The TJ Smith

The TJ Smith, a Group 1 race run at Eagle Farm during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, is now called the JJ Atkins.

Called the Claret Stakes when it first ran in 1897, this Group 1 race for two-year-olds at set-weights over 1600m was named The TJ Smith after the renowned racehorse trainer TJ Smith. From 2013 the race will be called the J.J. Atkins to honour Queensland trainer Jim Atkins.

For more information on this race please visit JJ Atkins.