Hobartville Stakes

The Hobartville Stakes is a Group 2 sprint held at Rosehill Gardens.

2017 Hobartville Stakes Results

  • 1st: Man From Uncle
  • 2nd: Echo Effect
  • 3rd: Comin' Through

Hobartville Stakes News

2017 Hobartville Stakes Winner Man From Uncle

2017 Hobartville Stakes Winner Man From Uncle

The Anthony Cummings-trained Man From Uncle continued a nice early autumn campaign posting another Group win in the Hobartville Stakes 2017 at Rosehill Gardens. The Uncle Mo gelding enjoyed a first-up victory at Randwick earlier in the month scoring the upset at $21 odds in the Group 3 Eskimo Prince Stakes (1200m). Racing at Rosehill…

The Hobartville Stakes is a Group 2 set weights race for three-year-olds run during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival in late February or early March each year.

Held at Sydney’s Rosehill Gardens Racecourse the Hobartville Stakes runs alongside the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes (1100m) for Golden Slipper-bound two-year-olds and the Group 2 Millie Fox Stakes (1300m) for fillies and mares.

The Hobartville Stakes now worth a lucrative $400,000 in total prize money is the ideal lead up race to Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) held a fortnight later.

As a set weights race over 1400m, colts and geldings must carry 56.5kg while fillies are required to carry 54.5kg in the Hobartville Stakes field.

Horses may run in the Hobartville Stakes first-up or come from an earlier autumn run in a race like the Group 3 Eskimo Prince Stakes (1200m) at the start of the month.

The Hobartville Stakes 2017 ran on Saturday February 18, 2017.

Hobartville Stakes
Date: February 18,
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO Set Weights
Weight: C&G 56.5kg F 54.5kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $400,000

2017 Hobartville Stakes Results

Check out the official 2017 Hobartville Stakes Results & Finishing Order below – a full rundown on the win by Man From Uncle found by following the link.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 5 MAN FROM UNCLE Anthony Cummings Jason Collett 7 56.5kg $5
2 7 ECHO EFFECT Kristen Buchanan Paul King 0.1L 5 56.5kg $7.50
3 4 COMIN’ THROUGH Chris Waller Ben Melham 0.9L 4 56.5kg $3.80F
4 8 BRYNEICH John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 2.1L 3 56.5kg $13
5 2 INFERENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 2.2L 6 56.5kg $6.50
6 1 PRIZED ICON James Cummings Glyn Schofield 2.3L 8 56.5kg $6.50
7 6 ACATOUR Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 2.6L 2 56.5kg $9
8 3 VELADERO Chris Waller Tim Clark 5.5L 1 56.5kg $11
9 9 ON THE SPOT Clarry Conners Tye Angland 7.2L 9 56.5kg $26

2017 Hobartville Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Hobartville Stakes 2017 odds and betting market links will be available below as soon as betting on the Randwick Guineas lead-up are released by Ladbrokes.com.au.

2017 Hobartville Stakes Field

The Hobartville Stakes field is usually announced on the Wednesday just before the race. As a set weights event for three year olds, the Hobartville Stakes field tends to attract a healthy range of young gallopers, each on the way to future success.

The 2017 Hobartville Stakes field and barriers will be published below on Wednesday February 15, 2017.

Check out the official 2017 Hobartville Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw below – clicking on the link for more on the acceptances led by returning Victoria Derby winner Prized Icon.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight Hcp. Rating
1 11x463351x PRIZED ICON James Cummings Glyn Schofield 8 56.5kg 108
2 21x11433x INFERENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 6 56.5kg 85
3 34x11144x4 VELADERO Chris Waller Tim Clark 1 56.5kg 84
4 121×5 COMIN’ THROUGH Chris Waller Michael Walker 4 56.5kg 81
5 123×1 MAN FROM UNCLE Anthony Cummings Jason Collett 7 56.5kg 80
6 13x1135x ACATOUR Peter & Paul Snowden TBA 2 56.5kg 76
7 1117×23 ECHO EFFECT Kristen Buchanan Paul King 5 56.5kg 70
8 21×17 BRYNEICH John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 3 56.5kg 70
9 0124×56 ON THE SPOT Clarry Conners Tye Angland 9 56.5kg 67

2017 Hobartville Stakes Nominations

The Hobartville Stakes nominations attract a host of the season’s top three-year-olds eyeing a run in the Randwick Guineas and are released on the Monday before the race.

