Futurity Stakes

The 2016 Futurity Stakes will take place on Saturday 27th February 2016 at Caulfield Racecourse.

Futurity Stakes News

Turn Me Loose scores 2nd G1 win in 2016 Futurity Stakes

Turn Me Loose scores 2nd G1 win in 2016 Futurity Stakes

Kiwi Galloper Turn Me Loose recorded his second Group 1 win in taking out the Group 1 $500,000 italktravel Futurity Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield today.

The Murray Baker trained Turn Me Loose led all of the way to win the Group 1 $1m Emirates Stakes (1600m) at Flemington during the 2015 Melbourne Spring Carnival but Opie Bosson sat behind the ...

The 2016 Futurity Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Caulfield Racecourse in February on Blue Diamond Stakes Day each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Run over a middle sprint distance of 1400m, the country’s best sprinters and milers compete for a chance to win $500,000 in prize money.

The Futurity Stakes makes up the first leg of the Asian Mile Challenge, which is a four race international series worth $12.5 million. The Futurity Stakes is jointly organised by the Hong Kong Jockey Club, the Japan Racing Association, the Melbourne Racing Club and the Dubai Racing Club.

The 2016 Futurity Stakes will run on Saturday the 27th February 2016 at Caulfield Racecourse.

Futurity Stakes
Date: 27th February 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: Weight-For- Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

Futurity Stakes Field

The Futurity Stakes field will be provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0x12x149x6 BOBAN Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 2 59kg 115
2 x60x123x35 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Damien Oliver 8 59kg 110
3 31x62111x4 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker Opie Bosson 9 59kg 113
4 6x111x0x43 HUCKLEBUCK Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 4 59kg 109
5 111x2x7x58 TRUST IN A GUST Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 10 59kg 110
6 2x731310x7 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir Mark Zahra 5 59kg 110
7 460x2357x0 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Winks 7 59kg 105
8 229x15450x SCISSOR KICK Paul Messara Craig Williams 6 59kg 104
9 x0x122610x THE UNITED STATES (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ms Michelle Payne 11 59kg 104
10 N311x117x1 SUAVITO (NZ) Nigel Blackiston Luke Currie 3 57kg 112
11 000x1112x2 POLITENESS Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 1 57kg 109

Futurity Stakes Nominations

The Futurity Stakes nominations will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 0x12x149x6 BOBAN G 6 Chris Waller 1 59kg 115
2 7x46136x12 LUCKY HUSSLER G 6 Darren Weir 2 59kg 113
3 x60x123x35 REBEL DANE H 6 Gary Portelli 3 59kg 110
4 N311x117x1 SUAVITO (NZ) M 5 Nigel Blackiston 4 57kg 112
5 31x62111x4 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) H 4 Murray Baker 5 59kg 113
6 000x1112x2 POLITENESS M 5 Robert Smerdon 6 57kg 109
7 6x111x0x43 HUCKLEBUCK G 5 Phillip Stokes 7 59kg 109
8 111x2x7x58 TRUST IN A GUST H 5 Darren Weir 8 59kg 110
9 120x281x22 SOLICIT M 5 Gerald Ryan 9 57kg 106
10 2x731310x7 STRATUM STAR H 4 Darren Weir 10 59kg 110
11 460x2357x0 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) G 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 11 59kg 105
12 229x15450x SCISSOR KICK H 4 Paul Messara 12 59kg 104
13 x0x122610x THE UNITED STATES (IRE) H 6 Robert Hickmott 13 59kg 104
14 34x30721x0 AWESOME ROCK H 4 Leon & Troy Corstens 14 59kg 96
15 140×1 PURITAN G 3 Jason Warren 15 55.5kg 82
16 550x43510x TRISTRAM’S SUN (NZ) G 7 Robbie Laing 16 59kg 94
17 0x4098035x DON DOREMO (NZ) G 5 Robbie Laing 17 59kg 90

Futurity Stakes History

Founded in 1897, the Futurity Stakes was first won by Resolute and has so far featured several champion horses including three time winner Ajax with victories in the 1938 to 1940 Futurity Stakes races. Racing legend Manikato managed one step better by winning the race four times in 1979 to 1981 and again in 1983. Prior to 2006, the Futurity Stakes was a 1400m race which was also held over 1800m in 1979.

Recent Futurity Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Futurity Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Futurity Stakes
1st Turn Me Loose 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Stratum Star
3rd Suavito
Futurity Stakes
1st Suavito 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Smokin’ Joey
3rd Dissident
Futurity Stakes
1st Moment Of Change 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Sertorius
3rd Pinwheel
Futurity Stakes
1st All Too Hard 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Glass Harmonium
3rd King Mufhasa
Futurity Stakes
1st King Mufhasa 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Pinker Pinker
3rd Adamantium
Futurity Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 21.7 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Dao Dao
Futurity Stakes
1st Typhoon Tracy 1 minute 34.43 seconds
2nd Dao Dao
3rd Sniper’s Bullet
Futurity Stakes
1st Niconero 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd Light Fantastic
3rd Alamosa
Futurity Stakes
1st Niconero 1 minute 34.8 seconds
2nd Cargo Cult
3rd Miss Finland
Futurity Stakes
1st Aqua Damore 1 minute 35.7 seconds
2nd Seachange
3rd El Segundo
Futurity Stakes
1st Fields Of Omagh 1 minute 34.2 seconds
2nd Red Dazzler
3rd Rosden
Futurity Stakes
1st Regal Roller 1 minute 24.6 seconds
2nd Super Elegant
3rd Modem
Futurity Stakes
1st Reset 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Vocabulary
3rd Yell
Futurity Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Innovation Girl
3rd Roman Arch
Futurity Stakes
1st Dash For Cash 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Chattanooga
3rd Aquiver
Futurity Stakes
1st Desert Sky (DH) 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Mr Murphy (DH)
3rd Porto Roca
Futurity Stakes
1st Testa Rossa 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Miss Pennymoney
3rd Redoutes Choice