Cox Plate

The 2016 Cox Plate is considered the premier weight-for-age championship in Australia. Held every year at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, it is one of the highlights of the Spring Racing Carnival. The date for the 2016 Cox Plate is Saturday 22 October, 2016.

Cox Plate News

2016 Underwood Stakes Winner Black Heart Bart to Take on Winx

2016 Underwood Stakes Winner Black Heart Bart to Take on Winx

Proving a weight-for-age star over the 1800m with a runaway Underwood Stakes 2016 win at Caulfield Racecourse on the weekend has set up a scintillating showdown next start for Black Heart Bart with Australia’s best racehorse Winx.

2016 Underwood Stakes winner Black Heart Bart (pictured in the Memsie Stakes) will take on Winx next start in the Ladbrokes Caulfield ...

The Cox Plate 2016 is the premier weight-for-age race in Australia and is known as Australasia’s weight-for-age championship. This Group 1 race is run over 2040m on turf at Moonee Valley Racecourse in late October each year and is held as part of the illustrious Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Worth over $3 million, the race attracts the champion gallopers from across the globe competing for the richest weight-for-age prize in Australia and is the second of the three Spring Majors following the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) the Saturday before.

The Cox Plate is often referred to as “the race where legends are made” and has been won by many turf greats over the years including So You Think (2009-10) who was the last dual Cox Plate winner.

In 2014 the then Aidan O’Brien-trained Adelaide became the first Northern Hemisphere-trained Cox Plate winner and since then the number of international Cox Plate nominations continues to rise.

2015 Cox Plate Results

  • 1st: Winx
  • 2nd: Criterion
  • 3rd: Highland Reel

The 2016 Cox Plate will be held on Saturday 22 October 2016.

Cox Plate 2016
Date: Saturday 22 October 2016
Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 2040m
Status: Group 1
Conditions: Standard Weight-For-Age
Prize Money: $3 million
Age: 3 year olds and over

The 2016 WS Cox Plate is one of the most highly bet on and anticipated races in the country. Cox Plate betting is also popular with the punters as it is included in some of the major betting doubles in the Spring Carnival. Punters often indulge in the Cox Plate – Melbourne Cup double, but only six horses have won achieved the feat with Makybe Diva, Might and Power, Saintly, Nightmarch, Phar Lap and Rising Fast. Rising Fast is an especially notable winner as he is the only horse in history to also have won the Caulfield Cup in the same year, taking out this feature treble in 1954.

The race’s position towards the end of the Spring Carnival means punters have a plethora of trials and lead-up runs to consider the entries’ Cox Plate form and chances of success in the 2016 Cox Plate. There are a range of different events the final Cox Plate field may come via, including three-years-old hopefuls coming out of the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) a fortnight before. Earlier races to watch as an indication for the Cox Plate include the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) in September, the Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) and the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m).

A change of scheduling for the Melbourne Cup Carnival from 2016 saw the race formerly known as the Mackinnon Stakes and run on Victoria Derby Day moved to the first Saturday of November and raced as the new Group 1 Emirates Stakes (2000m) in a bid to attract more Cox Plate graduates.

2016 Cox Plate Betting: Futures Market

2016 Cox Plate nominations closed on Saturday August 2 and attracted 157 early entries, all-in betting for which is now available at at generous futures Cox Plate odds.

2016 Cox Plate Field

The Cox Plate field represents the best weight-for-age hopefuls from around Australia and aboard. The official 2016 Cox Plate field is released by the Moonee Valley Racing Club (MVRC) on Tuesday October 18, 2016, following a number of declaration stages of early acceptances.

Cox Plate Prize Money

In total the 2016 Cox Plate will have prize money and trophies valued at around $3 million. Here is an estimate based on previous years:

  • 1st – $1,800,000 and trophies valued at $38,000, $3,800, $3,800 and $3,800 plus $600 to owner, trainer, rider, breeder and groom
  • 2nd – $440,000
  • 3rd – $220,000
  • 4th – $130,000
  • 5th – $110,000
  • 6th – $100,000
  • 7th – $100,000
  • 8th – $100,000

2016 Cox Plate Odds

To get the best odds on the race, you will need to know a little about how the Cox Plate odds are decided. Our Cox Plate odds page gives you the information you need to pick favourites at long prices in the early odds, and it will feature the full Cox Plate odds when they likely become available a few days before Saturday 22 October 2016.

Cox Plate Form Guide

One of the best and cheapest tools you can use to improve your betting is a detailed Cox Plate form guide like you would find at an online bookie. Our page on the Cox Plate form guide will help anyone new to punting better understand how to read a form guide.

2016 Cox Plate Tips

You are better off learning to make your own Cox Plate tips than relying on tips you don’t understand from self-proclaimed experts. Our Cox Plate tips page will teach you the thinking behind tipping a horse as well as helping you to make smarter bets on the Cox Plate.

Previous Cox Plate Results

Looking at previous Cox Plate results can be helpful, given the number of horses who contest the race on multiple occasions. The Weight-For-Age conditions of the Cox Plate can make it problematic, though. We have a Cox Plate winners page and a Cox Plate results page for your perusal. This could help you in your betting picks or simply to settle arguments at the pub.

Cox Plate Betting

The art of Cox Plate betting can be tricky when you don’t know what you’re doing, but we are here to help. Our Cox Plate betting page has information on the many types of bets you can place, including advice on placing a Cox Plate trifecta, a Cox Plate quinella, a Cox Plate exacta, or a Cox Plate First Four bet. We also suggest the best online bookmakers to join for Cox Plate betting.

Free Bets on Cox Plate

If you aren’t already betting online, you’re missing out on fantastic free Cox Plate bets. Online betting sites offer new members incredible bonus bets that can be used to place massive wagers on the Cox Plate. Check out our favourite bookies like and for their free bet offers on the Cox Plate.