Gloaming Stakes

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes is a Group 3 event held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Gloaming Stakes News

Spring Champion Option for 2016 Gloaming Stakes Winner Veladero

Spring Champion Option for 2016 Gloaming Stakes Winner Veladero

The Chris Waller stable will consider backing in-form colt Veladero up in the 2016 Spring Champion Stakes in a fortnight’s time after his gutsy win in the Gloaming Stakes 2016 at Rosehill Racecourse. A nicely-bred son of Medagla D’Oro, Veladero posted his third win on the trot this campaign in his Black-Type debut on Golden…

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival in late September.

The Gloaming Stakes is run under set weights conditions over 1800m and is only open to three-year-olds, offering $200,000 in total prize money.

The Gloaming Stakes is held on Golden Pendant Day alongside five other black-type events. These include the Group 2 $400,000 Golden Pendant (1400m) for fillies and mares, the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes (1500m) also for three-year-olds, Group 2 Shannon Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality (2400m) for stayers and Listed Reginald Allen Quality (1400m).

One of the major lead up events to the Gloaming Stakes is the Group 3 Newcastle Spring Stakes (1600m) held under the same conditions a couple of weeks before. Some fillies often contest the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m) prior to the Gloaming as well.

Many of the more successful runners in the Gloaming Stakes go on to challenge the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m). Often, horses will contend the Gloaming Stakes before heading south to target Flemington’s Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes will be held on September 24th.

Gloaming Stakes 2016
Date: September 24th, 2016
Racecourse: Rosehill Gardens
Distance: 1800m
Conditions: Three-year-olds at Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000

2016 Gloaming Stakes Field

The Gloaming Stakes 2016 field of final acceptances and barrier draw were released by Racing NSW on Wednesday September 21 and features 10 three-year-olds including Champagne Stakes winner Prized Icon for James Cummings and the undefeated Team Hawkes-trained Swear.

Check out the official Gloaming Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw below complete with the latest Gloaming Stakes betting odds provided by

2016 Gloaming Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes nominations were taken by Racing NSW on Monday September 19 and feature 16 three-year-old hopefuls including Group 1 winner Prized Icon.

Read the full 2016 Gloaming Stakes Nominations now.

Gloaming Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1978, the Gloaming Stakes has an extensive history of exciting racing and tight results. The Gloaming Stakes is named after Gloaming, who along with Desert Gold previously held the Australasian record of 19 successive wins. Out of 67 starts, Gloaming won 57 and came second 9 times.

The Gloaming Stakes has had a relatively stable history in terms of race location and status. Because of its set weights status and restriction to three year olds, the Gloaming Stakes has long held an important place in NSW racing as a major event to watch and a fertile breeding ground of young black-type winners.

Notable Gloaming Stakes winners include Sky Chase (1987), Tie The Knot (1997), So You Think (2009) and It’s A Dundeel (2012). Gloaming Stakes results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Gloaming Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Gloaming Stakes
1st Veladero 1 minute 50.2 seconds
2nd Honeywine
3rd Prized Icon
Gloaming Stakes
1st Vanbrugh 1 minutre 49.6 seconds
2nd Tatoosh
3rd Man Of Choice
Gloaming Stakes
1st Sweynesse 1 minute 49.5 seconds
2nd Diamond Valores
3rd Pounamu
Gloaming Stakes
1st Complacent 1 minute 49.2 seconds
2nd Savvy Nature
3rd Drago
Gloaming Stakes
1st It’s A Dundeel 1 minute 50.6 seconds
2nd Honorius
3rd Lunar Rise
Gloaming Stakes
1st Strike The Stars 1 minute 49.0 seconds
2nd Doctor Doom
3rd King’s Pact
Gloaming Stakes
1st Retrieve 1 minute 48.2 seconds
2nd Erewhon
3rd Praecido
Gloaming Stakes
1st So You Think 1 minute 50.8 seconds
2nd Gathering
3rd Heraklion
Gloaming Stakes
1st Predatory Pricer 1 minute 51.9 seconds
2nd Stalingrad
3rd Fight And Defend
Gloaming Stakes
1st Race Not Run
Gloaming Stakes
1st All Black Gold 1 minute 49.2 seconds
2nd Tuesday Joy
3rd Sermon
Gloaming Stakes
1st Pendragon 1 minute 50.4 seconds
2nd Power Of Destiny
3rd Duelled
Gloaming Stakes
1st Al Maher 1 minute 49.3 seconds
2nd Savabeel
3rd Outback Prince
Gloaming Stakes
1st Tsuimai 1 minute 49.6 seconds
2nd Terracotta Bay
3rd Square One
Gloaming Stakes
1st Maskerado 1 minute 57.0 seconds
2nd Platinum Scissors
3rd Sportsman
Gloaming Stakes
1st Courvoisier 1 minute 49.7 seconds
2nd Excellerator
3rd Silk Veil
Gloaming Stakes
1st Go Bint 1 minute 59.4 seconds
2nd Dandify
3rd Danachenka