Red Anchor Stakes

The 2016 Red Anchor Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

2016 Red Anchor Stakes Results

  • 1st: Archives
  • 2nd: Crafted
  • 3rd: Big John Cannon

Red Anchor Stakes News

2016 Telstra Phonewords Stakes Results: Archives Narrow Winner

2016 Telstra Phonewords Stakes Results: Archives Narrow Winner

Despite doing it the tough way the Telstra Phonewords Stakes 2016 winner Archives saluted for the punters on Cox Plate Day earning a shot at a Melbourne Cup Carnival run at Flemington next week. The John O’Shea-trained Godolphin galloper was the one to beat in the $150,000 Group 3 Telstra Phonewords Stakes (1200m) – formerly…

The Group 3 2016 Red Anchor Stakes is a 1200m sprint held at Moonee Valley Racecourse during the Spring Racing Carnival.

Held under set weights with penalties conditions, the Red Anchor Stakes is restricted to three year old runners.

In 2016 the Red Anchor Stakes is known as the Telstra Phonewords Stakes for sponsorship purposes.

The Red Anchor Stakes is held on Cox Plate Day alongside a host of other Group status spring features. These include the renowned $3 million Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m), the Group 2 Moonee Valley Fillies Classic (1600m), Group 2 Moonee Valley Gold Cup (2500m), Group 2 Moonee Valley Vase (2040m), Group 2 Crystal Mile (1600m) and Group 3 Tesio Stakes (1600m).

Classier types tend to perform well under the set weights plus penalties conditions of the Red Anchor Stakes. Some fairly decent young horses have gotten up over Group 1 types in recent years, so when punting don’t be too quick to immediately jump on the well known horses.

Horses tend to target the Red Anchor Stakes following runs in races with similar conditions and similar distances. There are no clear patterns in regards to lead up races, but as a general rule it pays to keep an eye on the Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes, the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes and any non black type sprints restricted to three year olds.

Following the Red Anchor Stakes, some fillies go on to the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m), run a week later at Flemington Racecourse on VRC Derby Day.

The 2016 Red Anchor Stakes will be held on October 22nd.

Red Anchor Stakes 2016
Date: October 22nd, 2016
Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO SW+P
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

Red Anchor Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Red Anchor Stakes betting odds are listed below with links to the full markets at

Read our insider 2016 Red Anchor Stakes Betting Tips now!

2016 Red Anchor Stakes Field

The Red Anchor Stakes field tends to attract three year olds who have had fairly extensive preparations already that season. Horses that run in the Red Anchor Stakes field usually do so following several black type races already that season. It’s worth keeping an eye on the Red Anchor Stakes field, because you’ll often see some of the three year olds that run in it pop up later in black type races.

The 2016 Red Anchor Stakes field and barriers were released on Wednesday October 19 and features a dozen three-year-olds including the well-supported Darren Weir-trained favourite Ken’s Dream.

See below for the full 2016 Red Anchor Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw, following the link for the full race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 1124 KEN’S DREAM Darren Weir Mark Zahra 10 57kg 74
2 31×29 ARCHIVES John O’Shea James McDonald 9 57kg 79
3 7x765x4762 DALRADIAN Darren Weir TBA 12 56kg 76
4 20212×2207 HIGHLAND BEAT David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 7 56kg 73
5 414×253 DAM READY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Currie 3 56kg 66
6 26×221 PALLADIAN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 4 56kg 63
7 11 MATTY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Andrew Mallyon 1 56kg 67
8 3×120 INVINCIBLE JOY Clinton McDonald TBA 11 56kg 62
9 4×12 TERINDAH Robbie Griffiths Jye McNeil (a) 8 56kg 63
10 32 CRAFTED John Hyam Vlad Duric 5 56kg 60
11 6 BIG JOHN CANNON Jim Conlan Michael Walker 6 56kg 59
12 434221 THE VEAL THING Michael Cornish & Donna Gaskin Ms Katelyn Mallyon 2 54kg 62

2016 Red Anchor Stakes Nominations

The Red Anchor Stakes nominations come out on the Monday prior to the race. You’ll usually find a fairly extensive list of talented three year olds on the Red Anchor Stakes nominations, although often there are some fairly standard runners on there too.

