Grand Prix Stakes

The Grand Prix Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Doomben Racecourse each year.

Grand Prix Stakes News

Mackintosh Heads Waller’s Queensland Derby runners

Mackintosh Heads Waller’s Queensland Derby runners

In-form three year old Mackintosh will head trainer Chris Waller’s four runners in the Group 1 $600,000 Channel Seven Queensland Derby (2400m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Mackintosh, above, heads trainer Chris Waller’s runners in the Queensland Derby at Eagle Farm. Photo by Daniel Costello.

Mackintosh heads the betting for the Queensland Derby at $4 at after winning ...

The Grand Prix Stakes is a Group 3 race held annually at Doomben Racecourse as part of the Doomben 10,000 race card. Traditionally one of the more popular races on the day, the Grand Prix Stakes pays $150,000 total prize money and is open to 3 year olds. Run under set weight conditions, the Grand Prix Stakes is raced over 2200m and provides a reasonably accurate indication of the horses’ staying abilities across middle distances.

Other races held on Doomben 10,000 day include the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m), the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1350m), the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2200m), the Group 3 Glenlogan Park Stakes (1350m), the Group 3 Lord Mayor’s Cup (1600m) and the Listed Chief De Beers Quality (1110m).

Previously a Group 2 race, the Grand Prix Stakes still retains some of its former glory (if not the purse) and manages to attract quality horses each year. Many trainers use the Grand Prix Stakes as a leadup race to the Group 1 Queensland Derby.

The 2016 Grand Prix Stakes will be held on Saturday May 28th.

Grand Prix Stakes Info:

Saturday May 28th
Doomben Racecourse
Race Type:
Group 3

2016 Grand Prix Stakes Field

The Grand Prix Stakes field usually features a strong range of stayers from a broad range of stables and trainers. Because it’s one of the better staying events for horses who aren’t up to Group 1 level, the Grand Prix Stakes field attracts some pretty handy types.

The 2016 Grand Prix Stakes field is provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 3322121111 HOWARD BE THY NAME Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 10 57kg 100
2 3534x31x12 CYLINDER BEACH (NZ) Desleigh Forster Michael Cahill 9 57kg 85
3 32×0240208 I’M BELUCCI Desleigh Forster Jim Byrne 11 57kg 73
4 141011 MACKINTOSH (NZ) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 3 57kg 88
5 4144×16213 UNBREAKABLE John O’Shea James McDonald 14 57kg 78
6 314×292021 ENCOSTA LINE Chris Waller Rory Hutchings (a) 13 57kg 75
7 0074×74344 RED ALTO Paul Banks Ryan Wiggins 5 57kg
8 458111×284 EAGLE WAY Bryan Guy Paul Hammersley 6 57kg 73
9 59×4141389 MULTIFACETS (NZ) Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 8 57kg 76
10 x11218x513 BRAZEN David Vandyke Zac Purton 7 57kg 77
11 352×14117 ESCHIELE John O’Shea Damian Browne 12 57kg 73
12 1352×14422 SNAPPER ROCKS Bryan Guy Jeff Lloyd 1 57kg 62
13 2321×51090 LAST TYPHOON Robert Smerdon Glen Colless 2 57kg 65
14 5×251 HARVARD (NZ) Ciaron Maher Mark Zahra 4 57kg 63

2016 Grand Prix Stakes Nominations

The Grand Prix Stakes nominations attract horses from a variety of preparation backgrounds. As a Group 3 event it tends to draw a pretty decent grade of horse, so the Grand Prix Stakes nominations usually include some fairly commendable runners.

The 2016 Grand Prix Stakes nominations will be published here.

Grand Prix Stakes History

The Grand Prix Stakes was once held at Eagle Farm, until being shifted to Doomben Racecourse in 2010. Inaugurated in 1971 when Mode won, a number of renowned horses can be found among the Grand Prix Stakes results. These include Balmerino (1976), Surround (1977), Kingston Town (1980) and Sirmione (2007).

The Grand Prix Stakes race distance has changed multiple times, and has only retained its current distance of 2200 metres since 2009.

Grand Prix Race Distance

Period Distance
1971-72 1.5 miles
1973-74 2400m
1975-82 2200m
1983 2232m
1984-89 2200m
1990 2244m
1991 2225m
1992-2001 2200m
2002 2144m
2003 2140m
2004-09 2100m
2009- 2200m

The last horse to come close to securing the Grand Prix Stakes/QLD Derby double was Kutchinsky, who placed second in the latter after winning the Grand Prix Stakes in 2010. Once a Group 2 race (1979-2005) the Grand Prix Stakes lost its rating and since 2006 has been run as a Group 3 race. The current prize is significantly reduced from the $300,000 offered previously.

In spite of its reduced status, the Grand Prix Stakes still attracts some very good horses from all around each year.

Grand Prix Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Grand Prix Stakes Results





Grand Prix Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Mackintosh 2:16.4
2nd Eagle Way
3rd Howard Be Thy Name
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Upham 2:04.6
2nd Redoutable Heart
3rd Master Of Arts
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Vilanova 2:14.5
2nd Pinstripe Lane
3rd Rudy
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Hawkspur 2:16.3
2nd Rhythm To Spare
3rd Honorius
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Brambles 2:16.1
2nd Vatuvei
3rd Red Shift
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Turnitup 2:18.0
2nd Mr Light Blue
3rd Alma’s Fury
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Kutchinsky 2:17.0
2nd The Hombre
3rd Landlord
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Saint Minerva 2:19.4
2nd Markus Maximus
3rd The Grogoch
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Bell Academy 2:14.9
2nd Teary Eyed
3rd Petushki
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Sirmione 2:10.3
2nd My Centurion
3rd Currigee
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Ice Chariot 2:10.5
2nd Kincharm
3rd Just Grand
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Spuruson 207.6
2nd Willy Leica
3rd Atapi
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Reclaim 2:08.9
2nd Dodgem
3rd Russian Pearl
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Half Hennessy 2:11.4
2nd General Minolta
3rd Mahtoum
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Distinctly Secret 2:11.7
2nd Cassimir
3rd Arlington Road
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Reenact 2:14.6
2nd Air War
3rd Feed The Meter
Grand Prix Stakes
1st Make Mine Magic 2:14.6
2nd Freemason
3rd Fairway