Caulfield Autumn Classic

Caulfield Autumn Classic News

2016 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day Scratchings & Track Report

2016 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day Scratchings & Track Report

A talent rich nine race card has been confirmed to run at Caulfield for 2016 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Day today, highlighted by three Group 1 feature races including the headline race for two-year-olds.

Extreme Choice remains outright favourite in 2016 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes betting markets. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

It is a fine day in the greater Melbourne ...

The 2016 Caulfield Autumn Classic, often called simply the 2016 Autumn Classic, is a Group 2 race run over 1800m at set weights for horses aged three years old. Held at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse during February, the Autumn Classic is worth $200,000 in prize money.

The Autumn Classic is held on Blue Diamond Stakes Day which features the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m), the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1600m) and the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

The Caulfield Autumn Classic 2016 will take place on Saturday 27th of February, 2016.

Caulfield Autumn Classic Info:
Date: 27th of February, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1800m
Race Type: 3YO Open Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Autumn Classic Field

The final Autumn Classic field is traditionally released on the Wednesday prior to the race.

The 2016 Autumn Classic field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 24111111 MAHUTA Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 1 57kg 105
2 x143653221 FLYING LIGHT David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 10 57kg 71
3 08182170×7 AYERS ROCK Shawn Mathrick Dwayne Dunn 4 57kg 73
4 5x110010x9 EXTRA CHOICE (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Ben Melham 12 57kg 73
5 3244527×09 PATCH ADAMS Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Nicholas Hall 2 57kg 71
6 2x510x7 CELTIC TIGER (NZ) Mick Price Craig Newitt 11 57kg 73
7 5×21254316 HARDERN David Brideoake Luke Currie 5 57kg 68
8 52215×11 TALLY John O’Shea Craig Williams 7 57kg 74
9 923×4411 TOP RAVINE Mick Price Michael Dee (a) 13 57kg 66
10 68315212 HOPLITES Stephen Brown Glen Boss 9 57kg 66
11 1 CHARLEVOIX Michael Kent Mark Zahra 6 57kg 64
12 3×41 PRIOR ENGAGEMENT Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 3 57kg 62
13 5×1124 POWDERWORKS Darren Weir 8 55kg 67

2016 Autumn Classic Nominations

As a general rule, the Autumn Classic nominations are announced on the Monday before the race.

The 2016 Autumn Classic nominations will be provided below.

Caulfield Autumn Classic History

First won by Lord Gavin in 1957, the Caulfield Autumn Classic has been an 1800m event since 1987. Starting out as a Principal race until 1978, the event became a Listed race in 1979 until 1989 when it was elevated to Group 3 status. In 1991 the Autumn Classic finally became a Group 2 race.

The race has also had several name changes starting with the Stanley Plate and then becoming the Caulfield Autumn Classic, Tattersalls Classic, AAMI Classic, Shannons Classic, Pol Roger Stakes and The Yalumba 160. However it is generally still referred to as the Autumn Classic.

Since 1988, the fastest winning time was recorded by 1 minute 47.3 seconds by Waikikamukau in 1994. The slowest time was by Mr Danamite in 1988 with 1 minute 55.9 seconds.

Recent Caulfield Autumn Classic Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Caulfield Autumn Classic
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Tally 1 minute 49.1 seconds
2nd Flying Light
3rd Top Ravine
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Alpine Eagle 1 minute 48.4 seconds
2nd Minnesinger
3rd Firehouse Rock
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Vilanova 1 minute 51.02 seconds
2nd Countersnip
3rd Alpha Beat
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Super Cool 1 minute 49.8 seconds
2nd Fiveandahalfstar
3rd Subiaso
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Upbeat 1 minute 50.0 seconds
2nd Flashy Fella
3rd Ethiopia
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Folding Gear 1 minute 48.1 seconds
2nd Elusive King
3rd Almindoro
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Extra Zero 1 minute 50.69 seconds
2nd Absolute Faith
3rd Money Rocks
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Stokehouse 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Excelltastic
3rd Zapurple
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Brom Brom 1 minute 51.4 seconds
2nd Allanthus
3rd Buca Di Bacco
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Ambitious General 1 minute 48.9 seconds
2nd Danever
3rd Furio
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Spinney 1 minute 48.1 seconds
2nd Silver Ninja
3rd Cinderella Man
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Renewable 1 minute 50.1 seconds
2nd Stella Grande
3rd Dizelle
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Elvstroem 1 minute 49.1 seconds
2nd Delzao
3rd Strafed
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Natural Blitz 1 minute 49.4 seconds
2nd Glefti
3rd Gallic
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Don Eduardo 1 minute 49.4 seconds
2nd Royal Code
3rd All Courage
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Fubu 1 minute 47.5 seconds
2nd Neptunes Journey
3rd Inspire
Caulfield Autumn Classic
1st Pins 1 minute 50.6 seconds
2nd Oval Office
3rd Crawl