Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

The 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is one of two Group 1 spring races held on Underwood Stakes Day at Caulfield Racecourse on the same Sunday that Sydney hosts the NRL Grand Final.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes News

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017 Nominations Feature Royal Symphony

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017 Nominations Feature Royal Symphony

Tony McEvoy’s Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas favourite Royal Symphony won’t have an unusual lead-up into the mile classic via a run against the older horses this Sunday in Caulfield’s 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes despite being nominated for the event. Run as one of six elite levels across a bumper weekend of racing in Sydney and…

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017, previously named the Invitation Stakes, is a Group 1 open handicap held at Caulfield Racecourse in late September or early October during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Run on the same day as the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m), the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a good lead-up to the Group 1  Toorak Handicap (1600m) held a fortnight later.  From 2012 – 2016 all four Toorak Handicap winners had their final lead-up in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, including Trust In A Gust (2014) who did the double. The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a 1400m sprint offering $500,000 in prize money and it, along with the Underwood Stakes, take place on the Sunday of the AFL Grand Final long weekend.

Other highlights of Underwood Stakes Day include the Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude and the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude for three-year-olds heading towards the respective Group 1 mile races back at Caulfield Racecourse in a fortnight.

The 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes will be run on Sunday October 1, 2017.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes
Date: Sunday October 1, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting

The season’s updated Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017 odds and betting market links to will be provided below the week of the race.

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Field

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of middle-distance gallopers each spring that may have had a lead-up run in a race like the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) at the same track / distance earlier in the season, or the Group 2 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) run down the Flemington straight a fortnight prior. Bon Hoffa (2007) was the last horse to complete the Bobbie Lewis – Sir Rupert double when the former only held Group 3 status.

The official 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field of final acceptances is released by Racing Victoria on the Wednesday of race week and will be provided in full below.

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

The 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations close on the Monday leading up to Underwood Stakes Day and will be provided in full below.

The official Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2017 early entries attracted a bumper 24 hopefuls including the flying Bons Away for last year’s winning trainer Ciaron Maher who won a Listed race at the track only last weekend, while the nominated three-year-old Royal Symphony will avoid the older gallopers in favour of a run in the Group 3 Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m).

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 x5240x48x5 ATTENTION H 4 Peter & Paul Snowden 90
2 157×321111 BONS AWAY G 4 Ciaron Maher 98
3 x151611125 CANNYESCENT G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 96
4 9x60229x42 CHARMED HARMONY G 8 John Sadler 101
5 7x2504x527 EL DIVINO H 4 Darren Weir 91
6 7121175×31 GRANDE ROSSO G 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 103
7 x073397x00 GREAT ESTEEM G 7 Stuart Webb 94
8 4313x1119x IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) G 7 James Cummings 114
9 29x3380x53 LAND OF PLENTY H 4 Grahame Begg 80
10 x791x705x6 LUCKY HUSSLER G 8 Darren Weir 111
11 254869x07x MAGICUS G 6 Tony Romeo 72
12 2413311×12 MR SNEAKY G 4 Anthony Freedman 90
13 111×1 ROYAL SYMPHONY C 3 Tony McEvoy 85
14 24x1401x56 ROYAL TUDOR G 5 Rodney Ollerton 90
15 7x49155x34 SANTA ANA LANE G 5 Anthony Freedman 96
16 x6321220x0 SAVILE ROW (NZ) H 4 Michael Moroney 98
17 1112x211x2 SCALES OF JUSTICE G 5 Lindsey Smith 110
18 114173×546 SNITZSON H 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 94
19 x4030x2283 SO SI BON H 4 Robbie Laing 95
20 23276×1531 SOVEREIGN NATION G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 97
21 x41212x221 THEANSWERMYFRIEND G 4 Robert Smerdon 96
22 09x4x22x53 TOSEN STARDOM (JPN) H 7 Darren Weir 109
23 210x257x14 VOODOO LAD G 6 Darren Weir 108
24 353510×682 WYNDSPELLE (NZ) H 4 Michael Kent 84

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes History

The first recorded win of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes was in 1951 by Jovial Lad. The event has since then been won two consecutive times by several horses starting with Anonyme in 1961-62. Tauto then won in 1970-71 and Testa Rossa placed first in 1999 and 2000. Formerly known as the Invitation Stakes, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has held Group 1 status since 1979 and now takes place on the same Sunday Sydney hosts the NRL Grand Final.

Recent Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners

Year Winner Second Third Time
2016 Bon Aurum Voodoo Lad Fast ‘n’ Rocking 1:23.4
2015 Stratum Star Disposition Under The Louvre 1:22.0
2014 Trust In A Gust Dissident Bull Point 1:23.0
2013 Rebel Dane Fontelina Solzhenitsyn 1:23.9
2012 Moment Of Change We’re Gonna Rock Solzhenitsyn 1:22.1
2011 Toorak Toff Pinnacles Master Of Design 1:21.9
2010 Response No Evidence Needed Woorim 1:22.23
2009 Turffontein Stickpin Raffaello 1:25.3
2008 Orange County Bon Hoffa Turffontein 1:24.3
2007 Bon Hoffa Niconero Wonderful World 1:22.5
2006 Rewaaya Miss Andretti Undue 1:23.4
2005 Barely A Moment Super Kid Sky Cuddle 1:25.7
2004 Regal Roller Our Egyptian Raine Alinghi 1:24.2
2003 Exceed & Excel Reactive Titanic Jack 1:21.2
2002 Pernod Bel Espirit Royal Code 1:22.6
2001 Mr Murphy Fubu Umrum 1:23.5
2000 Testa Rossa Camarena Porto Roca 1:21.9
1999 Testa Rossa Nina Haraka Redoutes Choice 1:22.1
1998 Lord Luskin Theatre Haltermann 1:23.3
1997 Cut Up Rough Tarnpir Lane Delsole 1:22.9
1996 Encosta De Lago Scenic Royale Lochrae 1:24.2
1995 Our Maizcay Cut Up Rough You Remember 1:22.3
1994 Poetic King Lets Cut Loose Subastral 1:23.2
1993 Black Rouge Lets Hurry Primacy 1:23.3
1992 Mannerism Black Rouge Vows 1:26.2
1991 St Jude Our Dawn Star Cole Diesel 1:27.4
1990 Submariner Plush Embassy Crimson Medal 1:23.6