spirit Song
Tesio Stakes
1st Ocean Challenger 1 minute 38.7 seconds
2nd Hi Belle
3rd Lady Lynette
Tesio Stakes
1st Lady Lynette 1 minute 36.7 seconds
2nd Delta Gee
3rd Music Review
Tesio Stakes
1st Lady Lynette 1 minute 36.2 seconds
2nd Moment Of Time
3rd Pink Shimmer
Tesio Stakes
=1st Miss Badoura 1 minute 36.5 seconds
=1st Bird Of Fire
=3rd Permission To Land/Princess Marizza
Tesio Stakes
1st Autumn Jeuney 1 minute 36.9 seconds
2nd Game Serena
3rd Maslins Beach
Tesio Stakes
1st Valkyrie Diva 1 minute 37.5 seconds
2nd Benko
3rd Celtic Bloom
Tesio Stakes
1st Matras 1 minute 38.6 seconds
2nd Hennessy Waltz
3rd Ballybleue
Tesio Stakes
1st Joy Of Flight 1 minute 36.7 seconds
2nd Galvanized
3rd Loyal Lauren
Tesio Stakes
1st Zanna 1 minute 38.8 seconds
2nd Sweet Corn
3rd My Fraarlein
Tesio Stakes
1st Gentle Genius 1 minute 36.6 seconds
2nd Paris Heartbeat
3rd Rosa Marada
Tesio Stakes
1st La Bella Dama 1 minute 37.1 seconds
2nd Its Platonic
3rd Oregon Seal
Tesio Stakes
1st Oregon Seal 1 minute 40.0 seconds
2nd Super Sequel
3rd Nova Clause