Winterbottom Stakes

The Winterbottom Stakes runs at Ascot Racecourse on during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival each November.

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Winterbottom Stakes News

First Among Equals Targets Winterbottom Stakes 2017

First Among Equals Targets Winterbottom Stakes 2017

A second shot at the 2017 Winterbottom Stakes in Perth this summer is on the cards for the Simon Miller-trained sprint star First Among Equals who races this weekend at Belmont Park. The rising six-year-old was last seen running a worse than mid-field 12th behind Vega Magic at Morphettville on May 20 in the Group…

The Group 1 2017 Winterbottom Stakes is an exciting 1200m sprint held in late November annually at the scenic Ascot Racecourse in Perth. Run under weight-for-age conditions, the contenders aged three-years-old and up compete for the lucrative prize purse of $1 million. The event is conducted on day two of the major three-day summer racing carnival in Western Australia, which also features the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) the weekend before and the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) the following Saturday.

As the premier sprint event in Perth, entries are generally handy local sprinters and the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1200m) at the same track and distance a fortnight earlier is a key lead-up.

With the race growing in prize money and prestige,  interstate raiders are more commonly making the trip over to WA to take on the locals in the Winterbottom Stakes field.

Runners that do well in the Winterbottom Stakes may compete in the most prestigious weight-for-age event at the carnival, the Kingston Town Classic the following week. Horses, however, not quite up to the standard needed for the Kingston Town may continue on to contend other weight-for-age events in Perth including the Group 3 AJ Sachill Stakes (1400m) a fortnight later.

Winterbottom Stakes
Date: November 25, 2017
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1 million
Inaugurated: 1952

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Results

See below for the full Winterbottom Stakes 2016 Results – following the link for a full race rundown – where Sydney raider Takedown defeated former Perth-trained mare Sheidel, while the local Rock Magic finished off the trifecta.

Winterbottom Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Winterbottom Stakes odds will be listed below on the sprinters facing off in the field each summer.

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Field

The Winterbottom Stakes field features some of the top horses out of Western Australia. It’s not unusual for some particularly talented horses to make the journey from the eastern seaboard to enter the Winterbottom Stakes field each summer.

The 2017 Winterbottom Stakes field was released by Perth Racing on Monday, November 21 and features a dozen sprinters led by Darley Classic winners Malaguerra (2016) and Terravista (2014).

See below for the official 2016 Winterbottom Stakes Field & Barrier Draw. 

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Nominations

Winterbottom Stakes nominations usually feature a fairly talented range of horses from stables right across the country including more and more visitors from the eastern states.

The original 2016 Winterbottom Stakes nominations features 57 early entries. The latest round of scratchings has revealed the below 13 hopeful sprinters.

Winterbottom Stakes History

The Winterbottom Stakes began as a principal race run over seven furlongs and was first run in 1952 when Raconteur claimed victory. In 1973 the race distance was converted to 1400m and the event gained Group 2 status in 1979. The length was decreased to its current 1200m sprint distance in 1993.

A number of high quality horses have claimed victory in the Winterbottom Stakes including Takeover Target (2008), Miss Andretti (2005) and Ellicorsam (2004) who holds the current race record of 1:08.6.

Since 2011 the Winterbottom Stakes has run as a Group 1 feature, having achieved elite level status.

Winterbottom Stakes results since 2000 can be found below.

Winterbottom Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Winterbottom Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Takedown 1 minute 10.27 seconds
2nd Sheidel
3rd Rock Magic
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Buffering 1 minute 8.1 seconds
2nd Waterman’s Bay
3rd Fast ‘N’ Rocking
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Magnifisio 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Watermans Bay
3rd Shining Knight
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Buffering 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Moment Of Change
3rd Watermans Boy
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Barakey 1 minute 9.6 seconds
2nd Power Princess
3rd Spirit Of Boom
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Ortensia 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Rarefied
3rd Grand Nirvana
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Hadabeclorka 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd King Cool Cat
3rd Whitefriars
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Ortensia 1 minute 8.56 seconds
2nd Idyllic Prince
3rd Black In Time
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 9.1 seconds
2nd Apache Cat
3rd Marasco
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Glory Hunter 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Charlie Beau
3rd Dark Target
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Marasco 1 minute 10 seconds
2nd Grasspatch Girl
3rd Electric General
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Miss Andretti 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Avenida Madero
3rd Rescuer
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Ellicorsam 1 minute 8.6 seconds
2nd Redwoldt
3rd Modem
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Hardrada 1 minute 11.3 seconds
2nd Irish Pride
3rd Golden Delicious
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Hardrada 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd Kaprats
3rd Fair Alert
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Fair Alert 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Old Fashion
3rd Corporate Bruce
Winterbottom Stakes
1st Noble Sky 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Star System
3rd Victory Trump