Newmarket Handicap

The 2017 Newmarket Handicap is a Group 1 sprint down the Flemington straight held in March during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival on Super Saturday.

Newmarket Handicap News

Spieth Leads 2017 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances

Spieth Leads 2017 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances

Luckless Sydney horseman Bryce Heys will attempt a maiden Group 1 win for a third time with stable star Spieth who is best-fancied sprinter among the Newmarket Handicap 2017 first acceptances.

Dual Group 1 runner-up Spieth is early favourite in 2017 Newmarket Handicap betting to win the Flemington Super Saturday sprint on March 11. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Racing ...

The Group 1 2017 Newmarket Handicap takes place on Flemington’s Super Saturday of Racing during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival in early March. The day also features the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) and a host of other Black-Type support acts for punters to enjoy a bet on at an online bookmaker such as

Raced down the 1200m straight of the world renowned Flemington Racecourse – known as the ‘straight six’ – the Newmarket Handicap offers $1.25 million in prize money and $5,000 in trophies.

Run under open handicap conditions the Newmarket Handicap field attracts the best sprinters from around the country.

The best lead-up races held earlier in the autumn for Newmarket Handicap horses include Flemington’s Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) and the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) at Caulfield.

The 2017 Newmarket Handicap will be run on Saturday March 11, 2017. 

Newmarket Handicap
Date: March 11, 2017
Racecourse: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,250,000

2017 Newmarket Handicap Betting & Odds

The latest Newmarket Handicap odds and market links to will be available below as soon as betting on the Flemington ‘Super Saturday’ sprint opens.

2017 Newmarket Handicap Field

The Newmarket Handicap field and barriers are released on the Wednesday before Super Saturday and attract a similar field to those that faced off earlier in the autumn in the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes and Oakleigh Plate.

The Newmarket Handicap 2017 final field and barrier draw will be published below as soon as available on Wednesday March 8, 2017.

2017 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances

The official Newmarket Handicap first acceptances close in late February a fortnight out from the Group 1 Flemington Super Saturday sprint run in March.

Check out the full 2017 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances below – following the link for more on the key entries including Black Caviar Lightning runner-up Spieth who leads all-in betting and the reigning champion The Quarterback.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 x6025x7542 BIG MONEY G 7 Rodney Northam 102
2 x1311x47x3 CHAUTAUQUA G 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 116
3 217x2602x8 COUNTERATTACK H 4 Chris Waller 102
4 62x600x211 DAL CIELO (NZ) G 4 Kris Lees 93
5 11x477x25 EL DIVINO C 3 Darren Weir 89
6 1118x15x EXTREME CHOICE C 3 Mick Price 110
7 15x16225x7 FAATINAH G 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 101
8 42156x323x FELL SWOOP G 5 Matthew Dale 108
9 1100x98x44 FLAMBERGE G 7 Darren Weir 112
10 2x123x11x7 FLYING ARTIE C 3 Mick Price 110
11 6x1x14x32 GUARD OF HONOUR C 3 Kris Lees 79
12 0x10113x34 HELLBENT H 4 Darren Weir 97
13 0x11134x31 HEY DOC G 3 Tony McEvoy 100
14 1x154231x2 I AM A STAR (NZ) F 3 Shane Nichols 105
15 121x1212x5 ILLUSTRIOUS LAD G 5 Peter Gelagotis 105
16 0834260335 INSPECTOR G 6 Peter White 85
17 1L0x55402x MISS PROMISCUITY M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 99
18 9x1x66735x MISSROCK F 3 Robbie Laing 81
19 x21x531x56 PEACOCK C 3 John O’Shea 75
20 5120x5x21x REDKIRK WARRIOR (GB) G 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 100
21 27x421152x SHEIDEL M 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 106
22 x0111x12x2 SPIETH (NZ) H 4 Bryce Heys
23 256x1213x3 STAR TURN C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
24 1536x143x1 SUPER CASH M 4 Andrew Noblet 103
25 1x11x113x9 SUPIDO H 5 Michael Kent 100
26 242x256Px1 TARGET IN SIGHT G 7 Joseph Pride 105
27 3x296x20x1 TERRAVISTA G 7 Joseph Pride
28 61539x146x THE QUARTERBACK G 6 Robbie Griffiths 110
29 61x26330x1 TIVACI H 4 Michael Moroney 105
30 13 VILLA ROSA F 3 Ciaron Maher 63
31 212311210x VOODOO LAD G 5 Darren Weir 107

2017 Newmarket Handicap Nominations

The 2017 Newmarket Handicap nominations will be provided below once announced by Racing Victoria in late January.

The Newmarket Handicap nominations are released over a month out from race day and allow for futures Newmarket Handicap betting to open at bookmakers like Following the nominations the Newmarket Handicap first declarations close in late February as the field begins to take shape.

Check out the official 2017 Newmarket Handicap Nominations by following the link.

Newmarket Handicap History

The Newmarket Handicap was first run in 1874 and won by Maid Of Avenel. The most famous Newmarket Handicap took place in 2002 when Rubitano took out the title. In the last few metres of the race there was less than a head’s distance separating the first six place getters; ending in an extremely close finish to the race.

Double winners of the Newmarket Handicap include Aspen in 1880-81, Gothic in 1927-28, Correct in 1960-61 and Razor Sharp in 1982-83. Since 1988 the fastest winning time was recorded by Black Caviar in 2011 with 1 minute 7.3 seconds. The slowest time was 1 minute 11.2 seconds by Special in 1988.

The Newmarket Handicap results going back to 2000 are listed in the table below.

Recent Newmarket Handicap Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Newmarket Handicap
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Newmarket Handicap
1st The Quarterback 1 minute 9.2 seconds
2nd Black Heart Bart
3rd Chautauqua
Newmarket Handicap
1st Brazen Beau 1 minute 09.2 seconds
2nd Chautauqua
3rd Terravista
Newmarket Handicap
1st Lankan Rupee 1 minute 09.3 seconds
2nd Spirit Of Boom
3rd Knoydart
Newmarket Handicap
1st Shamexpress 1 minute 08.2 seconds
2nd Moment Of Change
3rd Aeronautical
Newmarket Handicap
1st Hay List 1 minute 08.7 seconds
2nd Buffering
3rd Foxwedge
Newmarket Handicap
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 07.3 seconds
2nd Crystal Lily
3rd Beaded
Newmarket Handicap
1st Wanted 1 minute 10.11 seconds
2nd Eagle Falls
3rd Starspangledbanner
Newmarket Handicap
1st Scenic Blast 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd Swiss Ace
3rd Aichi
Newmarket Handicap
1st Weekend Hustler 1 minute 9 seconds
2nd Magnus
3rd Grand Duels
Newmarket Handicap
1st Miss Andretti 1 minute 7.7 seconds
2nd Gold Edition
3rd Undue
Newmarket Handicap
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 8.3 seconds
2nd Snitzel
3rd Stratum
Newmarket Handicap
1st Alinghi 1 minute 8.1 seconds
2nd Fastnet Rock
3rd Foreplay
Newmarket Handicap
1st Exceed And Excel 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd Titanic Jack
3rd Regimental Gal
Newmarket Handicap
1st Belle Du Jour 1 minute 8.6 seconds
2nd Bel Espirit
3rd Super Impressive
Newmarket Handicap
1st Rubitano 1 minute 9 seconds
2nd North Boy
3rd Mistegic
Newmarket Handicap
1st Toledo 1 minute 8.6 seconds
2nd Show A Heart
3rd Mannington
Newmarket Handicap
1st Miss Pennymoney 1 minute 7.6 seconds
2nd Black Bean
3rd Falvelon