Australian Cup

Australian Cup News

Australian Cup-Bound Protectionist to Trial Next Week

Australian Cup-Bound Protectionist to Trial Next Week

Connections of reigning Melbourne Cup winner Protectionist have confirmed the former German will trial next week ahead of his autumn return with the 2015 Australian Cup first on the agenda.

2015 Australian Cup-bound Protectionist is set to trial at Newcastle next Monday gearing up for his autumn return. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

Prepared by Andreas Wohler for his barnstorming four length ...

The 2015 Australian Cup, officially known as the Dubai Australian Cup, is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held in March during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

The $1 million Australian Cup is one of many races held on Flemington’s Super Saturday, which offers a six group stakes races including the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap.

The race is a 2000m event ideal for strong staying horses. The most recent lead-up race to the Australian Cup is the Group 2 St George Stakes (1800m).

The 2015 Australian Cup will be run on 7th of March, 2015.

Australian Cup
Date: 7th of March, 2015
Racecourse: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000

Australian Cup History

First won by Barwon in 1861, the Australian Cup was originally a 3600m test of endurance until 1943 when the distance was decreased to 3500m. Twenty years later the distance was further decreased to 3200m, however the following year in 1964 the race became a 2000m event.

The fastest finishing time for the Australian Cup is held by the legendary Makybe Diva. In 2005, the mare finished the race in 1 minute 58.7 seconds. In 2007 the Australian Cup changed locations by being temporarily raced at Caulfield Racecourse.

Recent Australian Cup Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Australian Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Australian Cup
1st Fiorente 2 minutes 03.64 seconds
2nd Green Moon
3rd Foreteller
Australian Cup
1st Super Cool 2 minutes 0.93 seconds
2nd Fiveandahalfstar
3rd Tanby
Australian Cup
1st Manighar 2 minutes 01.2 seconds
2nd Southern Speed
3rd Americain
Australian Cup
1st Shocking 2 minutes 0.9 seconds
2nd Linton
3rd Playing God
Australian Cup
1st Zipping 2 minutes 3.69 seconds
2nd Sirmione
3rd Moatize
Australian Cup
1st Niconero 2 minutes 3.1 seconds
2nd Theseo
3rd Zagreb
Australian Cup
1st Sirmione 2 minutes 0.8 seconds
2nd Princess Coup
3rd Casino Prince
Australian Cup
1st Pompeii Ruler 2 minutes 1.5 seconds
2nd Marasco
3rd Tawqeet
Australian Cup
1st Roman Arch 2 minutes 2.8 seconds
2nd Candy Vale
3rd Our Smoking Joe
Australian Cup
1st Makybe Diva 1 minute 58.7 seconds
2nd Winning Belle
3rd Lad Of The Manor
Australian Cup
1st Lonhro 2 minutes 1.6 seconds
2nd Delzao
3rd Elvstroem
Australian Cup
1st Northerly 2 minutes 1.4 seconds
2nd Natural Blitz
3rd Don Eduardo
Australian Cup
1st Old Comrade 1 minute 59.8 seconds
2nd Northerly
3rd Rain Gauge
Australian Cup
1st Northerly 1 minute 59.4 seconds
2nd Hit The Roof
3rd Kaapstad Way
Australian Cup
1st Intergaze 2 minutes 0.9 seconds
2nd Arena
3rd Streak