How Now Stakes

The 2016 How Now Stakes is a Group 3 event held at Caulfield Racecourse.

How Now Stakes News

Secret Agenda is the Ladbrokes Odds Boost Stakes Winner

Secret Agenda is the Ladbrokes Odds Boost Stakes Winner

Secret Agenda has justified her resounding favouritism at Caulfield this afternoon; producing a particularly smarty turn of foot to take out the Group 3 Ladbrokes Odds Boost Stakes (1200m). Secret Agenda jumped from the gates only fairly this afternoon, but comfortably found an ideal position in transit on the heels of Shakespearean Lass and Miss…

The 2016 How Now Stakes is a Group 3 sprint race run at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse during mid-September each year. The How Now Stakes forms an integral part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is open only to mares aged four-years-old and over.

In recent years the How Now Stakes has been the second leg of the Sportingbet Sprint Series, and is referred to as “Heat 2”. The How Now Stakes shares the race card with the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes (2000m), the two Group 3s formerly part of the Underwood Stakes Day program.

The How Now Stakes is raced over 1200m and is held under set weights with penalties conditions and offers $150,000 in total prize money.

One of the better recognised lead-up races to the How Now Stakes is the Group 3 Cockram Stakes (1200m) in August, run over 1200m. The Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m) run a week earlier under the same conditions is also a good indicator of mares likely to remain in Melbourne to contest the How Now Stakes.

The 2016 How Now Stakes will be run on September 17th.

How Now Stakes
Date: September 17th, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1,200m
Race Type: 4YO&UP Mares SWP
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 How Now Stakes Field

The 2016 How Now Stakes field and barriers were released on Wednesday September 14 and feature a final line-up of 11 mares including the returning Mick Price-trained Secret Agenda.

Check out the official 2016 How Now Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw – registered as the Ladbrokes Odds Boost Stakes – below complete with the latest How Now Stakes betting markets on offer from the race sponsor

2016 How Now Stakes Nominations

The 2016 How Now Stakes nominations were released by Racing Victoria on Monday September 12 and feautre 19 mares including the Robert Smerdon-trained Group 2 winner My Poppette.

View the full 2016 How Now Stakes Nominations & Ballot now.

How Now Stakes History

The How Now Stakes was inaugurated in 1999, with Snippet’s Lass taking out the race that year. While the How Now Stakes doesn’t hold the long and storied history of other Caulfield events, it still stands up on its own as a respectable and worthy event.

In 2005 there was a dead heat between Sarah Michelle and Brindabella. In the same year, the How Now Stakes was upgraded from a listed race to a Group 3 event, a status it has retained since.

The How Now Stakes has been known by a variety of names throughout its short history. These include the Cranbourne Diahatsu Stakes, Dubai Convention Bureau Stakes, Dubai International Stakes and Emirates Racing Association Stakes. In 2006, the How Now Stakes returned to its correct name. Then in 2013, the race became known as the Sportingbet Sprint Series Heat 2, a name that it continued to hold throughout 2014.

Notable How Now Stakes winners include Piavonic (2000), Valentine Miss (2010) and Catkins (2013). How Now Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

How Now Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
How Now Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
How Now Stakes
1st Secret Agenda 1 minute 12.2 seconds
2nd Every Faith
3rd Exclusive Lass
How Now Stakes
1st Politeness 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Griante
3rd Jessy Belle
How Now Stakes
1st Girl Guide 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd A Time For Julia
3rd Shamal Wind
How Now Stakes
1st Catkins 1 minute 12.5 seconds
2nd Hi Belle
3rd Flash Of Doubt
How Now Stakes
1st Detours 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Classy Chloe
3rd Mrs Onassis
How Now Stakes
1st Sister Madly 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Valentine Miss
3rd Lone Rock
How Now Stakes
1st Valentine Miss 1 minute 9.3 seconds
2nd I’m A Hussy
3rd Red Flair
How Now Stakes
1st Velocitea 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Neroli
3rd Dollops
How Now Stakes
1st Vivacious Spirit 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Benatar
3rd Vormista
How Now Stakes
1st Miss Judgement 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Juste Momente
3rd Flying Object
How Now Stakes
1st Queen Of The Hill 1 minute 10.9 seconds
2nd Megadeal
3rd Nuclear Free
How Now Stakes
=1st Sarah Michelle 1 minute 13.9 seconds
=1st Brindabella
3rd Little Chloe
How Now Stakes
1st Strikeline 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Solar Antiquity
3rd Skewiff
How Now Stakes
1st Lovely Jubly 1 minute 9.0 seconds
2nd Infinite Grace
3rd Astaroth
How Now Stakes
1st Taimana 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Calming
3rd Galapagos Girl
How Now Stakes
1st Miss Power Bird 1 minute 11.3 seconds
2nd Purple Groove
3rd Dynamic Love
How Now Stakes
1st Piavonic 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Nova Clause
3rd Clemens Belle