Stan Fox Stakes

The 2017 Stan Fox Stakes is a Group 2 1500m for three year olds.

Stan Fox Stakes News

Revitalised 2017 Sydney Spring Carnival Confirmed

Revitalised 2017 Sydney Spring Carnival Confirmed

Racing NSW has today confirmed a number of changes to programming and prize money throughout the forthcoming 2017 Spring Racing Carnival. Headlined by the inaugural running of the $10 million The Everest (1200m) at Royal Randwick on October 14th, Racing NSW has restructured the Spring Carnival to favour sprinters, middle-distance horses and stayers, while also…

The Group 2 2017 Stan Fox Stakes is held at the tail end of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival on Golden Pendant Day in late September. Conducted at the esteemed Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, it is one of five group status races at the meeting; the others are the Group 3 Golden Pendant (1400m), Group 2 Shannon Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Gloaming Stakes (1800m) and Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality (2400m).

Named after the prolific New South Wales thoroughbred owner-breeder Stan Fox, the Stan Fox Stakes is a 1500m run for three-year-olds at set weights that is worth $200,000. It is seen as a high quality set weights event, and although it is not one of the carnival’s premier races, it still attracts a good standard of horses. Notable winners include Lonhro (2001), Kenwood Melody (1998), General Nediym (1997), Octagonal (1995) and Show County (1989).

Contending horses may have come via earlier races including the Group 3 Spring Stakes (1600m) at Newcastle or higher quality runners may be finishing off their Sydney spring campaign after competing in the premier three-year-olds’ race at the carnival, the $1 million Group 1 Golden Rose at Rosehill in August. A number of Golden Rose champions have ended with a win in the Stan Fox including Denman (2009), Court Command (2006) and Paratroopers (2005).

2017 Stan Fox Stakes
Date: September 9, 2017
Track: Rosehill Gardens
Distance: 1500m
Conditions: 3YO Set Weights
Weights: Colts & Geldings- 56.6kg / Fillies – 54.5kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
Inaugurated: 1975

2017 Stan Fox Stakes Field

The 2017 Stan Fox Stakes field and barriers were released by Racing NSW on Wednesday September 21 and featured just seven final acceptors. The Stan Fox Stakes field is now down to only six starters after the early scratching of the Chris Waller-trained High Mist who had the inside barrier. The Team Hawkes-trained Divine Prophet is the firming favourite in Stan Fox Stakes betting.

See below for the complete Stan Fox Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw complete with the updated Stan Fox Stakes odds provided by

2017 Stan Fox Stakes Nominations

The 2017 Stan Fox Stakes nominations closed on Monday September 19 and feature just eight three-year-old entries, including Good Standing and Divine Prophet who also feature in the early entries for the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m) in Melbourne on the same day.

View the official 2016 Stan Fox Stakes Nominations now.

Stan Fox Stakes History

The inaugural winner of the Stan Fox Stakes was Hydahban when the event was first held as a Principal race over 1200m in 1975.

The status and distance of the race remained the same up until 1981 when the length was increased to 1400m and then in 1985 it became a Listed race. Not long after in 1989 the event gained Group 3 status before finally being installed as a Group 2 event in 1996.

The race was not held in 2007 due to the outbreak of equine influenza in Australia at the time.

Stan Fox Stakes Records
Time Record (over current distance of 1400m): 1:21.7 set by Dynamic Love in 2000
Most Successful Jockey: Rod Quinn has won four Stan Fox Stakes with Big Treat (1977), From The Planet (1988), Lonhro (2001) and Ambulance (2003).

Recent Stan Fox Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Stan Fox Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Impending 1 minute 29.2 seconds
2nd Divine Prophet
3rd Good Standing
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Press Statement 1 minute 29.32 seconds
2nd Shards
3rd Rageese
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Shooting To Win 1 minute 29.16 seconds
2nd Scissor Kick
3rd Valentia
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Eurozone 1 minute 30.15 seconds
2nd Criterion
3rd Aussies Love Sport
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Kabayan 1 minute 31.97 seconds
2nd Albrecht
3rd Divine Moon
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Manawanui 1 minute 29.93 seconds
2nd Roma Giaconda
3rd Cocky Raider
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Decision Time 1 minute 23.19 seconds
2nd Top Drop
3rd Halekulani
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Denman 1 minute 23.82 seconds
2nd Run For Naara
3rd More Than Great
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Dreamscape 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Whitefriars
3rd Judge Me Not
Stan Fox Stakes
Race Not Held  
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Court Command 1 minute 22.13 seconds
2nd Antidotes
3rd Cinque
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 22.31 seconds
2nd Primus
3rd Testafiable
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Wager 1 minute 22.49 seconds
2nd Spirit Of Tara
3rd Swick
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Ambulance 1 minute 22.88 seconds
2nd Classy Dane
3rd Hasna
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Rare Insight 1 minute 24 seconds
2nd Magic Marvo
3rd Choisir
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 24 seconds
2nd Magic Albert
3rd Stylish Lass
Stan Fox Stakes
1st Dynamic Love 1 minute 21.7 seconds
2nd Sale Of Century
3rd Ateates