Vain Stakes

The 2017 Vain Stakes is a Group 3 sprinting event held at Caulfield Racecourse.

The 2017 Vain Stakes is an early Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival 1100m sprint that attracts some of the best new season three-year-old colts and geldings from both local and interstate stables.

Run under set weights plus penalties conditions, the Vain Stakes often features gallopers heading towards a race like the $1 million Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) back at the track in October over a mile.

Held on PB Lawrence Stakes Day, the Vain Stakes field tends to be filled out with fairly successful colts and geldings who already have decent black type experience. With a total purse of $150,000, Group 3 race is the male equivalent of the fillies-only Group 3 Quezette Stakes (1100m) held at the same meeting for Thousand Guineas hopes.

Horses that end up in the Vain Stakes field tend to race first-up or come via smaller, unlisted events as part of their pre-warm up. Because there is such a considerable number of entrants who are first or second up, the Vain Stakes results can often be difficult to predict, as most horses are not in full form. Those runners that see success in the Vain Stakes results are likely to contest later events such as the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes or the Group 2 Danehill Stakes.

Due to the high quality nature of the Vain Stakes field, you’ll often see horses continue on to compete in the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

The 2017 Vain Stakes will take place on August 19th, 2017.

Vain Stakes
Date: August 19th, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1100m
Race Type: 3YO C&G SWP
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Vain Stakes Field

The 2017 Vain Stakes field is now published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x7920x ASPECT Tony McEvoy Jye McNeil 10 57.5kg 75
2 1x12388x VERANILLO James Cummings Dwayne Dunn 2 56.5kg 76
3 13x6376x2 WAIT FOR NO ONE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 11 56.5kg 73
4 11x JUKEBOX Ciaron Maher Craig Williams 6 56.5kg 71
5 8x311x KOBAYASHI Leon & Troy Corstens Ben Thompson (a) 14 56.5kg 74
6 112×5 DUCIMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Noel Callow 4 56.5kg 74
7 261 LONE EAGLE Mick Price Damien Oliver 5 55kg 69
8 21x CLIFF’S EDGE Darren Weir Luke Nolen 9 55kg 67
9 8×5323 EVIL CRY Robbie Laing Brandon Stockdale (a) 3 55kg 63
10 1x KING’S AUTHORITY Mick Price Mark Zahra 13 55kg 68
11 12x PLUTOCRACY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 12 55kg 66
12 6x7417x10 FULLY MAXED Shane Nichols Ben Melham 7 55kg 66
13 11 POSEIDON’S POOL Darren Weir Damian Lane 8 55kg 68
14 A THOUSAND DEGREES Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 1 55kg

Vain Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1992, the Vain Stakes has always attracted a strong assortment of young colts and geldings. Never Undercharge took out the first edition of the Vain Stakes with a thrilling run to set the standard of tight finishes that the Vain Stakes is known for.

Initially referred to as the Vain Quality Stakes, the race name was shortened to the Vain Stakes in 1995. For a year in 2010 the race was named the Lister Diesel Stakes.

Initially held at Sandown Park Racecourse, the Vain Stakes shifted to Caulfield for a year in 1994 and then again in 1997. From 2002 onwards, the race’s permanent home has been at Caulfield Racecourse.

Although the Vain Stakes is now held over a distance of 1100m, it was raced over 1200m prior to 2006, when the drop to 1100m was first made. Since then, it has remained at 1100m with the exception of 2009, when it was run over 1200m.

Notable Vain Stakes winners include Cannibal King (1994), Haradasun (2006), Starspangledbanner (2009) and Toorak Toff (2010). Vain Stakes results since 2000, including winning times, are listed below.

