The Goodwood

The 2017 Darley Goodwood is a Group 1 race held every year at Morphettville in Adelaide during the Autumn Racing Carnival as a follow-up from the Robert Sangster Stakes.

The Goodwood News

RN Irwin Stakes 2017 Betting & Odds Update

RN Irwin Stakes 2017 Betting & Odds Update

A line-up of potential The Goodwood hopefuls faces off in Saturday’s 2017 RN Irwin Stakes at Morphettville Racecourse, betting tips and the latest odds on the Adelaide sprint found below.

2017 The Goodwood-bound sprinter Illustrious Lad is tipped to return to winning form in the RN Irwin Stakes at Morphettville on Saturday. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Set to run as ...

The Goodwood 2017 is a Group 1 race held at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide as part of the South Australia Jockey Club’s premier racing carnival. Taking place in May of each year, The Goodwood is a 1200m sprint run under set weights plus penalties and is now worth $1 million in total prize money making it one of the most lucrative South Australian races.

As the leading sprint race at the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, the event always attracts a highly competitive field of quality gallopers. Entries may come via a number of earlier races including the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) for fillies & mares at the same track and distance a fortnight earlier.  The latest horses to complete the Robert Sangster Stakes – The Goodwood double were Black Caviar (2012) and Platelet (2013).

The Darley Goodwood 2017 will be run on Saturday May 20 at Morphettville Racecourse.

The Goodwood
Date: Saturday May 20 , 2017
Track: Morphettville Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: Open – Set Weights + Penalties
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1 million
Inaugurated: 1881

2017 The Goodwood Betting Odds

The autumn’s latest The Goodwood 2017 odds and betting market links to will be available below.

2017 The Goodwood Field

The Goodwood race field attracts a smart line-up of sprinters, many coming out of lead-up sprint races held in Melbourne or Sydney during the autumn. Alternatively fillies and mares may have a lead-up into The Goodwood at the track and distance two weeks prior in the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m). Brisbane winter racing could also be on the agenda for sprinters in The Goodwood field.

The official The Goodwood 2017 field and barriers are set for release on Tuesday May 16, 2017 and will be announced below.

2017 The Goodwood Nominations

The Goodwood 2017 race nominations for the Adelaide Group 1 sprint close on Tuesday May 9, 2017 and will be available below once released by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC).

The Goodwood History

D.O.D. was the inaugural Goodwood winner in 1881 when it was a principal race run over six furlongs. From 1886 to 1888 the race was not held but resumed the next year in 1889 under the same status and distance. In 1942 and 1943 the race did not take place again. The length was converted to 1200m in 1973 and the race?s status was lifted to Group 1 in 1980. Up until 2007 the race was run as a handicap event known as the Goodwood Handicap. Notable recent The Goodwood winners include Black Heart Bart (2016) and super mare Black Caviar (2012).

The Goodwood Recent Winners

Year Place Horse Time
The Goodwood
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
The Goodwood
1st Black Heart Bart 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Under The Louvre
3rd Supido
The Goodwood
1st Flamberge 1 minute 9.3 seconds
2nd Lord Of The Sky
3rd Under The Louvre
The Goodwood
1st Smokin’ Joey 1 minute 11.6 seconds
2nd Platelet
3rd Riziz
The Goodwood
1st Platelet 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Conservatorium
3rd Altar
The Goodwood
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd We’re Gonna Rock
3rd Stirling Grove
The Goodwood
1st Lone Rock 1 minute 09.0 seconds
2nd Crystal Lily
3rd Pinwheel
The Goodwood
1st Velocitea 1 minute 09.01 seconds
2nd Catapulted
3rd Very Discreet
The Goodwood
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd I Am Invincible
3rd Commanding Hope
The Goodwood
1st Shadoways 1 minute 9.3 seconds
2nd Cargo Cult
3rd Diplomatic Force
The Goodwood
1st Let Go Thommo 1 minute 9.3 seconds
2nd Tesbury Jack
3rd Royal Ida
The Goodwood
1st Perfectly Ready 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Sassbee
3rd Squillani
The Goodwood
1st Glamour Puss 1 minute 9.1 seconds
2nd Solar Antiquity
3rd Shablec
The Goodwood
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 9.2 seconds
2nd Recurring
3rd Danabaa
The Goodwood
1st Bomber Bill 1 minute 9.4 seconds
2nd Squillani
3rd Debrief
The Goodwood
1st Zip Zip Away 1 minute 11.1 seconds
2nd Libidinious
3rd The Big Chill
The Goodwood
1st Keeper 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Sudurka
3rd Ateaters
The Goodwood
1st Marstic 1 minute 13.9 seconds
2nd Czar Hero
3rd Strident