JJ Atkins

The Group 1 2017 JJ Atkins field of two-year-olds face off in June at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Stradbroke Handicap Day each Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

JJ Atkins News

2017 JJ Atkins Long Term Plan for Goodfella

2017 JJ Atkins Long Term Plan for Goodfella

Sydney’s Bjorn Baker is hoping his surprise Magic Millions Classic contender Goodfella can make a big impact during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival culminating with a run in the JJ Atkins 2017 in June.

Winning Rupert will bypass the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival after going down as the beaten odds-on favourite in the Gold Coast Magic Millions Guineas over the ...

The 2017 JJ Atkins, formerly called The TJ Smith, is the premier event for two-year-olds at the annual Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Held on the highly anticipated Stradbroke Handicap Day in June at Eagle Farm Racecourse, this Group 1 race is run over a middle distance of 1600m under set weight conditions. Worth $600,000 it is one of the most lucrative races conducted during the carnival and shares the day with a host of other Group status races including the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) and the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m).

There are a number of quality races the two-year-old runners in the JJ Atkins field may have contested earlier including the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) a fortnight before. The BRC Sires Produce Stakes / JJ Atkins is a popular betting double at the carnival and horses that have won both races include Sizzling (2012), Pressday (2010), Lovely Jubly (2002), Juanmo (2001), Al Mansour (1997), Anthems (1996), Mahogany (1993) and Slight Chance (1992).

Many J.J. Atkins winners and placegetters will continue on to bigger and better races later in their careers.

The 2017 JJ Atkins will be run on Saturday June 10 at Eagle Farm.

JJ Atkins 2017
Date: Saturday June 10, 2017
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Conditions: 2YOs – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
Inaugurated: 1897

2017 JJ Atkins Betting Odds

The top JJ Atkins 2017 odds and Group 1 Brisbane racing odds provided by Ladbrokes.com.au will be available below as soon as released.

2017 JJ Atkins Field

The two-year-olds in the JJ Atkins field traditionally come off a lead-up run in Brisbane earlier during the winter with the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes the key preparatory run into the Group 1 mile feature. Interstate raiders also make-up a bulk of the JJ Atkins field each year and have a high strike rate beating home the local youngsters.

The official 2017 JJ Atkins Field & Barriers will be out on Wednesday June 7, 2017 and published in full below.

2017 JJ Atkins Nominations

The early JJ Atkins 2017 nominations close on May 3, 2017 followed by the JJ Atkins first acceptances on May 31, 2017 and will be available right here as soon as announced by Racing Queensland.

J.J. Atkins History

First run in 1897, the event was originally known as the Claret Stakes and Common won the inaugural race. The event was then named The TJ Smith after legendary trainer Tommy Smith. In 2013 the race was renamed the J.J. Atkins in honour of legendary Queensland trainer Jim Atkins.

The JJ Atkins began as a principal race run over six furlongs but was increased to seven furlongs in 1905. The race was not held between 1942 and 1945 but recommenced in 1946 under the same conditions. Nearly a decade later the race distance was increased to eight furlongs before changing to the metric conversion of 1600m in 1973. Not long after in 1980 the event reached Group 2 status before finally being elevated to its current Group 1 status in 1985.

Just A Printer holds the race record of 1:33.0 set in 1994.

Recent JJ Atkins Winners

Year Place Horse Time
JJ Atkins
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
JJ Atkins
1st Sacred Elixir 1 minute 37.82 seconds
2nd Charnley River
3rd Heart Skipt A Beat
JJ Atkins
1st Press Statement 1 minute 35.40 seconds
2nd Sagaronne
3rd Look To The Stars
JJ Atkins
1st Almalad 1 minute 35.39 seconds
2nd Brazen Beau
3rd Lookslikethecat
JJ Atkins
1st Romantic Touch 1 minute 36.54 seconds
2nd Zoustar
3rd Paximadia
The TJ Smith
1st Sizzling 1 minute 37.01 seconds
2nd Kabayan
3rd Academus
The TJ Smith
1st Benfica 1 minute 36.0 seconds
2nd Hot Snitzel
3rd Playtime
The TJ Smith
1st Pressday 1 minute 39.09 seconds
2nd Ringa Ringa Rosie
3rd American Crew
The TJ Smith
1st Linky Dink 1 minute 39.9 seconds
2nd Spot On Target
3rd Southport
The TJ Smith
1st Rockdale 1 minute 40.3 seconds
2nd Baci Amore
3rd Fravashi
The TJ Smith
1st Apercu 1 minute 37.9 seconds
2nd Tripitz
3rd Masked Assassin
The TJ Smith
1st Reigning To Win 1 minute 37.4 seconds
2nd Danleigh
3rd Carry To Glory
The TJ Smith
1st Darci Brahma 1 minute 34.9 seconds
2nd Ready As
3rd Daemons
The TJ Smith
1st Outback Prince 1 minute 34.1 seconds
2nd Star Shiraz
3rd Lords A Leaping
The TJ Smith
1st Picaday 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd Promoted
3rd Ambulance
The TJ Smith
1st Lovely Jubly 1 minute 35.3 seconds
2nd Top Echelon
3rd Big Breakfast
The TJ Smith
1st Juanmo 1 minute 35.1 seconds
2nd Barawin
3rd Evander
The TJ Smith
1st Show A Heart 1 minute 36.8 seconds
2nd Lady Mulan
3rd Rapid Man