Schillaci Stakes

The Schillaci Stakes 2016 is a Group 2 sprint held at Caulfield Racecourse.

Schillaci Stakes News

Malaguerra scores narrow win in Darley Classic

Malaguerra scores narrow win in Darley Classic

Smart sprinter Malaguerra collected his second Group 1 win with a narrow victory in the Group 1 $1m Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington today. Malaguerra ($9.50) was having his second start for new trainer Peter Gelagotis who was able to get a dream result for the stable following his first up second to Star Turn…

The 2016 Schillaci Stakes is a quality Group 2 thoroughbred race held mid-way through the coveted Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival on Caulfield Guineas Day in October.

The Schillaci Stakes is a 1100m sprint race run under weight-for-age conditions worth a lucrative $400,000 in total prize money. There are a number of other great lead-up races held earlier in the carnival that runners may have previously contested including the Group 2 McEwen Stakes (1000m) in early September.

The 2016 Schillaci Stakes will run on Saturday October 8, 2016.

The feature race at the meeting is the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) but there are four other elite level Melbourne races on the day including the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m) sponsored by, Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m) and the Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m). Other key support races on Caulfield Guineas Day include the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m) and Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes (1200m).

Horses that ran in the Schillaci Stakes will often continue their spring campaigns by competing in the sprint features including Flemington’s Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

2016 Schillaci Stakes
Date: October 8, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1100m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $400,000
Inaugurated: 1970

Schillaci Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Schillaci Stakes odds are detailed below complete with links to the betting markets so you can back your Schillaci Stakes tips in online at

2016 Schillaci Stakes Field

The Schillaci Stakes field and barriers were released by Racing Victoria on Wednesday October 5 and feature a dozen gallopers including early favourite Star Turn and returning BTC Cup winner Malaguerra who is undefeated first-up.

See below for the full 2016 Schillaci Stakes Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a full race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 2617x1100x FLAMBERGE Darren Weir Damian Lane 4 58.5kg 114
2 2111x4160x TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Damien Oliver 2 58.5kg 114
3 1x35313x60 JAPONISME Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 12 58.5kg 109
4 1x0x4388x4 HUCKLEBUCK Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 1 58.5kg 109
5 11x242156x FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Hugh Bowman 7 58.5kg 108
6 13x73525x4 DOTHRAKI Peter & Paul Snowden TBA 3 58.5kg 106
7 211x11619x MALAGUERRA Peter Gelagotis Ben Melham 9 58.5kg 109
8 61x3x015x2 FURNACES John O’Shea James McDonald 5 58.5kg 95
9 x476x12138 THE MONSTAR Brett Cavanough Brad Rawiller 11 58.5kg 97
10 2115x17x35 O’MALLEY Enver Jusufovic Craig Newitt 6 58.5kg 84
11 156×1211 OCEAN EMBERS Shea Eden Dwayne Dunn 10 56.5kg 95
12 31x256x12 STAR TURN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Craig Williams 8 53kg 92

2016 Schillaci Stakes Nominations

The Schillaci Stakes nominations closed on Monday October 3 and feature 16 hopeful sprinters including smart three-year-old Star Turn and three-time Group 1 winner Flamberge.

See below for the official 2016 Schillaci Stakes Nominations and follow the link for more details on the early entries.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 2617x1100x FLAMBERGE G 7 Darren Weir 1 58.5kg 114
2 2111x4160x TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) H 5 Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 2 58.5kg 114
3 1x35313x60 JAPONISME G 4 Chris Waller 3 58.5kg 109
4 1x0x4388x4 HUCKLEBUCK G 6 Phillip Stokes 4 58.5kg 109
5 11x242156x FELL SWOOP G 5 Matthew Dale 5 58.5kg 108
6 13x73525x4 DOTHRAKI G 6 Peter & Paul Snowden 6 58.5kg 106
7 211x11619x MALAGUERRA G 5 Peter Gelagotis 7 58.5kg 109
8 61x3x015x2 FURNACES H 4 John O’Shea 8 58.5kg 95
9 546x21x30x I LOVE IT M 6 John Salanitri 9 56.5kg 97
10 31x256x12 STAR TURN C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 10 53kg 92
11 156×1211 OCEAN EMBERS M 4 Shea Eden 11 56.5kg 95
12 1x34127x42 SHEIDEL M 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 12 56.5kg 102
13 x476x12138 THE MONSTAR G 6 Brett Cavanough 13 58.5kg 97
14 2115x17x35 O’MALLEY G 6 Enver Jusufovic 14 58.5kg 84
15 x460347972 TADDEI TONDO G 7 Gerard Moloney 15 58.5kg 88
16 72x720143x ORUJO G 5 Shawn Mathrick 16 58.5kg 85

Schillaci Stakes History

The first Schillaci Stakes, originally known as the Chirnside Stakes, was run in 1970 when Regal Vista claimed victory. It began as a Principal race run over six furlongs but the race distance was converted to 1200m in 1973. In 1979 the event became a Group 2 race and for one year in 1986 the race was run over 1219m. A few years later in 1988 the distance was permanently decreased to its current length of 1000m. The race name was changed to the Schillaci Stakes in 2000 in honour of the former champion sprinter Schillaci.

Recent Schillaci Stakes Winners:

Year Place Horse Time
2016Schillaci Stakes 1st Star Turn 1 mintue 2.89 seconds
2nd Malaguerra
3rd Fell Swoop
2015Schillaci Stakes 1st Alpha Miss 1 minute 3.55 seconds
2nd Cashed
3rd Lankan Rupee
2014Schillaci Stakes 1st Rubick 56.68 seconds
2nd Platelet
3rd Overreach
2013Schillaci Stakes 1st Unpretentious 57.67 seconds
2nd Pago Rock
3rd Kuroshio
2012Schillaci Stakes 1st Buffering 56.95 seconds
2nd Golden Archer
3rd Stirling Grove
2011Schillaci Stakes 1st Black Caviar 56.73 seconds
2nd Karuta
3rd Stirling Grove
2010Schillaci Stakes 1st Black Caviar 56.68 seconds
2nd Star Witness
3rd General Truce
2009Schillaci Stakes 1st Lucky Secret 55.9 seconds
2nd Apache Cat
3rd Wanted
2008Schillaci Stakes 1st Wilander 58 seconds
2nd Lucky Secret
3rd Gamble Me
2007Schillaci Stakes 1st Gold Edition 57.3 seconds
2nd Royal Asscher
3rd Let Go Thommo
2006Schillaci Stakes 1st Miss Andretti 57.2 seconds
2nd Green Birdie
3rd Nediyms Glow
2005Schillaci Stakes 1st Segments 57.6 seconds
2nd Danerich
3rd Miss Mooney Mooney
2004Schillaci Stakes 1st Patpong 58.2 seconds
2nd Alizes
3rd Regimental Gal
2003Schillaci Stakes 1st Hailbery 56.7 seconds
2nd Dantana
3rd Spinning Hill
2002Schillaci Stakes 1st Spinning Hill 1 minute 9.23 seconds
2nd Flavelon
3rd Mistegic
2001Schillaci Stakes 1st Mistegic 57.6 seconds
2nd Windigo
3rd Falvelon
2000Schillaci Stakes 1st Flavelon 58 seconds
2nd Mannington
3rd Super Elegant