Millie Fox Stakes

The 2016 Millie Fox Stakes is a Group 2 event hosted at Rosehill Racecourse in late February or early March.

Millie Fox Stakes News

Canterbury Stakes Next for Millie Fox Stakes Winner First Seal

Canterbury Stakes Next for Millie Fox Stakes Winner First Seal

Talented mare First Seal has completed an ideal return to racing at Rosehill Gardens this afternoon; delivering a classy field a comfortable defeat in the Group 2 Millie Fox Stakes (1300m).

First Seal has returned for success in the Group 2 Millie Fox Stakes at Rosehill this afternoon. Photo: Steve Hart

First Seal was unlucky to miss the entire Spring ...

The 2016 Millie Fox Stakes, also known as the Millie Fox Quality Stakes, is a 1300m sprint held at the picturesque Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Open only to fillies and mares aged three years and older, the Millie Fox Stakes is run under quality conditions and pays a grand total of $175,000 prize money. Held as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the Millie Fox Stakes is a fantastic race from which to gauge form for races later in the year.

The Millie Fox Stakes shares its race card with two other Group 2 races and a duet of listed races. These are:

The Millie Fox Stakes is an exciting sprint event that garners considerable punting volumes and attracts a large number of race fans to the track. One of the better quality races restricted to fillies and mares, the Millie Fox Stakes is a great race to watch and always presents some great punting value.

Fillies and mares who race in the Millie Fox Stakes may have come from successful contention in the Group 2 Breeders Classic held at Warwick Farm. The Millie Fox Stakes can be used to gauge form for the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic.

The Millie Fox Stakes 2016 will run on February, 2016.

2016 Millie Fox Stakes
Date: February, 2016
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1300m
Race Type: 3YO&UP F&M Qlty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Millie Fox Stakes Field

The 2016 Millie Fox Stakes field will be published here, including jockeys and barriers.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 112x21226x FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 3 58kg 108
2 21226x159x CATKINS Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 4 57kg 110
3 0x1180x353 I’VE GOT THE LOOKS Peter & Paul Snowden Brenton Avdulla 1 54kg 99
4 04×3211664 TELEPATHIC (NZ) Chris Waller Jason Collett 5 54kg 98
5 817x55048x BALLET SUITE Chris Waller Tim Clark 6 54kg 85
6 86603278×2 PRESS REPORT Lee Curtis Ms Winona Costin (a) 2 54kg 84
7 141311175x SKYLINE BLUSH Anthony Cummings Kerrin McEvoy 7 54kg 80

Millie Fox Stakes Nominations

The Millie Fox Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Millie Fox Stakes History

The inaugural edition of the Millie Fox Stakes was held in 1996, with Chlorophyll taking out the race that year. The race is named after Millie Fox, the wife of renowned owner and breeder Stan Fox, for whom the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes is named. Millie was a big fan of horse racing, and took over management of her husband’s Nebo Lodge Stables following his death.

Initially a listed race, the Millie Fox Stakes was upgraded to a Group 3 event in 2007 and held that status until 2013. For the 2013 edition of the race, it was upgraded to Group 2. From its inception until 2006 the race was held over a distance of 1200m, as opposed to today’s 1300m. The race name has changed slightly over the years, varying from Millie Fox Plate to Millie Fox Handicap, but always retaining the name of Millie Fox.

Notable Millie Fox Stakes winners include Tivoli Dancer (2005), Montana Flyer (2010, 2011), and Red Tracer (2012, 2013, 2014).

Millie Fox Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Millie Fox Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Millie Fox Stakes
1st First Seal 1 minute 16.4 seconds
2nd Telepathic
3rd I’ve Got The Looks
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Catkins 1 minute 16.5 seconds
2nd Plucky Belle
3rd Avoid Lightning
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Red Tracer 1 minute 19.2 seconds
2nd A Time For Julia
3rd Lucky Lago
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Red Tracer 1 minute 19.7 seconds
2nd Risk Aversion
3rd Ladys Angel
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Red Tracer 1 minute 20.5 seconds
2nd Crafty Irna
3rd Older Than Time
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Montana Flyer 1 minute 16.3 seconds
2nd Graceful Anna
3rd Jersey Lily
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Montana Flyer 1 minute 16.8 seconds
2nd Chakvetadze
3rd Subtle Cove
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Neroli 1 minute 16.3 seconds
2nd Pravana
3rd Belong To Many
Millie Fox Stakes
1st November Flight 1 minute 16.4 seconds
2nd Absolutelyfabulous
3rd Swissac
Millie Fox Stakes
1st A Country Girl 1 minute 16.6 seconds
2nd Pasikatera
3rd Spinner’s Magic
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Wild Queen 1 minute 17.2 seconds
2nd Steflara
3rd Regal Cheer
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Tivoli Dancer 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Lil Elsa
3rd Johan’s Toy
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Seances 1 minute 09.7 seconds
2nd In A Bound
3rd Recurring
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Gentle Genius 1 minute 09.8 seconds
2nd Snow Hero
3rd Ancient Song
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Triko 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Vita
3rd Pirouettes
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Nanny Maroon 1 minute 08.9 seconds
2nd Stella Maree
3rd Poppett
Millie Fox Stakes
1st Verdict Declared 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Sorrento
3rd Zastov