Silver Slipper Stakes

The 2017 Silver Slipper Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-olds heading towards the coveted Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill Gardens during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Silver Slipper Stakes News

Todman Stakes Next for Silver Slipper Winner Astern

Todman Stakes Next for Silver Slipper Winner Astern

Godolphin runner Astern has stamped himself as a serious 2016 Golden Slipper contender at Rosehill Gardens this afternoon; justifying his clear race favouritism to win the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes (1200m).

Astern was far too good for his rivals in the Group 2 Silver Slipper. Photo: Steve Hart

Leading Sydney hoop Hugh Bowman was given the ride on Astern ...

The 2017 Silver Slipper Stakes is a lucrative Group 2 race run in mid-late February during the prestigious Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, the Silver Slipper Stakes is one of three Group races at the meeting along with the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) and the Group 2 Millie Fox Stakes (1300m).

A 1100m sprint race for two-year-olds at set weights, the Silver Slipper Stakes offers $250,000 in prize money and is the first race solely for two-year-olds at the carnival.

Runners from the Silver Slipper Stakes are traditionally eyeing a run in the richest race in the world for their age group – the $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) back at Rosehill in March.

Before the Golden Slipper Stakes the horses out of the Silver Slipper Stakes field may run in a lead-up race like Canberra’s Group 3 Black Opal Stakes (1200m), or either the Group 2 Magic Night Stakes (1200m) for fillies or Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes (1200m) for colts & geldings the week before.

The Silver Slipper Stakes 2017 will be run on Saturday February 18.

2017 Silver Slipper Stakes
Date: February 18, 2017
Track: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
Distance: 1100m
Conditions: 2YO – Set Weights
Weights: Colts & Geldings – 56.5kg / Fillies – 54.5kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
Inaugurated: 1963

2017 Silver Slipper Stakes Field

The Silver Slipper Stakes field attracts the season’s best young sprinters heading towards bigger races for their age group over the autumn, and final acceptances close the Wednesday before the race takes place on Hobartville Stakes Day.

The 2017 Silver Slipper Stakes field and barriers will be published below on Wednesday February 15, 2017.

2017 Silver Slipper Stakes Nominations

The Silver Slipper Stakes nominations close on the Monday before the race each year and attract a host of promising two-year-olds.

The 2017 Silver Slipper Stakes nominations will be published below on Monday February 13, 2017.

Silver Slipper Stakes History

Eskimo Prince was the inaugural Silver Slipper Stakes winner when the race was first held in 1963. It began as a Principal race run over four furlongs, and was run over five furlongs for one year in 1970. With Australia’s adoption of the metric system in 1973, the race distance was converted to 900m.

In 1979 the Silver Slipper reached its current Group 2 status and then the race distance was increased to 1100m in 1984. Due to an outbreak of the equine influenza in Australia, the race was not held in 1997.

See below for a full list of Silver Slipper Stakes results going back to 2000.

Silver Slipper Stakes Records
Race Record (for current distance of 1100m): 1:02.90 set by Amelia’s Dream in 2008
Most Successful Jockey: D. Beadman has won five Silver Slippers with Honey Be Quick (1990), Strategic (1994), Domesday (2005), Plagiarize (2006), Shaft (2007).

Recent Silver Slipper Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Silver Slipper Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Astern 1 minute 4.1 seconds
2nd Defcon
3rd Mount Panorama
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Headwater 1 minute 4.4 seconds
2nd Voilier
3rd Mishani Honcho
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Mossfun 1 minute 6.2 seconds
2nd Press Report
3rd Risen From Doubt
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Sweet Idea 1 minute 6.3 seconds
2nd Whiskey Allround
3rd Charlie Boy
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Pierro 1 minute 6.8 seconds
2nd Hussousa
3rd Kyria
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Satin Shoes 1 minute 03.4 seconds
2nd Elite Falls
3rd Straight Gold
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Chance Bye 1 minute 4.28 seconds
2nd Ambers Waltz
3rd Zutara
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Melito 1 minute 3.85 seconds
2nd Sunday Rose
3rd Onemorenomore
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Amelia’s Dream 1 minute 2.9 seconds
2nd Hips Don’t Lie
3rd Glowlamp
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Shaft 1 minute 4.02 seconds
2nd Husson Lightning
3rd Murtajill
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Plagiarize 1 minute 3.97 seconds
2nd Boom Time Savings
3rd Five Ways
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Domesday 1 minute 3.96 seconds
2nd Flying Pegasus
3rd Dr. Green
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Ballybleue 1 minute 4.04 seconds
2nd Dane Shadow
3rd Esther
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Hasna 1 minute 3.96 seconds
2nd Polar Success
3rd Legally Bay
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Victory Vein 1 minute 5.21 seconds
2nd Chuckle
3rd Air Of Grace
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st Excellerator 1 minute 3.14 seconds
2nd Ha Ha
3rd Donna Natalia
Silver Slipper Stakes
1st French Braids 1 minute 3.67 seconds
2nd Kootoomootoo
3rd King Of Danes