Cockram Stakes

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

The 2017 Cockram Stakes is a 1200m sprint held at Caulfield Racecourse.

The 2017 Cockram Stakes is a Group 3 sprinting event run at Caulfield Racecourse on Memsie Stakes Day in late August.

Raced over 1200m, the Cockram Stakes is one of the first sprint events in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is restricted to mares only. Run under set weights with penalties, the Cockram Stakes provides punters with an opportunity to assess the form of mares likely to continue to compete at higher levels during the season.

Mares usually contest the Cockram Stakes once they’re on the way to form following a few other starts. Success in the Cockram Stakes is often followed up by entries into other races such as the Group 3 Let’s Elope Stakes, Group 3 How Now Stakes, and Group 2 Stocks Stakes.

The Cockram Stakes is held on Memsie Stakes Day shares its race program with three other Group races. These are the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m), Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes and Group 3 The Heath 1100. 

The Cockram Stakes 2017 will be run on Saturday September 2nd.

2017 Cockram Stakes
Date: September 2nd, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 4YO&UP M SWP
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Cockram Stakes Field

The Cockram Stakes field and early betting markets are now out. See below for the full line-up of accepted mares and their current Fixed Win Cockram Stakes odds provided by (and subject to change).

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x17731x1x7 SAVANNA AMOUR John Meagher Ben Melham 5 58kg 92
2 111410x21x FUHRYK David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 3 57kg 95
3 172233183x ANA ROYALE Stuart Webb Mark Zahra 9 57kg 91
4 060471x67x FLYING JESS John Moloney Jordan Childs 10 56kg 91
5 41113x256x JENNIFER LYNN Darren Weir Blake Shinn 8 56kg 77
6 270x2766x7 I AM ZELADY Phillip Stokes Regan Bayliss 4 55kg 90
7 4300x3097x MISS COVER GIRL Darren Weir Luke Nolen 13 55kg 100
8 45x342117x SWORD OF LIGHT Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Ben Thompson (a) 11 55kg 84
9 4144441231 SULLIVAN BAY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 7 55kg 90
10 x1122225x2 LYUBA Darren Weir Michael Dee 1 55kg 86
11 3204323631 FOREIGN AFFAIR Henry Dwyer Chris Symons 12 55kg 76
12 x548412128 DIVINE CHILLS John Sadler Luke Currie 2 55kg 78
13 211x350x17 WRITTEN ERA Aaron Purcell Dwayne Dunn 6 55kg 80

Cockram Stakes History

The inaugural edition of the Cockram Stakes was in 1992, when successful mare Pride Of Demus seized victory in her third start as a four year old. Those horses that gain entry to the Cockram Stakes field are usually fairly talented mares with decent racing experience in their history.

Originally held at Sandown Park Racecourse for two years, the 1994 Cockram Stakes was held at Caulfield. It returned to Sandown again for two years in 1995. Then the race went back to Caulfield for 1997. In 1998, Sandown Park was once again the host, and remained so until 2002, when Caulfield once again resumed its hosting of the race. Since then, the Cockram Stakes has always been held at Caulfield.

For the 2005 edition, the Cockram Stakes was upgraded from listed status to Group 3, which it has held since.

Notable winners of the Cockram Stakes include Pride Of Demus (1992), Brief Embrace (2003), Storm Alert (2006) and Octavia (2013). Cockram Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Cockram Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Cockram Stakes
1st Savanna Amour 1 minute 11.1 seconds
2nd Flying Jess
3rd Written Era
Cockram Stakes
1st Ocean Embers 1 minute 12.2 seconds
2nd Thames Court
3rd Telopea
Cockram Stakes
1st Madam Gangster 1 minute 11.1 seconds
2nd Hazard
3rd Vezalay
Cockram Stakes
1st Gregers 1 minute 09.9 seconds
2nd A Time For Julia
3rd Commanding Jewel
Cockram Stakes
1st Octavia 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd A Time For Julia
3rd Oriental Ruby
Cockram Stakes
1st Lady Melksham 1 minute 12.4 seconds
2nd Le Societe
3rd Glows
Cockram Stakes
1st Mid Summer Music 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Parables
3rd Anabaa’s Legacy
Cockram Stakes
1st Rhythm In Paris 1 minute 13.2 seconds
2nd Response
3rd Lady Lynette
Cockram Stakes
1st Cats Whisker 1 minute 12.2 seconds
2nd Annesong
3rd Flying Ruby
Cockram Stakes
1st Princess Gisella 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Mimi Lebrock
3rd Devil Moon
Cockram Stakes
1st Storm Signal 1 minute 09.6 seconds
2nd Universal Queen
3rd Juste Momente
Cockram Stakes
1st Storm Alert 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Sorenstam
3rd Doubting
Cockram Stakes
1st Dea 1 minute 14.5 seconds
2nd Pretty Penny
3rd Sarah Michelle
Cockram Stakes
1st Strikeline 1 minute 11.9 seconds
2nd Beautiful Gem
3rd Rinky Dink
Cockram Stakes
1st Brief Embrace 1 minute 11.9 seconds
2nd Royal Sash
3rd Ain’t Seen Nothin
Cockram Stakes
1st Pernod 1 minute 09.6 seconds
2nd Calming
3rd Miss La La
Cockram Stakes
1st Libidinous 1 minute 13.2 seconds
2nd Poppett
3rd Tickle My
Cockram Stakes
1st Tickle My 1 minute 12.2 seconds
2nd Piavonic
3rd Monterosso

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field