The 2016 Red Anchor Stakes nominations were taken on Monday October 17 and feature 18 three-year-olds including Blue Sapphire Stakes placegetter Derryn.

See below for the full Red Anchor Stakes nominations before the field is out and markets updated.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 210×585 MANOLO BLAHNIQ (NZ) C 3 Tony Noonan 1 57.5kg 74
2 1124 KEN’S DREAM C 3 Darren Weir 2 57kg 74
3 31×29 ARCHIVES C 3 John O’Shea 3 57kg 79
4 7x765x4762 DALRADIAN C 3 Darren Weir 4 56kg 76
5 20212×2207 HIGHLAND BEAT C 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 5 56kg 73
6 6×1203 DERRYN C 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 6 56kg 75
7 22x8212x4 CURVATURE C 3 Lee & Anthony Freedman 7 56kg 64
8 414×253 DAM READY G 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 8 56kg 66
9 17x722x10 BRULEE F 3 Peter Robl 9 54kg 71
10 26×221 PALLADIAN C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 10 56kg 63
11 11 MATTY G 3 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 11 56kg 67
12 434221 THE VEAL THING F 3 Michael Cornish & Donna Gaskin 12 54kg 62
13 4×12 TERINDAH C 3 Robbie Griffiths 13 56kg 63
14 214x BIASED WITNESS C 3 Robert Smerdon 14 56kg 63
15 3×120 INVINCIBLE JOY G 3 Clinton McDonald 15 56kg 62
16 1 ENIGMAN C 3 Ciaron Maher 16 56kg 63
17 32 CRAFTED G 3 John Hyam 17 56kg 60
18 6 BIG JOHN CANNON C 3 Jim Conlan 18 56kg 59

Red Anchor Stakes History

The Red Anchor Stakes was inaugurated in 1985, with Seiger taking out the first edition. Since then, the Red Anchor Stakes has provided classy three year olds with an opportunity to showcase their skills against other horses of similar levels of skill.

The Red Anchor Stakes has always been held over 1200m. Between the years of 1990 and 2005 the race ran as the CS Hayes Stakes. Between 2006 and 2011 it was referred to as the City Pacific Finance Stakes. Following that, it adopted the name Telstra Phonewords Stakes.

Notable Red Anchor Stakes winners include Rubiton (1986), Sequalo (1993), Yell (2002), Royal Asscher (2007) and Karuta Queen (2011). Red Anchor Stakes results and winning times are listed below.

Red Anchor Stakes History

Year Place Horse Time
Coolmore Stud Stakes
1st Archives 1 minute 12.14 seconds
2nd Crafted
3rd Big John Cannon
Coolmore Stud Stakes
1st Holler 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Brockhoff
3rd Demonstrate
Coolmore Stud Stakes
1st Galaxy Pegasus 1 minute 9.9 seconds
2nd Law
3rd Nicoscene
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Thermal Current 1 minute 11.3 seconds
2nd Not Listenin’tome
3rd Selectify
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Hidden Warrior 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Haussmann
3rd Chosen Moment
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Karuta Queen 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Miss Stellabelle
3rd Amah Rock
Red Anchor Stakes
1st That’s Not It 1 minute 11.6 seconds
2nd Happy Trails
3rd Lone Rock
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Avenue 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Governance
3rd Broken
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Millbank 1 minute 11.1 seconds
2nd Gold In Dubai
3rd Montana Flyer
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Royal Asscher 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd El Mandon
3rd Wilsons Promontory
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Corton Charlemagne 1 minute 11.6 seconds
2nd Fair Horizons
3rd Evacuate
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Coronga 1 minute 12.6 seconds
2nd Facing The Breeze
3rd Angkhasa
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Oratorio 1 minute 14.8 seconds
2nd Kingify
3rd World Peace
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Youth 1 minute 11.3 seconds
2nd Flagmentation
3rd Happy Strike
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 10.9 seconds
2nd Tycoon Ruler
3rd Before Too Long
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Deprave 1 minute 12.5 seconds
2nd Firm
3rd La Lagune
Red Anchor Stakes
1st Sound The Alarm 1 minute 12.1 seconds
2nd Wurabinda
3rd Senet Pete