Queensland Derby

Running on Stradbroke Handicap Day at Eagle Farm, the Group 1 Queensland Derby is a 2400m race for three-year-old horses held during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival each June.

Queensland Derby News

Queensland Derby 3YOs Top Gunsynd Classic 2017 Nominations

Queensland Derby 3YOs Top Gunsynd Classic 2017 Nominations

A line-up of potential 2017 Queensland Derby-bound three-year-olds make up the Gunsynd Classic nominations for one of the two feature races at Eagle Farm Racecourse this weekend in Brisbane.

Dual Group 1 winner Prized Icon headlines the 2017 Gunsynd Classic nominations in Brisbane this Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The $125,000 Group 3 Gunsynd Classic (1600m) attracted a bumper ...

The Queensland Derby is a traditional 2400m event held at Eagle Farm Racecourse each June as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. The Group 1 set weight event is specifically for three year old horses and offers $600,000 in prize money.

The Queensland Derby brings a lot of interstate horses that may have previously contested the Group 1 ATC Derby (2400m) in Sydney over the autumn. The best lead-up races are the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate (2000m) at Doomben and the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes (2200m) at Eagle Farm in May. Brambles (2012) and Hawkspur (2013) were the last horses to complete the Rough Habit Plate – Queensland Derby double.

Held on Stradbroke Handicap Day, the Queensland Derby runs on the same card as the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) and the Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m) for two-year-olds.

The 2017 Queensland Derby will be run on Saturday June 10, 2017.

Queensland Derby
Date: Saturday June 10, 2017
Track:  Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: 3YO – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000

2017 Queensland Derby Betting

The winter’s best Queensland Derby 2017 odds and betting market links to Ladbrokes.com.au will be available below leading up to the Group 1 mile and a half classic.

2017 Queensland Derby Field

The Queensland Derby field attracts a top line-up of both local Brisbane-trained three-year-olds and interstate visitors chasing the riches in Queensland over the winter. Proven stayers with form over the 2400m often line-up in the QLD Derby field with gallopers having previously run in races like the SA Derby in Morphettville, a race that produced the 2015 Queensland Derby winner Magicool (4th).

The official Queensland Derby 2017 Final Field & Barriers are set for release on Wednesday June 7, 2017 and will be available below.

2017 Queensland Derby Nominations

The official 2017 Queensland Derby nominations close on Wednesday May 3, 2017 followed by first acceptances for all the Group 1 races on Stradbroke Handicap Day on May 31, 2017.

Queensland Derby History

First run in 1868 in Gayndah, the Queensland Derby was won by Hermit. Three years later, in 1871, the race was moved to Eagle Farm in Brisbane and has remained there ever since.

Although the race was not held from 1873-77 and again in 1942-45, the Queensland Derby has been won by many legendary horses including Tulloch in 1957, Kingston Town in 1980 and Rough Habit in 1990. When the Queensland Derby was held twice in 1870, Grafton proved just how good a horse he was by winning both races.

Since 1988, De Gaulle Lane holds the record for the fastest winning time with 2 minutes 25.2 seconds in 2001. The slowest recorded winning time was 2 minutes 39.3 seconds by Rough Habit in 1990.

Recent Queensland Derby Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Queensland Derby
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Queensland Derby
1st Eagle Way 2 minutes 32.34 seconds
2nd Rodrico
3rd I’m Belucci
Queensland Derby
1st Magicool 2 minutes 15.09 seconds
2nd Werther
3rd Jumbo Prince
Queensland Derby
1st Sonntag 2 minutes 28.3 seconds
2nd Pinstripe Lane
3rd Vilanova
Queensland Derby
1st Hawkspur 2 minutes 27.89 seconds
2nd Electric Fusion
3rd Honorius
Queensland Derby
1st Brambles 2 minutes 29.73 seconds
2nd Quintessential
3rd Westsouthwest
Queensland Derby
1st Shootoff 2 minutes 28.7 seconds
2nd Shez Sinsational
3rd Heidilicious
Queensland Derby
1st Dariana 2 minutes 26.49 seconds
2nd Kutchinsky
3rd Miss Keepsake
Queensland Derby
1st Court Ruler 2 minutes 34.4 seconds
2nd Shocking
3rd Larry’s Never Late
Queensland Derby
1st Riva San 2 minutes 36.9 seconds
2nd Petushki
3rd Moatize
Queensland Derby
1st Empires Choice 2 minutes 32.9 seconds
2nd Volcanic Star
3rd Sirmione
Queensland Derby
1st Ice Chariot 2 minutes 30.6 seconds
2nd Cape Breton
3rd Loanhead
Queensland Derby
1st Lachlan River 2 minutes 26.5 seconds
2nd Lords A Leaping
3rd Vitesse Dane
Queensland Derby
1st Toulouse Lautrec 2 minutes 26.5 seconds
2nd Devastating
3rd Set Up
Queensland Derby
1st Half Hennessy 2 minutes 27.7 seconds
2nd Schumpeter
3rd King Of Them All
Queensland Derby
1st County Tyrone 2 minutes 29 seconds
2nd Galroof
3rd Miss Bussell
Queensland Derby
1st De Gaulle Lane 2 minutes 25.2 seconds
2nd Tempest Morn
3rd Lottery Prize
Queensland Derby
1st Freemason 2 minutes 27.3 seconds
2nd Citras Prince
3rd Maguire