Expressway Stakes

The Expressway Stakes is an early Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival Group 2 held at the start of the year as a lead-up to the Group 1 autumn races.

2019 Expressway Stakes Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

The 2019 Expressway Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age event raced over 1200m, open to sprinters aged three and over. Held at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse, the Expressway Stakes is the city’s first weight-for-age race of the New Year and suits horses that are in good form and ready for a new season of racing.

The $200,000 Expressway Stakes is also known as a good lead-up to the Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m) held in two weeks time at Royal Randwick. Horses may come into the Expressway Stakes first-up in early February and continue onto tougher autumn feature races such as the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m) the following month.

The Expressway Stakes 2019 runs on Saturday February 2, 2019.

2019 Expressway Stakes
Date: Saturday February 2, 2019
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2018 Expressway Results

  • 1st:  TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

2019 Expressway Stakes Odds & Betting

The Expressway Stakes 2019 odds will be published below as soon as betting on the Group 2 at Rosehill is released.

2019 Expressway Stakes Field

The Expressway Stakes field attracts a top class line-up of early autumn sprint types, many eyeing Group 1 autumn races later in the season.

The 2019 Expressway Stakes field is set for release on January 30, 2019 will be published in full below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 304x24120x HARTNELL (GB) James Cummings Kerrin McEvoy 4 58.5kg 117
2 14311x342x TRAPEZE ARTIST Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 6 58.5kg 116
3 232x17242x LE ROMAIN Kris Lees James McDonald 3 58.5kg 115
4 23x0150x43 DOTHRAKI Peter & Paul Snowden Joshua Parr 5 58.5kg 108
5 1117x4805x LANCIATO (NZ) Mark Newnham Ms Rachel King 1 58.5kg 102
6 13x16041x1 ALIZEE James Cummings Blake Shinn 2 56.5kg 113

2019 Expressway Stakes Nominations

The Expressway Stakes nominations are usually announced on the Monday prior to the race. Because of it’s a major lead up race to later feature events, the Expressway Stakes nominations usually include a high number of horses who are intent on an extended Autumn Racing Carnival campaign in both Sydney and Melbourne.

The 2019 Expressway Stakes nominations are set for release on Monday January 29, 2018 and will be published below.

Expressway Stakes History

First held in 1974 as a principal race, the Expressway Stakes was won by I’m Scarlet and remained that status until 1979 when it became a Group 2 race.

Between 1975 and 1980, the Expressway Stakes was run over a distance of 1100m before being moved out to 1200m. Plenty of top class gallopers have taken out the race and notable Expressway Stakes winners include Saintly (1996), Tie The Knot (2001), Lonhro (2003) and more recently Rangirangdoo (2010) and Appearance (2014).

The Expressway Stakes winners and results going back to 2000 are listed below.

Recent Expressway Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Expressway Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Expressway Stakes
1st Trapeze Artist 1 minute 10.41 seconds
2nd Showtime
3rd Addictive Nature
Expressway Stakes
1st Music Magnate 1 minute 9.48 seconds
2nd Kuro
3rd Ball Of Muscle
Expressway Stakes
1st Our Boy Malachi 1 minute 11.65 seconds
2nd Solicit
3rd Big Money
Expressway Stakes
1st Weary 1 minute 10.66 seconds
2nd Driefontein
3rd Territory
Expressway Stakes
1st Appearance 1 minute 9.06 seconds
2nd River Lad
3rd Sizzling
Expressway Stakes
1st Happy Galaxy 1 minute 9.82 seconds
2nd Skytrain
3rd Centennial Park
Expressway Stakes
1st Rain Affair 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Centennial Park
3rd Shoot Out
Expressway Stakes
1st Centennial Park 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Love Conquers All
3rd Hot Danish
Expressway Stakes
1st Rangirangdoo 1 minute 12.66 seconds
2nd Dao Dao
3rd McClintock
Expressway Stakes
1st Burdekin Blues 1 minute 9.76 seconds
2nd Gold Trail
3rd Hurried Choice
Expressway Stakes
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 9.6 seconds
2nd He’s Canny
3rd Sniper’s Bullet
Expressway Stakes
1st Mentality 1 minute 9.96 seconds
2nd Fashions Afield
3rd More Than Lucky
Expressway Stakes
1st Court’s In Session 1 minute 9.15 seconds
2nd Shania Dane
3rd Primus
Expressway Stakes
1st Court’s In Session 1 minute 9.51 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Grand Armee
Expressway Stakes
1st Sportsman 1 minute 8.37 seconds
2nd Thorn Park
3rd Excellerator
Expressway Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 10.66 seconds
2nd Belle Du Jour
3rd Carael Boy
Expressway Stakes
1st Ateates 1 minute 11.23 seconds
2nd Viscount
3rd Caissa
Expressway Stakes
1st Tie The Knot 1 minute 9.98 seconds
2nd Referral
3rd Landsighting
Expressway Stakes
1st Mr. Innocent 1 minute 9.25 seconds
2nd Adam
3rd Commands

Spring Racing

Santa Ana Lane Set for Everest...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphi...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphitrite Claims Impressive Vanity Win

It wasn’t perfect, but Amphitrite looks well on track for a strong run...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Stil...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Still The Goal, Golden Eagle ‘Plan B’

Three-time Group 1 winner The Autumn Sun has opened as the favourite following...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite in the 2018 Kingston Town Classic field

The lightly weighted Arcadia Queen was installed as the short priced favourite...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbot...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbottom Stakes

The Darren Weir trained Voodoo Lad broke through for his maiden Group 1 win in...

Horse Racing Today

2019 Ipswich Cup Results: Berg...

2019 Ipswich Cup Day: Scratchi...

2019 Ipswich Cup Day: Scratchings & Track Report

The Queensland Winter Racing Carnival heads southwest of Brisbane to Ipswich...

2019 Stradbroke Handicap: Trek...

2019 Stradbroke Handicap: Trekking Wins for Godolphin

Godolphin found themselves back in the winners’ circle at Eagle Farm on...

Mr Quickie Proves Too Strong i...

Mr Quickie Proves Too Strong in 2019 Queensland Derby

The Phillip Stokes-trained Mr Quickie is now a Group 1 winner after claiming...

Prince Fawaz Wins the 2019 J.J...

Prince Fawaz Wins the 2019 J.J. Atkins Plate

The Anthony Cummings-trained Price Fawaz caused a boilover at Eagle Farm on...

Race Results

2019 Ipswich Cup Results: Bergerac Beats Sampson

Sixties Groove Comes Through to Win the 2019 Brisbane Cup

2019 Stradbroke Handicap: Trekking Wins for Godolphin

Mr Quickie Proves Too Strong in 2019 Queensland Derby

Prince Fawaz Wins the 2019 J.J. Atkins Plate

Race Previews

2019 Tatt’s Tiara Field & Barriers: Favourites Draw Wide

Spright Wears The Everest Hopes in Tatt’s Tiara 2019

Baccarat Baby Sweats on Tatt’s Tiara 2019 Start

Sampson Among 2019 Tattersall’s Cup Nominations

2019 Tattersall’s Tiara Nominations: Five for Waller

Fields & Form

2019 Tatt’s Tiara Field & Barriers: Favourites Draw Wide

Sampson Among 2019 Tattersall’s Cup Nominations

2019 Tattersall’s Tiara Nominations: Five for Waller

2019 Ipswich Cup Day: Scratchings & Track Report

Hush Writer Heads 2019 Winter Cup Field & Odds