Epsom Handicap

The 2016 Epsom Handicap is a Group 1 race run at Royal Randwick on Saturday 1st October as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Epsom Handicap News

That’s A Good Idea Wins Strong Randwick Trial

That’s A Good Idea Wins Strong Randwick Trial

That’s A Good Idea was scratched from last weekend’s Group 2 Missile Stakes (1200m), but remains primed for his next campaign target after cruising to a comfortable barrier trial win at Royal Randwick this morning. Reasonably ineffective on heavy going, trainers Peter & Paul Snowden did not want That’s A Good Idea to complete a…

The Group 1 Epsom Handicap 2016 is the premier handicap event of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival held in early October. Run at Royal Randwick Racecourse, the 1600m open handicap race, the Epsom Handicap is one of the two biggest mile races at the course. The other is the Doncaster Handicap held in April during ‘The Championships’. Held on the same day as the Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m) and the Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m) for three-year-old fillies, the Epsom Handicap offers $1,000,000 in prize money. It has been dominated by local Sydney milers in recent years including the Chris Waller-trained Boban (2013), He’s Your Man (2014) and subsequent Cox Plate winning mare Winx (2015).

2016 Epsom Handicap
Date: Saturday 1 October 2016
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: 3YO+ Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1 000,000

2016 Epsom Handicap Betting

The updated Epsom Handicap 2016 betting markets are now out at Ladbrokes.com.au following the release of the field. It is a tight market with the likes of last start George Main runner-up Hauraki, the top weight Palentino and the Chris Waller-trained McCreery battling it out for top spot in the 2016 Epsom Handicap odds.

2016 Epsom Handicap Field

The 2016 Epsom Handicap field was released by Racing NSW at 9:00am (AEST) on Tuesday, September 27, and features 13 hopeful milers including Darren Weir’s last start Makybe Diva Stakes winner in Melbourne Palentino.

Read more about the 2016 Epsom Handicap field of final acceptances.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 1x7212x451 PALENTINO Darren Weir Mark Zahra 9 57kg 111
2 x332722x12 HAURAKI John O’Shea James McDonald 10 56kg 109
3 x12217x222 LE ROMAIN Kris Lees Hugh Bowman 3 55.5kg 108
4 11x4523x56 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 1 55kg 107
5 151x1261x7 MIGHTY LUCKY Fred Cowell Chris O’Brien 12 54.5kg 106
6 99x4249x23 DIBAYANI (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 11 54kg 105
7 2380x05x61 SONS OF JOHN Jason Attard Glen Boss 13 53kg 103
8 14101110×1 MACKINTOSH (NZ) Chris Waller Tommy Berry 2 52kg 101
9 2x21x62511 MCCREERY (GB) Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 4 51.5kg 100
10 231122×416 HEAVENS ABOVE Tim Martin Corey Brown 8 51kg 103
11 11x0649x54 VANBRUGH Chris Waller Craig Newitt 7 51kg 99
12 887203×522 TORGERSEN (NZ) Chris Waller Ms Kathy O’Hara 5 50kg 90
13 31x116x141 FABRIZIO Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Johan Victoire 6 50kg 83

2016 Epsom Handicap Nominations

The 2016 Epsom Handicap nominations were released on September 19 and feature 37 hopeful milers.

Check out the full 2016 Epsom Handicap nominations by following the link.

Below are the latest all-in Epsom Handicap 2016 odds on the nominated horses provided by Ladbrokes.com.au.

Epsom Handicap History

The Epsom Handicap was first won by Dundee in 1863 and has quite a few dual winners including Toi Port in 1963-64, Super Impose in 1990-91 and Desert War in 2004-05. Due to the Equine Flu, the race was not held in 2007. If you think the history on this race can help you in getting an edge in the market you can join any of the featured bookmakers on our partner site Freebets.com.au

The slowest winning time was recorded in 1952 by High Law with 1 minute 43 seconds and the fastest time was recorded in 2001 by Final Fantasy with 1 minute 22.45 seconds.

In 2015 Winx won the Epsom Handicap, the third straight champion for trainer Chris Waller, and went on to make history taking out Melbourne’s Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) at weight-for-age next start.

Epsom Handicap Winners

Recent winners of the Group 1 Epsom Handicap.

Year Place Horse Time
Epsom Handicap
1st Hauraki 1 minute 33.8 seconds
2nd Dibayani
3rd Mackintosh
Epsom Handicap
1st Winx 1 minute 34.58 seconds
2nd Ecuador
3rd Sons Of John
Epsom Handicap
1st He’s Your Man 1 minute 33.34 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Hooked
Epsom Handicap
1st Boban 1 minute 34.43 seconds
2nd Streama
3rd Toydini
Epsom Handicap
1st Fat Al 1 minute 34.56 seconds
2nd Ambidexter
3rd Rolling Pin
Epsom Handicap
1st Secret Admirer 1 minute 35.59 seconds
2nd Pinker Pinker
3rd Red Tracer
Epsom Handicap
1st Captain Sonador 1 minute 34.1 seconds
2nd Trusting
3rd Sacred Choice
Epsom Handicap
1st Rock Kingdom 1 minute 38.65 seconds
2nd Rangirangdoo
3rd Road To Rock
Epsom Handicap
1st Theseo 1 minute 36.28 seconds
2nd Bank Robber
3rd Gallant Tess
Epsom Handicap
Race Not Held
Epsom Handicap
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 35.06 seconds
2nd Desert War
3rd Malcolm
Epsom Handicap
1st Desert War 1 minute 34.51 seconds
2nd Johan’s Toy
3rd Lotteria
Epsom Handicap
1st Desert War 1 minute 37.23 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Tsuimai
Epsom Handicap
1st Clangalang 1 minute 35.22 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Forum Floozie
Epsom Handicap
1st Excellerator 1 minute 35.46 seconds
2nd Kingsgate
3rd Gordo
Epsom Handicap
1st Final Fantasy 1 minute 22.45 seconds
2nd Kingsgate
3rd Crawl
Epsom Handicap
1st Shogun Lodge 1 minute 33.5 seconds
2nd Landsighting
3rd Chinhoyi