Herbert Power Stakes

Herbert Power Stakes News

2017 Melbourne Cup Target for Darabad

2017 Melbourne Cup Target for Darabad

Imported French galloper Darabad may have had just the one run down under to date but already trainer Robbie Laing has named the Melbourne Cup 2017 as the horse’s major spring target. The five-year-old son of Dansili has had just the eight career starts to date, his sole win being a Listed race over the…

The 2016 Herbert Power Stakes is a Group 2 2400m quality handicap for horses aged three years and over.

Held at Caulfield Racecourse during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Herbert Power Stakes is a highly regarded lead up race to both the Caulfield Cup back at the track / distance the following weekend and Melbourne Cup over the two miles at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

The Herbert Power Stakes winner is exempt from Caulfield Cup ballot, and the double was last completed by Master O’Reilly in 2007.

The 2016 Herbert Power Stakes will be run on Saturday 8th October, 2016 as part of Caulfield Guineas Day at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. The Herbert Power Stakes shares a race program a host of other Group races including the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m), Group 1 Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes (2000m), Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m), Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m) and Group 2 Schillaci Stakes (1100m).

Herbert Power Stakes
Date: 8th October, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group Two
Prize Money: $400,000

Herbert Power Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Herbert Power Stakes odds and betting markets are listed in the table below complete with links to Ladbrokes.com.au for you to lock in your Herbert Power Stakes tips in at the right price.

2016 Herbert Power Stakes Field

The Herbert Power Stakes field was released along with the barrier draw on Wednesday October 5 and features just seven stayers, all of which opened at $10 or under in the markets at Ladbrokes.com.au.

See below for the full 2016 Herbert Power Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw following the link for a detailed race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 5821x2x069 PRINCE OF PENZANCE (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 4 60kg 113
2 2111134×07 HOWARD BE THY NAME Darren Weir Damian Lane 6 53.5kg 100
3 86x8222x30 BIG MEMORY (FR) Tony McEvoy Craig Williams 2 53kg 97
4 x8x1153x92 ASSIGN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ms Katelyn Mallyon 3 53kg 92
5 131130×911 PEMBERLEY (NZ) Ciaron Maher Daniel Stackhouse 1 53kg 89
6 24210×8525 DANDY GENT Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Ms Michelle Payne 7 53kg 88
7 976144×362 MASTER ZEPHYR (GB) Darren Weir Craig Newitt 5 53kg 87

Each year the Herbert Power Stakes field attracts a field of genuine stayers heading towards the Spring Cup races, many of the runners having previous experience in Group 1 company and over the mile and a half distance.

2016 Herbert Power Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Herbert Power Stakes nominations were released by Racing Victoria on Monday October 3 and feature 14 stayers including last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Prince Of Penazance allocated top weight of 60kg.

Check out the official 2016 Herbert Power Stakes Nominations below and follow the link for more information on the entered stayers chasing the Caulfield Cup ballot exemption this year.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 5821x2x069 PRINCE OF PENZANCE (NZ) G 7 Darren Weir 1 60kg 113
2 610x5212x6 THE UNITED STATES (IRE) H 7 Robert Hickmott 2 59kg 111
3 0069x031x2 GALLANTE (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 3 57.5kg 108
4 2111134×07 HOWARD BE THY NAME H 4 Darren Weir 4 53.5kg 100
5 97170×9670 ESCADO G 7 Matt Laurie 5 53.5kg 100
6 86x8222x30 BIG MEMORY (FR) G 7 Tony McEvoy 6 53kg 97
7 009x830x33 FOUNDRY (IRE) G 7 Robert Hickmott 7 53kg 97
8 71x110x266 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) G 6 Lee & Anthony Freedman 8 53kg 95
9 x8x1153x92 ASSIGN (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 9 53kg 92
10 73x7689x04 MANNDAWI (FR) G 7 Darren Weir 10 53kg 90
11 131130×911 PEMBERLEY (NZ) G 5 Ciaron Maher 11 53kg 89
12 24210×8525 DANDY GENT G 5 Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 12 53kg 88
13 976144×362 MASTER ZEPHYR (GB) G 5 Darren Weir 13 53kg 87
14 0x81642x47 THE BANDIT (JPN) H 5 John Sadler 14 53kg 78

Herbert Power Stakes History

Since its inauguration in 1898 when Cocos won, the race has been known by several different names including the Eclipse Stakes, Herbert Power Handicap, Quick-Eze Stakes, Perrier Mineral Water Stakes, Perrier Stakes and the Herbert Power Stakes. First an 8 furlong race, the distance increased to 11 furlongs and 12 furlongs before it became a 2400m event. Originally a Principal race until 1979 when it became a Group Three event for only two years, the Winning Edge Presentations Stakes has several multiple winners including Wakeful (1902-03), Poseidon (1906-07), Alawa (1908-09), Anna Carlovna (1913-14), Easingwold (1923-24), Royal Charter (1925,27) and Dashing Beau (1949-50).

Recent Herbert Power Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Assign 2 minutes 29.1 seconds
2nd Big Memory
3rd Pemberley
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Amralah 2 minutes 27.7 seconds
2nd Excess Knowledge
3rd Bohemian Lily
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Big Memory 2 minutes 26.7 seconds
2nd Signoff
3rd Let’s Make Adeal
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Sea Moon 2 minutes 29.98 seconds
2nd Oasis Bloom
3rd Simenon
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Shahwardi 2 minutes 28.82 seconds
2nd Excluded
3rd Exceptionally
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Shewan 2 minutes 30.75 seconds
2nd Tanby
3rd Moyenne Corniche
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Linton 2 minutes 29.43 seconds
2nd Cedarberg
3rd Precedence
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Alcopop 2 minutes 27.23 seconds
2nd Shocking
3rd Hissing Sid
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Dolphin Jo 2 minutes 30.2 seconds
2nd The Wolverine
3rd Cefalu
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Master O’Reilly 2 minutes 30 seconds
2nd Zavite
3rd Reggie
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Growl 2 minutes 29.3 seconds
2nd Dracs Back
3rd Siamun
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Leica Falcon 2 minutes 29.5 seconds
2nd Sarrera
3rd Hugs Dancer
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Rizon 2 minutes 31.7 seconds
2nd Grey Song
3rd Zazzman
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Yakama 2 minutes 30.7 seconds
2nd Physique
3rd Vicksburg
Herbert Power Stakes
1st The Secondmortgage 2 minutes 29.8 seconds
2nd Requiem
3rd Thong Classic
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Freemason 2 minutes 30.7 seconds
2nd The Secondmortgage
3rd Rain Gauge
Herbert Power Stakes
1st Majestic Avenue 2 minutes 31.4 seconds
2nd Bulkhead
3rd Bohemiath