Mackinnon Stakes

The 2015 Mackinnon Stakes will be held at Flemington Racecourse on Saturday October 31st.

Mackinnon Stakes News

No Aurie’s Star 2015 for Ihtsahymn

No Aurie’s Star 2015 for Ihtsahymn

The attrition rate for Saturday’s 2015 Aurie’s Star Handicap at Flemington Racecourse continues to rise with the Patrick Payne-trained Ihtsahymn the latest runner confirmed as a non-acceptor for the opening Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival Group race.

Patrick Payne will run Ihtsahymn in a 1400m open handicap at Flemington in Saturday over the 2015 Aurie’s Star Handicap. Photo: Daniel Costello....

The 2015 Mackinnon Stakes is the final major lead-up race to the Melbourne Cup, held just three days later.

Held on Victoria Derby day, the event runs alongside three other Group 1 races including the Victoria Derby, the Coolmore Stud Stakes and the Myer Classic.

The Mackinnon Stakes is usually targeted by horses who have previously contested the Cox Plate the week before. The Cox Plate-Mackinnon Stakes double is a popular punt.

Held at Flemington Racecourse in October/November, the Mackinnon Stakes is a 2000m weight for age race worth $1,000,000 in prize money.

The 2015 Mackinnon Stakes will run on Saturday October 31st.

Mackinnon Stakes 2015
Date: October 31st, 2015
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000

2015 Mackinnon Stakes Field

The Mackinnon Stakes field usually attracts a host of Group 1 and 2 winners. With a considerable amount of prize money up for grabs at $1 million, some of the best weight-for-agers on the racing circuit target the Mackinnon Stakes field as one of their main events. It takes a special combination of finishing speed and staying power to be successful in the elite Mackinnon Stakes field.

The 2015 Mackinnon Stakes field will be published here.

2015 Mackinnon Stakes Nominations

The Mackinnon Stakes nominations tend to attract a genuinely talented selection of horses. The prize money, prestige and weight for age conditions ensure that the best horses from a range of preparations enter the Mackinnon Stakes nominations.

The 2015 Mackinnon Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Mackinnon Stakes History

First run in 1869, the first winner of the Mackinnon Stakes was the famous racehorse Glencoe. Named after former VRC chairman L.K.S. Mackinnon, the event has seen many winners go on to win the Melbourne Cup including At Talaq in 1986, Empire Rose in 1998, Let’s Elope in 1991 and Rogan Josh in 1999.

The triple win was claimed by Wakeful after winning the Mackinnon Stakes three years in a row in 1901 to 1903. However plenty of horses have managed to win the race including Eurythmic in 1920-21, Phar Lap in 1930-31, Peter Pan in 1932, 34, Beau Vite in 1940-41, Tranquil Star in 1944-45, Comic Court in 1949-50, Rising Fast in 1954-55 and Belmura Lad in 1980-81.

The Mackinnon Stakes was originally known as the Melbourne Stakes prior to being renamed in 1937.

Since 1988, Rogan Josh holds the record for the fastest winning time after his victory in 1999 with 2 minutes 0.3 seconds. 2000 winner Oliver Twist holds the slowest winning record with 2 minutes 5.4 seconds.

Mackinnon Stakes Winners

Look through the winners of the Mackinnon Stakes since 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
MacKinnon Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Happy Trails 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd He’s Your Man
3rd Farraaj
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Side Glance 2 minutes 3.59 seconds
2nd Dear Demi
3rd Moriarty
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Alcopop 2 minutes 1.26 seconds
2nd Glass Harmonium
3rd Ocean Park
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Glass Harmonium 2 minutes 2.72 seconds
2nd Mourayan
3rd Rekindled Interest
MacKinnon Stakes
1st So You Think 2 minutes 4.92 seconds
2nd Descarado
3rd Ginga Dude
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Scenic Shot 2 minutes 3:46 seconds
2nd Miss Maren
3rd Viewed
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Thesio 2 minutes 3.8 seconds
2nd Barbaricus
3rd Sirmione
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Sirmione 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd Princess Coup
3rd Zipping
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Desert War 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd Growl
3rd Aqua dAmore
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Lad Of The Manor 2 minutes 1.7 seconds
2nd Our Smoking Joe
3rd Lachlan River
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Grand Armee 2 minutes 0.9 seconds
2nd Confectioner
3rd Vouvray
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Casual Pass 2 minutes 5.8 seconds
2nd Pentastic
3rd Fields Of Omagh
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Lonhro 2 minutes 2.6 seconds
2nd Royal Code
3rd Distinctly Secret
MacKinnon Stakes
1st La Bella Dama 2 minutes 1.5 seconds
2nd Hill Of Grace
3rd Emission
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Oliver Twist 2 minutes 5.4 seconds
2nd Camarena
3rd Slavonic