Emirates Stakes

The 2017 Emirates Stakes will be run on Saturday November 11, 2017 at Flemington Racecourse and is the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

2016 Emirates Stakes Results

  • 1st: Awesome Rock
  • 2nd DH: Hauraki
  • 2nd DH: Seaburge

Emirates Stakes News

Winx Cox Plate Clash over Caulfield Cup for Gingernuts

Winx Cox Plate Clash over Caulfield Cup for Gingernuts

After having his lead-up plans thrown into disarray with the abandonment of last Saturday’s Livamol Classic, Kiwi stayer Gingernuts could come up against Winx in the 2017 Cox Plate. This spring Matamata-based trainers Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards had been targeting the Group 1 $3 million Caulfield Cup (2400m) Saturday week with their gun Iffraaj…

The 2017 Emirates Stakes (formerly known as the Mackinnon Stakes) is the final major lead-up race to the Melbourne Cup offering a ballot exemption for the two mile classic run three days later on the first Tuesday of November.

In 2016 the Mackinnon Stakes was renamed the Emirates Stakes and moved from Derby Day to Stakes Day during the Melbouren Cup Carnival.

Held on Stakes Day, The Emirates Stakes is the feature race on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival, and shares its day with the Group 1 Darley Classic.

The Emirates Stakes is usually targeted by horses who have previously contested the Cox Plate the week before. The Cox Plate-Emirates Stakes double is a popular punt.

Held at Flemington Racecourse in early November, on the Saturday after the Melbourne Cup, the Emirates Stakes is a 2000m weight for age race worth $2,000,000 in prize money.

The 2017 Emirates Stakes (formerly the Mackinnon) will run on Saturday November 11th, 2017.

Emirates Stakes 2017
Date: November 11th, 2017
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $2,000,000

Emirates Stakes Betting Odds

The  Emirates Stakes odds complete with links to the markets at Ladbrokes.com.au for you to lock in your Emirates Stakes betting tips in at the right price will be published closer to Melbourne Cup week .

Check out our Emirates Stakes Betting page for more information on the bet types available and how to pick the Emirates Stakes results this Cup Carnival.

2017 Emirates Stakes Field

The Emirates Stakes field usually attracts a host of Group 1 and 2 winners. With the prize money recently doubled, some of the best weight-for-agers on the racing circuit target the Emirates Stakes field as one of their main events. It takes a special combination of finishing speed and staying power to be successful in the elite Emirates Stakes field.

The 2017 Emirates Stakes field (formerly the Mackinnon Stakes Field) will be released the Wednesday of Melbourne Cup Carnvial week.

Check out the 2016 Emirates Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

2017 Emirates Stakes Nominations

The Emirates Stakes nominations tend to attract a genuinely talented selection of horses. The prize money, prestige and weight for age conditions ensure that the best horses from a range of preparations enter the Emirates Stakes nominations.

The 2017 Emirates Stakes nominations will be provided below as soon as released.

Emirates Stakes / Mackinnon Stakes History

First run in 1869, the first winner of the Mackinnon Stakes was the famous racehorse Glencoe. Named after former VRC chairman L.K.S. Mackinnon, the event has seen many winners go on to win the Melbourne Cup including At Talaq in 1986, Empire Rose in 1998, Let’s Elope in 1991 and Rogan Josh in 1999.

The triple win was claimed by Wakeful after winning the Mackinnon Stakes three years in a row in 1901 to 1903. However plenty of horses have managed to win the race including Eurythmic in 1920-21, Phar Lap in 1930-31, Peter Pan in 1932, 34, Beau Vite in 1940-41, Tranquil Star in 1944-45, Comic Court in 1949-50, Rising Fast in 1954-55 and Belmura Lad in 1980-81.

The Emirates Stakes was originally known as the Mackinnon Stakes prior to being renamed in 2016.

Since 1988, Rogan Josh holds the record for the fastest winning time after his victory in 1999 with 2 minutes 0.3 seconds. 2000 winner Oliver Twist holds the slowest winning record with 2 minutes 5.4 seconds.

Emirates Stakes / Mackinnon Stakes Winners

Look through the winners of the Emirates Stakes / Mackinnon Stakes since 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
Emirates Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Emirates Stakes
1st Awesome Rock 2 minutes 2.4 seconds
2nd DH: Hauraki
2nd DH: Seaburge
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Tarzino 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Rising Romance
3rd Contributer
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Happy Trails 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd He’s Your Man
3rd Farraaj
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Side Glance 2 minutes 3.59 seconds
2nd Dear Demi
3rd Moriarty
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Alcopop 2 minutes 1.26 seconds
2nd Glass Harmonium
3rd Ocean Park
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Glass Harmonium 2 minutes 2.72 seconds
2nd Mourayan
3rd Rekindled Interest
MacKinnon Stakes
1st So You Think 2 minutes 4.92 seconds
2nd Descarado
3rd Ginga Dude
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Scenic Shot 2 minutes 3:46 seconds
2nd Miss Maren
3rd Viewed
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Thesio 2 minutes 3.8 seconds
2nd Barbaricus
3rd Sirmione
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Sirmione 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd Princess Coup
3rd Zipping
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Desert War 2 minutes 2.3 seconds
2nd Growl
3rd Aqua dAmore
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Lad Of The Manor 2 minutes 1.7 seconds
2nd Our Smoking Joe
3rd Lachlan River
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Grand Armee 2 minutes 0.9 seconds
2nd Confectioner
3rd Vouvray
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Casual Pass 2 minutes 5.8 seconds
2nd Pentastic
3rd Fields Of Omagh
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Lonhro 2 minutes 2.6 seconds
2nd Royal Code
3rd Distinctly Secret
MacKinnon Stakes
1st La Bella Dama 2 minutes 1.5 seconds
2nd Hill Of Grace
3rd Emission
MacKinnon Stakes
1st Oliver Twist 2 minutes 5.4 seconds
2nd Camarena
3rd Slavonic