Stradbroke Handicap

The Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap 2014 is the premier event of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Taking place on Saturday 7th June 2014 at Eagle Farm, the Stradbroke Handicap offers $1million in prize money for the winner.

Stradbroke Handicap News

2014 Newmarket Handicap Betting Update

2014 Newmarket Handicap Betting Update

The 2014 Newmarket Handicap has drawn one of the strongest fields in the recent history of the event and the betting market for the Group 1 event is extremely competitive.

Samaready, Lankan Rupee and Shamexpress have been battling for favouritism in 2014 Newmarket Handicap betting markets since the final field was released earlier this week and at this point punters are…

The Stradbroke Handicap is the premier Group 1 race held in Queensland as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) annually in June, this $1 million open handicap event is raced over 1400m and is the richest race of the carnival. Run as the highlight event on Stradbroke Handicap Day at the picturesque Eagle Farm racecourse, the race shares the day with other quality events including the Group 1 TJ Smith (1600m), Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) and the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m).

Good lead-up races for runners in the Stradbroke Handicap 2014 include the Group 3 BTC Sprint (1350m) held at Doomben in May, or the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2200m) two weeks before. The Stradbroke Handicap is a challenging middle distance run well suited to a galloper that displays both speed and stamina to run the 1.4km at full pace. Top quality horses that have won the Stradbroke Handicap include Dane Ripper (1997), All Our Mob (1994) and Rough Habit (1991 & 1992).

Champion sprinters that perform well in the Stradbroke Handicap may go on to contest some of the other high status Australian races held during the Sydney and Victoria Spring Racing Carnivals later in the year.

When betting on the Stradbroke Handicap it is important to look at things like the age of the competitors, as four-year-olds have dominated the race over the years. Only one two-year-old has claimed victory in the race, Wiggle in 1958.

Also look at the career statistics of the jockeys and trainers. The most successful Stradbroke Handicap trainer is Bart Cummings. The Cups King has trained four winners in this race, Campaign King (1988), Robian Steel (1989), Never Undercharge (1993) and Dane Ripper (1997).

The 2014 Stradbroke Handicap will be run on Saturday 7 June 2014.

Stradbroke Handicap
Date: Saturday 7 June 2014
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Conditions: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1.36 million
Inaugurated: 1890

Stradbroke Handicap History

First run in 1890, the Stradbroke Handicap is one of the oldest Queensland races. Pyrrhus won the inaugural event when it was a principal race run over six furlongs. During the war the race was not held from 1942 to 1945. In 1953 the race distance was increased to seven furlongs and was later converted to 1400m in 1973. In 1980 the event was given Group 1 status. The race is named after Lord Stradbroke one of the originators of the weight-for-age scale in thoroughbred racing. The Stradbroke Handicap became Queensland’s most lucrative and anticipated race in 1996 when the prize purse was increased to $1 million.

In 2013 the prize money for the Stradborke Handicap was given a boost of $360,000, with the winner of the race now receiving $1million from the total race prize money of $1.36million.

Recent Stradbroke Handicap Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Mid Summer Music 1 minute 23.06 seconds
2nd Buffering
3rd Happy Zero
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Sincero 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Beaded
3rd Zero Rock
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Black Piranha 1 minute 21.16 seconds
2nd Melito
3rd Mic Mac
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Black Piranha 1 minute 25.5 seconds
2nd Danleigh
3rd Ortensia
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Mr Baritone 1 minute 26.4 seconds
2nd Hard To Catch
3rd Double Dare
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Snipers Bullet 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Gold Edition
3rd Bendetti
Stradbroke Handicap
1st La Montagna 1 minute 22.9 seconds
2nd Gee I Jane
3rd Cog Hill
Stradbroke Handicap
1st St Basil 1 minute 20.7 seconds
2nd Perfect Promise
3rd Shamekha
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Thorn Park 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Consular
3rd St Basil
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Private Steer 1 minute 21.6 seconds
2nd Diamond Dane
3rd Into The Night
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Show A Heart 1 minute 21.7 seconds
2nd Falvelon
3rd Kingsgate
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Crawl 1 minute 20.5 seconds
2nd Hire
3rd Mr Innocent
Stradbroke Handicap
1st Landsighting 1 minute 21.4 seconds
2nd Mr Innocent
3rd Brighter Scene