Canterbury Stakes

The 2017 Canterbury Stakes is a Group 1 race held at Royal Randwick on Randwick Guineas Day during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Canterbury Stakes News

Global Glamour Makes All In Light Fingers Stakes 2017

Global Glamour Makes All In Light Fingers Stakes 2017

Global Glamour held-off a fast-finishing Foxplay to record a brave win in a thrilling edition of the 2017 Light Fingers Stakes at Royal Randwick this afternoon.

Global Glamour saluted for the punters in the 2017 Light Fingers Stakes. Photo: Steve Hart.

Global Glamour was drawn towards the outside of the Light Fingers Stakes and like his brother-in-law Tim Clark in ...

The 2017 Canterbury Stakes is a 1300m middle distance sprinting event held at Randwick Racecourse over the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Raced in early March under weight-for-age conditions, the Canterbury Stakes offers $500,000 in prize money.

The Canterbury Stakes is one of two Group 1 races held at Royal Randwick on Randwick Guineas Day along with the $1 million Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) for three-year-olds. There are a number of other Group status support races on the cards including the $500,000 Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m) for the sprinters.

The Canterbury Stakes is an ideal lead-up race to the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) held a fortnight later at Rosehill Gardens, with the winner of the Canterbury Stakes exempt from the ballot for the George Ryder Stakes. The last galloper to complete the Canterbury Stakes – George Ryder Stakes double was Pierro (2013).

Horses may come into the Canterbury Stakes field via an earlier autumn run in a host of lead-up sprints including the Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m) at Royal Randwick in February or the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) for the three-year-olds.

The Canterbury Stakes 2017 will be run on Saturday March 4.

Canterbury Stakes
Date: March 4, 2017
Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1300m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

2017 Canterbury Stakes Field

The Canterbury Stakes field attracts a line-up of the season’s best middle-distance sprinters and is announced on the Wednesday before Randwick Guineas Day each autumn.

The official 2017 Canterbury Stakes field and barriers will be published below on Wednesday March 1, 2017.

2017 Canterbury Stakes Nominations

The Canterbury Stakes nominations are the first indicator of the horses that will line-up in the Group 1 weight-for-age field on Randwick Guineas Day.

The full 2017 Canterbury Stakes nominations will be listed below as soon as released on Monday February 27, 2017.

Canterbury Stakes History

First won in 1929 by Amounis under jockey J. Munro, the Canterbury Stakes was originally a 6 furlong (approx 1200m) race until 1973 when it officially became a 1200m race. Thirty-one years later in 2004, the Canterbury Stakes became a 1300m event. However it was temporarily increased to 1550m in 2008.

Since 1979, the Canterbury Stakes held Group 2 status and has been won in three consecutive years by a single horse. Between 1930 and 1932, Holdfast managed to reach the finish line first each year. The race’s double winners include San Domenico (1950-51), Sky High (1961-62) and At Sea (1988-89). The most recent winner of the Canterbury Stakes / George Ryder Stakes double was Quick Flick in 1998.

For the 2013 edition of the race the Canterbury Stakes has been upgraded to Group 1 level. The prize money for the race was also upgraded from $175,000 to $350,000.

The most successful jockey in the Canterbury Stakes is Darren Beadman with seven wins in 1988, 1989, 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

See below for the full Canterbury Stakes results dating back to 2000.

Recent Canterbury Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Canterbury Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Canterbury Stakes
1st Holler 1 minute 15.4 seconds
2nd First Seal
3rd Kermadec
Canterbury Stakes
1st Cosmic Endeavour 1 minute 15.2 seconds
2nd Catkins
3rd Criterion
Canterbury Stakes
1st Appearance 1 minute 17.2 seconds
2nd Not Listenin’tome
3rd Red Tracer
Canterbury Stakes
1st Pierro 1 minute 15.99 seconds
2nd More Joyous
3rd Solzhenitsyn
Canterbury Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 18.4 seconds
2nd Monton
3rd Metal Bender
Canterbury Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 17.8 seconds
2nd Love Conquers All
3rd Demerit
Canterbury Stakes
1st Hot Danish 1 minute 16.47 seconds
2nd Mr Baritone
3rd Demerit
Canterbury Stakes
1st All Silent 1 minute 16.57 seconds
2nd Forensics
3rd Royal Discretion
Canterbury Stakes
1st Mentality 1 minute 32.28 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Sniper’s Bullet
Canterbury Stakes
1st Malcolm 1 minute 16.5 seconds
2nd Cheeky Choice
3rd Kosi Bay
Canterbury Stakes
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 16.18 seconds
2nd Patezza
3rd Dance Hero
Canterbury Stakes
1st Dance Hero 1 minute 17.04 seconds
2nd Falkirk
3rd Ike’s Dream
Canterbury Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 15.97 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd True Glo
Canterbury Stakes
1st Defier 1 minute 9.13 seconds
2nd Cosmic Rays
3rd Gordo
Canterbury Stakes
1st Empire 1 minute 10.32 seconds
2nd Diamond Dane
3rd Shogun Lodge
Canterbury Stakes
1st Shogun Lodge 1 minute 10 seconds
2nd Assertive Lad
3rd El Mirada
Canterbury Stakes
1st Easy Rocking 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Referral
3rd Guineas