South Australian Derby

The South Australian Derby 2017 is a Group 1 staying showdown for three-year-olds offering $600,000 in prize money and run at Morphettville in May each season.

South Australian Derby News

2017 SA Derby Favourite Tops Chairman’s Stakes Nominations

2017 SA Derby Favourite Tops Chairman’s Stakes Nominations

Pre-post favourite to take out the South Australian Derby 2017 next month, Odeon is the headline nomination for Saturday’s Chairman’s Stakes at Morphettville.

Local SA Derby-bound Morvada is one of the key 2017 Chairman’s Stakes nominations for this Saturday in Adelaide. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

To be run on the main track, this season’s $120,000 Group 3 SA Chairman’s Stakes...

The South Australian Derby 2017 is one of the four Group 1 races held as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival. It is a 2500 metre staying event that takes place at Morphettville Racecourse in May each year one week before the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m).

The SA Derby is for three-year-olds at set weights and offers a prize purse of $600,000. Entries in the race may have previously contested the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2000m) at the track a fortnight earlier. Three-year-old fillies may come via the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) on Robert Sangster Stakes Day. Delicacy (2015) was the last filly to complete the SA Oaks – Derby double.

As the leading three-year-olds race at Adelaide, the South Australian Derby field attracts high quality runners. One of the best winners was Mummify in 2003, who continued on to claim victory in that year’s Caulfield Cup in Melbourne and placed third in the Caulfield Cup the following year as well.

The staying distance and high status of the South Australian Derby means that some of the season’s finest horses compete in the race, which is why it is always a good race to watch as an indication for other important races held at the end of the year. For example, South Australian Derby winners Count Chivas (1995) and Shivas Revenge (1991) both continued on to place second in the Melbourne Cup, and the mighty Subzero won the SA Derby / Melbourne Cup double in 1992.

The 2017 South Australian Derby will be run on Saturday May 13, 2017.

SA Derby 2017
Date: Saturday May 13, 2017
Track: Morphettville Racecourse
Distance: 2500m
Conditions: 3YO Open – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
Inaugurated: 1860

2017 South Australian Derby Betting

The top SA Derby 2017 betting odds on the season’s staying three-year-olds will be available right here once betting on the lucrative Group 1 Adelaide race opens at

2017 South Australian Derby Field

The SA Derby field attracts a smart line-up of mainly local three-year-old staying types with plenty of fillies backing-up off the Australasian Oaks to take on the colts and geldings at the same track over 500m further.

The official South Australian 2017 Derby field is set for release on Tuesday May 9, 2017 and will be published in full below.

2017 South Australian Derby Nominations

The early South Australian Derby 2017 nominations close on Tuesday May 2, over a week before the race, and will be available here once released by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC).

South Australian Derby History

The South Australian Derby was first run in 1860 when Midnight won. It began as a principal race run over 12 furlongs. Not long after its inception the event was not held for a period between 1869 and 1875. It recommenced in 1876 under the same status and distance. The race did not run again from 1885 to 1889 and in the years 1942 and 1943 due to the war. The distance of the Derby was converted to 2500m in 1973 before decreasing to 2400m in length in 1978. This was one year before it reached Group 1 status in 1979. For one year in 1980 the event was raced over a distance of 2600m before dropping back to 2500m the following year in 1981.
There was no South Australian Derby held in 1983 and a few years later in 1986 the distance reverted back to 2400m. In 2001 the event was again run over 2500m and has since remained the same.

Recent South Australian Derby Winners

Year Place Horse Time
South Australian Derby
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
South Australian Derby
1st Howard Be Thy Name 2 minutes 40.08 seconds
2nd Etymology
3rd Cool Chap
South Australian Derby
1st Delicacy 2 minutes 37.91 seconds
2nd Werther
3rd Allergic
South Australian Derby
1st Kushadasi 2 minutes 41.98 seconds
2nd Scratchy Bottom
3rd Best Case
South Australian Derby
1st Escado 2 minutes 39.05 seconds
2nd Hioctdane
3rd Shoreham
South Australian Derby
1st Zabeelionaire 2 minutes 42.1 seconds
2nd Sabrage
3rd Westsouthwest
South Australian Derby
1st Shadows In The Sun 2 minutes 39.8 seconds
2nd Echoes Of Heaven
3rd Lalla Rookh
South Australian Derby
1st Kidnapped 2 minutes 37.21 seconds
2nd Red Colossus
3rd Sea Galleon
South Australian Derby
1st Rebel Raider 2 minutes 40.39 seconds
2nd Astro Gains
3rd Fitoussi
South Australian Derby
1st Zarita 2 minutes 39.5 seconds
2nd Zagreb
3rd Neugine
South Australian Derby
1st Lazer Sharp 2 minutes 37.8 seconds
2nd Classic De Lago
3rd Red Lord
South Australian Derby
1st Testafiable 2 minutes 43.3 seconds
2nd Empire Gold
3rd Irazu
South Australian Derby
1st Tails Of Triomphe 2 minutes 37.1 seconds
2nd Douro Valley
3rd Kamsky
South Australian Derby
1st Hard To Get 2 minutes 37.1 seconds
2nd On A Jeune
3rd Better Jetsetter
South Australian Derby
1st Mummify 2 minutes 38.7 seconds
2nd Vicksburgh
3rd Lord Wooburn
South Australian Derby
1st Pantani 2 minutes 37.8 seconds
2nd Silver Baron
3rd Lester Thuderwing
South Australian Derby
1st Big Pat 2 minutes 36.2 seconds
2nd Bush Padre
3rd Adolescence
South Australian Derby
1st Blue Murder 2 minutes 38.4 seconds
2nd Mr Nelson
3rd Voile D’Or