Vain Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Vain Stakes
1st Jukebox 1 minute 4.8 seconds
2nd Plutocracy
3rd Poseidon’s Pool
Vain Stakes
1st Russian Revolution 1 minute 5.1 seconds
2nd Highland Beat
3rd Hardham
Vain Stakes
1st Gold Symphony 1 minute 04.4 seconds
2nd Top Me Up
3rd Star Planet
Vain Stakes
1st Get The Nod 1 minute 03.9 seconds
2nd Stingray
3rd Boomwa
Vain Stakes
1st Safeguard 1 minute 04.8 seconds
2nd Fast ‘n’ Rocking
3rd Hill Spy
Vain Stakes
1st Psychic Mick 1 minute 06.1 seconds
2nd Planet Voyage
3rd Free Of Doubt
Vain Stakes
1st Sepoy 1 minute 03.9 seconds
2nd Golden Archer
3rd Grand Britannia
Vain Stakes
1st Toorak Toff 1 minute 07.1 seconds
2nd Soul
3rd Star Witness
Vain Stakes
1st Starspangledbanner 1 minute 04.1 seconds
2nd Eclair Fastpass
3rd Djatala
Vain Stakes
1st Fernandina 1 minute 05.1 seconds
2nd Lord Tavistock
3rd Exceedingly Good
Vain Stakes
1st Shrewd Rhythm 1 minute 03.4 seconds
2nd Purrealist
3rd Diplomatic Force
Vain Stakes
1st Haradasun 1 minute 03.5 seconds
2nd Sharkbite
3rd Churchill Downs
Vain Stakes
1st Red Dazzler 1 minute 13.7 seconds
2nd Maybe Better
3rd Big League
Vain Stakes
1st Zankel 1 minute 12.7 seconds
2nd Special Voyage
3rd Tantat Secret
Vain Stakes
1st Lisboa Stand 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Scaredee Cat
3rd Keep The Faith
Vain Stakes
1st Delago Brom 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Great Glen
3rd Broadband
Vain Stakes
1st North Boy 1 minute 12.9 seconds
2nd Dash For Cash
3rd Tully Dane
Vain Stakes
1st Surtees 1 minute 12.95 seconds
2nd Sort It Out
3rd Mr Gold Flyer

Spring Racing

Santa Ana Lane Set for Everest...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphi...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphitrite Claims Impressive Vanity Win

It wasn’t perfect, but Amphitrite looks well on track for a strong run...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Stil...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Still The Goal, Golden Eagle ‘Plan B’

Three-time Group 1 winner The Autumn Sun has opened as the favourite following...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite in the 2018 Kingston Town Classic field

The lightly weighted Arcadia Queen was installed as the short priced favourite...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbot...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbottom Stakes

The Darren Weir trained Voodoo Lad broke through for his maiden Group 1 win in...

Horse Racing Today

2019 Fred Best Classic Results...

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Ki...

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Kingsford Smith Cup

Only a fortnight after winning the Doomben 10,000, four-year-old gelding The...

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 20...

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 2019 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

Peter and Paul Snowden teamed with Tommy Berry on Saturday to win the Group 2...

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Re...

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Results: Order Again Upsets Tom Melbourne

Tom Melbourne was once again a good thing beaten at Eagle Farm on Saturday as...

Glenlogan Park Stakes 2019 Res...

Glenlogan Park Stakes 2019 Results: Savatiano Beats Quilista

The punters tipped Team Snowden’s last start Doomben winner Quilista in this...

Race Results

2019 Fred Best Classic Results: Military Zone Salutes as Favourite

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Kingsford Smith Cup

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 2019 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Results: Order Again Upsets Tom Melbourne

Glenlogan Park Stakes 2019 Results: Savatiano Beats Quilista

Race Previews

Dubious 2YO In Kingsford Smith Cup 2018 Final Field of 18

Transact earns a shot at South Australian Derby after all the way win in VRC St Leger

Bellevue Hill a chance to back up in 2019 Inglis Sires’

Queen of the Turf, Doncaster Mile Next Up for Invincible Gem

A Galaxy for the Ages: Nature Strip Claims Narrow Victory Over Pierata

Fields & Form

2019 Kingsford Smith Cup Day: Scratchings & Eagle Farm Track Report

Dubious 2YO In Kingsford Smith Cup 2018 Final Field of 18

Transact earns a shot at South Australian Derby after all the way win in VRC St Leger

Bellevue Hill a chance to back up in 2019 Inglis Sires’

Cosmic Force has a tight grip on 2019 Golden Slipper betting