The 2017 Hobartville Stakes nominations will be published here as soon as released on Monday February 13, 2017.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 11x463351x PRIZED ICON C 3 James Cummings 1 56.5kg 108
2 x710210x52 ATTENTION C 3 Peter & Paul Snowden 2 56.5kg 86
3 21x11433x INFERENCE C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 3 56.5kg 85
4 34x11144x4 VELADERO C 3 Chris Waller 4 56.5kg 84
5 121×5 COMIN’ THROUGH C 3 Chris Waller 5 56.5kg 81
6 123×1 MAN FROM UNCLE G 3 Anthony Cummings 6 56.5kg 80
7 2x1113x8 BEZEL C 3 John O’Shea 7 56.5kg 78
8 13x1135x ACATOUR C 3 Peter & Paul Snowden 8 56.5kg 76
9 1117×23 ECHO EFFECT G 3 Kristen Buchanan 9 56.5kg 70
10 511501×43 GENERALISSIMO G 3 Garry White 10 56.5kg 72
11 21×17 BRYNEICH C 3 John O’Shea 11 56.5kg 70
12 9x221x POTENT FORCE G 3 James Cummings 12 56.5kg 66
13 0124×56 ON THE SPOT C 3 Clarry Conners 13 56.5kg 67
14 10x ROCK AND SWING C 3 James Cummings 14 56.5kg 66
15 610x TRAVANCORE (NZ) C 3 Bryce Heys 15 56.5kg 62

Hobartville Stakes History

First won by Amounis in 1925, the Hobartville Stakes has a long history of winners which include great champions Lonhro and Shaftesbury Avenue. Originally a seven furlong race until 1972, the Hobartville Stakes became a 1400m event in 1973 and changed from a Principal race to a Group 2 event in 1979.

Since 1973, the fastest winning time for the Hobartville Stakes was recorded by Shaftesbury Avenue in 1990 with 1 minute 21.41 seconds while the slowest time was by 2000 winner Fairway with 1 minute 28.26 seconds.

See below for the full Hobartville Stakes results since 2000.

Recent Hobartville Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Hobartville Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Hobartville Stakes
1st Man From Uncle 1 minute 24.11 seconds
2nd Echo Effect
3rd Comin’ Through
Hobartville Stakes
1st Press Statement 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Le Romain
3rd Montaigne
Hobartville Stakes
1st Hallowed Crown 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Sweynesse
3rd Kermadec
Hobartville Stakes
1st Dissident 1 minute 25.84 seconds
2nd Atlante
3rd Savvy Nature
Hobartville Stakes
1st Pierro 1 minute 24.75 seconds
2nd Rebel Dane
3rd Proisir
Hobartville Stakes
1st Wild and Proud 1 minute 26.5 seconds
2nd Manawanui
3rd Moment of Change
Hobartville Stakes
1st Ilovethiscity 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Retrieve
3rd Skilled
Hobartville Stakes
1st Monton 1 minute 22.94 seconds
2nd Shoot Out
3rd Captain Sonador
Hobartville Stakes
1st Mic Mac 1 minute 22.93 seconds
2nd Caymans
3rd Desuetude
Hobartville Stakes
1st Serious Speed 1 minute 23.36 seconds
2nd Murtajill
3rd Turffontein
Hobartville Stakes
1st Mutawaajid 1 minute 23.33 seconds
2nd Gold Edition
3rd Upper Echelon
Hobartville Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 22.87 seconds
2nd De Beers
3rd Flying Pegasus
Hobartville Stakes
1st Outback Prince 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Eremein
3rd Dance Hero
Hobartville Stakes
1st Impaler 1 minute 23.82 seconds
2nd Allgunnadoit
3rd Handsome Ransom
Hobartville Stakes
1st Thorn Park 1 minute 22.46 seconds
2nd Hydrometer
3rd Shower Of Roses
Hobartville Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 23.58 seconds
2nd Athens
3rd Moonflute
Hobartville Stakes
1st Sir Clive 1 minute 26.42 seconds
2nd Debrief
3rd Fouardee
Hobartville Stakes
1st Fairway 1 minute 28.26 seconds
2nd Over
3rd Condotti