Toorak Handicap

The Toorak Handicap 2017 is a Group 1 mile event held on Caulfield Guineas Day.

Toorak Handicap News

Smerdon Open to Toorak Handicap Target for Oak Door

Smerdon Open to Toorak Handicap Target for Oak Door

Victorian horseman Robert Smerdon is plotting a path to next month’s 2017 Toorak Handicap with his smart entire Oak Door, but that probably won’t include a Moonee Valley run this weekend.   Commands four-year-old Oak Door holds an acceptance for Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes Day on Saturday, but could bypass the meeting to avoid a clash with star Japanese import Brave Smash.   Now prepared by the…

The 2017 Toorak Handicap is held midway through the premier racing carnival in Australia, the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Taking place on a Saturday in early – mid October each year on the Caulfield Guineas Day, this 1600m middle distance event is one of four elite Group 1 races held at Caulfield at the meeting along  withthe Caulfield Guineas (1600m), Thousand Guineas (1600m) and Caulfield Stakes (2000m). Worth $500,000 in total prize money and run under open handicap conditions, it is a fantastic lead up to some of the other middle distanced carnival races like the Group 2 Crystal Mile (1600m) on Cox Plate Day or the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) at Flemington on Victoria Derby Day for fillies and mares.

The Toorak Handicap 2017 will be run as Race 8 on Caulfield Guineas Day – Saturday October 7 2017.

2017 Toorak Handicaps Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

There are a number of excellent races runners can compete in prior to the Toorak that will give punters a good guide for the race. Entries may come via earlier handicap events like the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) a fortnight before. It is a race that attracts the best in form sprinters and is considered one of the leading mile races in the Spring Carnival. Winners are usually handy gallopers more so than stayers suited to the longer distanced Cup races. Notable winners include Regal Roller (2004), Umrum (2000 & 1999), Poetic King (1996), Cole Diesel (1989) and Canny Lass (1986).

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield produced all four Toorak Handicap winners from 2012 – 2015 including Trust In A Gust (2014) who completed the double.

Toorak Handicap 2017
Date: Saturday October 7 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Conditions: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
Inaugurated: 1881

Toorak Handicap Betting Odds

The latest Toorak Handicap odds and betting markets complete with links to are detailed below for you to back your Toorak Handicap tips at the right price.

2017 Toorak Handicap Field

The 2017 Toorak Handicap field was released by Racing Victoria on Wednesday October 5 and features 13 hopefuls including two for trainer Darren Weir who has won the past two editions of the Caulfiled Guineas Day feature.

See below for the full 2016 Toorak Handicap Final Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a detailed race preview.

2017 Toorak Handicap Nominations

The Toorak Handicap nominations feature the season’s top milers and Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes graduates. The Toorak Handicap nominations closed on October 3 and feature 15 hopefuls including Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner Bon Aurum.

See below for the official 2016 Toorak Handicap nominations and follow the link to read more.

Toorak Handicap History

First run in 1881, Josephine won the first running of the Toorak Handicap. The race has been known as a few different names over the years. From 1981-1984 it was called The IXL, then from 1985-1989 the name was changed to The Elders Mile. From 1990 onwards the event has been registered under its current title, the Toorak Handicap. The race started as a Principal event run over eight furlongs until 1890. In 1891 the race distance was increased to nine furlongs for one year and then in 1892 it reverted back to the original eight furlongs. When the metric system came to Australia the length was converted to 1600m in 1972. The Toorak reached Group 1 status not long after in 1979.

Toorak Handicap Results

The Group 1 Toorak Handicap winners and place getters since 2000.





Toorak Handicap
1st He’s Our Rokkii 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Great Esteem
3rd Tivaci
Toorak Handicap
1st Lucky Hussler 1 minute 34.5 seconds
2nd Disposition
3rd Stratum Star
Toorak Handicap
1st Trust In A Gust 1 minute 35.2 seconds
2nd Speediness
3rd Desert Jeuney
Toorak Handicap
1st Solzhenitsyn 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd Trevieres
3rd Blackie
Toorak Handicap
1st Solzhenitsyn 1 minute 35.25 seconds
2nd Spirit Song
3rd Yosei
Toorak Handicap
1st King Mufhasa 1 minute 36.29 seconds
2nd King’s Rose
3rd Luen Yat Forever
Toorak Handicap
1st More Joyous 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd We’re Gonna Rock
3rd Proud Judge
Toorak Handicap
1st Allez Wonder 1 minute 35 seconds
2nd Gold Salute
3rd Rock Kingdom
Toorak Handicap
1st Alamosa 1 minute 36.9 seconds
2nd Rockwood
3rd Pillar Of Hercules
Toorak Handicap
1st Divine Madonna 1 minute 37.3 seconds
2nd Niconero
3rd Wonderful World
Toorak Handicap
1st Red Dazzler 1 minute 37.5 seconds
2nd Rewaaya
3rd Niconero
Toorak Handicap
1st Barely A Moment 1 minute 37.9 seconds
2nd Super Kid
3rd Calveen
Toorak Handicap
1st Regal Roller 1 minute 37.4 seconds
2nd Oscar Warrior
3rd Infinite Grace
Toorak Handicap
1st Roman Arch 1 minute 36 seconds
2nd Fields Of Omagh
3rd Umrum
Toorak Handicap
1st Shot Of Thunder 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Umrum
3rd Pernod
Toorak Handicap
1st Show A Heart 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd La Zagaletta
3rd Shot Of Thunder
Toorak Handicap
1st Umrum 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd Go Flash Go
3rd Crawl